NEAT: Non-Exercise Activity Thermogenesis (Recipe: Joy of Cooking Pancakes!)

Some fascinating research has been done on the subject of NEAT (Non-Exercise Activity Thermogenesis)—the calories we burn during those waking hours when we are moving but not officially exercising. Some of the more interesting studies, discussed in a 2013 article in Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise, found that some individuals “compensate” to conserve energy after exercise by moving less throughout the rest of the day. This was found to be particularly true for older individuals and those who exercised at higher intensities. Since both of those qualifiers apply to many who run for weight loss, it’s something to consider.

So, when I was in Idaho I realized that when eating a restaurant the cashier/hostess said, “Is this for stay or to go?” I know that it is similar to: “Is this for here or to go?” But hearing multiple say it the other way threw me for a little loop. Haha.

After my marathon and after my nap and after I ate my pizza and fries, it was time to drive back to Salt Lake City. I had a red-eye back home. Yep. I had a red-eye back home the day I ran the marathon. Crazy, I know. But not nearly as crazy as running a second (or third!!) marathon in one weekend. Just sayin’.

As I was driving toward the interstate, I saw a sign for the Fort Hall Replica. I decided to stop in. $4 to tour the replica. Done and done.

Fort Hall was originally a stop on the Oregon Trail. The fort was super small and was mainly used for trading as people made their way down the trail. It must have been a slow day because the guy in charge gave me a tour himself. He was very energetic and seemed to convince himself that maybe he would train for a marathon one day. More power to him! I was glad I made the stop.

IMG_3276 IMG_3278 IMG_3275

Then I really got on the road. I made a pit stop as I crossed into Utah.

IMG_3287

And then drove on to Salt Lake City. Because my flight didn’t leave until 11:45pm, I stopped at the Great Salt Lake to watch the sunset. I ate my leftover pizza (I only ate half of it after the marathon) as I sat near the Blackrock lookout point. I relaxed in the cool evening air while the sun went down behind the lake. It was the perfect end to the day. Seeing the sun rise in the mountains as I made my way toward the finish of my 7th marathon. And seeing the sun set behind the lake as I made my way home.

IMG_4786 IMG_4784IMG_4778 IMG_3295

1 year ago: Add One Strength-Training Exercise + Sightseeing in Italy (Recipe: Twice-Baked Potatoes with Bacon and Eggs)

Quote of the Day:

“If you have a body, you are an athlete.” -Bill Bowerman

A bought a new griddle the same weekend I bought my new car. The first thing he made on it? Pancakes! Yummmm!

Joy of Cooking Pancakes

Joy of Cooking Pancakes

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups AP flour
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 3/4 tablespoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 3 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

  • Whisk first four ingredients together in a large bowl.
  • Combine last four ingredients together in a second bowl.
  • Mix the liquid ingredients quickly into the dry ingredients.
  • Use 1/4 cup batter for each pancake.

Courtesy of Joy of Cooking

This entry was posted in Individual Workouts, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

