The Man on the Bus (Recipe: S’mores Cookie Cups)

I ran 535.98 training miles in the 16 weeks before the Pocatello, Marathon! That’s A LOT of miles! Needless to say, it is about time for a new pair of running shoes! (I switched out my shoes about halfway through training.)

So, what did I do post-race?

Well, first I took a bus back to my hotel. And I sat next to a very interesting man. Our conversation went a little like this:

Man: I am going to apologize before I even sit down next to you, but I smell.

Me: No worries! We all do. We just ran a marathon.

Man: So where are you from?

Me: Raleigh, North Carolina.

Man: I used to be stationed at Fort Bragg! But I’m originally from Columbia, South Carolina.

Me: No way! Me, too.

Man: Where’d you go to high school?

Me: Richland Northeast. You?

Man: C.A. Johnson. Small world!

Me: Even smaller because my dad used to teach there!

Man: Really? When did he teach there?

Me: A long time ago. As in about 30 years ago.

Man: 30 years ago as in 1982-1986?

Me: Actually, yes!

Man: What was his last name?

Me: Capogrossi. He coached football and wrestling.

Man: Name is familiar! I was more into track. Small world!

Me: That’s just crazy.

Man: So, how’d you do today?

Me: Not too bad. A much tougher course than I anticipated. I ran a 3:37.

Man: That’s a great time! I ran slow today because I have a marathon tomorrow, but I ran slower than I wanted.

Me: Another marathon tomorrow!?

Man: Yeah. I’m driving to Nebraska. 15 hours in the car. Not even getting a hotel because I’ll only have 2-3 hours of sleep before the race starts.

Me: You’re crazy.

Man: Even crazier. On Sunday I drive down to Missouri to run another marathon on Labor Day.

Me: You’ve got to be kidding me.

Man: Dead serious. I’m part of the group ‘Marathon Maniacs’. I’m trying to get in their hall of fame. One of the ways to do it is to run a marathon in every state in a single year three years in a row.

Me: What??

Man: Yeah. I ran all 50 states + DC in 2013. I did it again in 2014. And Idaho was state #37 for 2015.

Me: Oh. My. God.

Man: [laughing] I am a maniac. What can I say? I think you could be a ‘Marathon Maniac’ member.

Me: I don’t think so.

Man: Sure you could. How many races do you do in a year?

Me: The last two years I have done 3 and that is too many.

Man: [laughing as we pull up to the hotel] Think about it. It’s fun!

I get off the bus and think to myself, “Enjoy your 15 hour drive and your 3 hours of sleep. I’m going to nap and eat pizza.”

And that is exactly what I did.

IMG_3268

Followed by french fries…because you have to eat french fries when in Idaho! Duh.

IMG_3272

And then this decadent brownie dessert when I got to the airport that evening.

IMG_3302

Run a second marathon on Sunday? Psh. I don’t want to run another marathon for at least another 16 weeks. 😉

1 year ago: Dry Needling…Wow. I’m Sore. (Recipe: Rosemary Dinner Rolls)

2 years ago: My Jam-Packed Weekend Including 7 Miles of Running (Recipe: Peach Cobbler Muffins)

Quote of the Day:

“My chest feels full of glitter and helium, the way it used to when I was little and riding my father’s shoulders…I knew that if I help up my hands and spread my fingers like a net, I could catch the coming stars.” -Jodi Picoult

Remember how we went to the puppy party Labor Day weekend? Well, we all brought dishes to pass. I brought these S’mores Cookie Cups. You know how I love s’mores. I’ll eat anything dessert that is s’more related. These cookie cups got some pretty good reviews.

DSC_0027 S'mores Cookie Cups

S’mores Cookie Cups

Ingredients

Cookie Dough:

  • 2 cups minus 2 tablespoons  cake flour
  • 1 2/3 cups bread flour
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons coarse salt
  • 2 1/2 sticks (1 1/4 cups) unsalted butter
  • 1 1/4 cups (light brown sugar
  • 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1 pound semisweet chocolate chips

Topping:

  • 30 regular Marshmallows
  • 30 milk chocolate squares

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F . Spray muffin tins with nonstick cooking spray.
  2. Sift flours, baking soda, baking powder and salt into a bowl. Set aside.
  3. Using a mixer fitted with paddle attachment, cream butter and sugars together until very light, about 5 minutes.
  4. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Stir in the vanilla.
  5. Reduce speed to low, add dry ingredients and mix until just combined, 5 to 10 seconds. Stir in chocolate chips.
  6. Use a large cookie scoop to distribute about 3 tablespoons of  dough into the prepared muffins wells.
  7. Bake in preheated oven for 18 to 20 minutes. Allow cookies to cool completely in the muffin pans.
  8. When ready to serve, top with one roasted Marshmallow and a milk chocolate square.

Courtesy of My Baking Addiction

This entry was posted in Food Picture (No Recipe), Races, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Man on the Bus (Recipe: S’mores Cookie Cups)

  1. Pingback: NEAT: Non-Exercise Activity Thermogenesis (Recipe: Joy of Cooking Pancakes!) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

