Eat Your Leafy Greens + My Trip to Blacksburg! (Recipe: Chocolate Chip Cookie Crusted Peanut Butter Pie)

Apparently, eating your leafy greens can help you stay mentally sharp.

Leafy greens = spinach, kale, collards, etc.

A new study has shown that older people whose diets included just one or two servings of these vegetables per day had the cognitive ability of a person 11 years younger than those who consumed none of these veggies! That’s a heck of a difference!

A Rush University Medical Center research team tracked the diets of more than 950 adults from the Memory and Aging Project over a period of two to ten years (five years on average). The participants, whose age averaged 81, reported their daily dietary intake on a detailed 144-item questionnaire. The researchers calculated participants’ nutrient intake based on the dietary reports, and assessed their cognitive ability with a battery of 19 tests performed annually. They concluded that vitamin K, lutein, folate, and beta-carotene (all found in green leafy vegetables) were the nutrients linked to slower cognitive decline.

I ate my spinach salad for lunch today!

However, two weekends ago I did not have many leafy greens because I traveled up to Blacksburg for a girls’ weekend to watch the Virginia Tech vs. Furman football game! Friday night Jennie had a cookout that was delicious. I really need to get the recipe for her chip dip that she made! OMG yum. Saturday morning I got in a quick run around Cheryl’s neighborhood before we headed over to the tailgate! I love VT tailgates! They are always so much fun!

IMG_3455 IMG_3459

And I had to cheer both teams at the game since it was my undergrad playing my grad school! BTW, Jennie got us flippin’ fantastic seats! 50 yard line, row U. I’m not even kidding.

IMG_3461

My first ever VT football game was when they played Furman in the fall of 2008! It was so much fun to be back for the game even though Furman lost horribly! The only other Furman fan in our area was sitting right in front of us. He was a 2011 grad (a former Furman basketball player). We high-fived whenever Furman had a good play (which wasn’t very frequently).

IMG_3467 IMG_3469 IMG_3470 IMG_3479 IMG_3480 IMG_3493 IMG_3495 IMG_3500

After the game, Cheryl and I went to Macado’s for dinner. It is one of the places that I HAVE to go to when I am visiting. Although, we were good and didn’t order dessert.

The next morning, Cheryl, Michaela, and I took the pups on a hike to Sharp Top Mountain. I have a list of hikes in Virginia that I want to do eventually (I hiked a lot when I was in grad school) and this one was on the list! It was a fairly short but steep hike (just over 3 miles round trip), and the view from the top was beautiful!! And the weather was perfect for a hike!

DSC_0038 DSC_0040 DSC_0041 DSC_0116

Callie is my little mountain goat and likes to scare me by being really close to the edge! Envy doesn’t like to get quite as close which is fine by me! The girls had an absolute blast!

DSC_0099 IMG_3557 DSC_0004 DSC_0013                        DSC_0050 DSC_0081 DSC_0072 DSC_0080

Quote of the Day:

“It’s not in the dreaming, it’s in the doing.” –Mark Cuban

For the tailgate, I made this Chocolate Chip Cookie Crusted Peanut Butter Pie. Alise (one of the girls at our girls’ weekend) has been asking me to make a peanut butter pie for like every group event we have. But you know how much I love peanut butter (major sarcasm). But I finally decided to give this dish a whirl! It was a huge success! I can’t vouch for its tastiness, but everyone else seemed to enjoy it!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Crusted Peanut Butter Pie

Chocolate Chip Cookie Crusted Peanut Butter Pie

Ingredients

Chocolate Chip Cookie Crust:

  • 1 stick unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar packed
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 3 tablespoons instant vanilla pudding mix
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 1/4 cups chocolate chips

Peanut Butter Pie Filling:

  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 8 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. and lightly spray pie dish with cooking spray.
  2. Cream butter and sugars in large mixing bowl. Stir in egg and vanilla. Slowly add flour, pudding mix, baking soda and salt. Mix slightly then stir in chocolate chips until well combined. Transfer dough to pie dish and press up sides and bottom. Bake for 40-45 minutes until baked through. As soon as you remove from oven, press center gently with a spoon. Let cool completely.
  3. To prepare peanut butter pie filling stir together the peanut butter, sugar, cream cheese and buttermilk until well combined. Place in center of cookie crust, spreading evenly. Place cream and sugar into stand mixer with stiff peaks form. Sprinkle with additional chocolate chips. Refrigerate for 2 hours before serving.

Courtesy of Picky Palate

This entry was posted in Nutrition, Overall Health and News, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

