Quick Book Review: The Digital Photography Book by Scott Kelby (Recipe: Mustard Vinaigrette)

As you know, I love love love taking pictures. I am kind of obsessed with my Nikon D60 and my wide angle lens. I took a photography class at the community college while I was in Madison a couple years ago. And recently I bought The Digital Photography Book by Scott Kelby.

I thought this was a really good and helpful book. I do have my PhD in economics so I do know a thing or two about theory; however, this book isn’t a book on photography theory in the slightest. The author tries not to use confusing language and doesn’t get into too much detail about concepts.

This is a book on which button to push, which setting to use, and when to use it. Exactly what I was looking for when I purchased my wide angle lens. This book gets you shooting better-looking, sharper, more colorful, more professional-looking photos. I have been very pleased.

It also includes a chapter on the “Ten Things I Wish Someone Had Told Me When I Was First Starting Out in Photography.”  Very helpful.

So, I am far behind in updating you on my life adventures. Two weekends ago A and I made a trip up to Milwaukee for his cousin’s wedding. It was a quick trip–we flew in on Saturday morning (a 6am flight) and home on Sunday evening–but it was fantastic. Luckily we were upgraded to first class. Gotta love being a Delta medallion flyer. I got two runs in while I was there. An interval workout on Saturday and then my last long run before the marathon (8 miles) on Sunday.

IMG_3010

With all of this running I got my Great Wall of China Fitbit badge! 5,500 miles!? This means I’ve officially walked the same distance as the Great Wall of China since I got my Fitbit in January 2014. Crazy, right?!

We had a great time at the wedding! It was beautifully done, and it is always wonderful to spend time with A’s family.

image2 image4 IMG_3380 love1 barn2 drinks

I got to hang out with Leo some:

IMG_3028 IMG_3029

And A’s mom and sister-in-law have been growing some beautiful flowers!!  Look at these:

IMG_3014 IMG_3015 IMG_3017 IMG_3027

We also walked through the Milwaukee Public Market and had a really nice walk along the River Front on Sunday before we flew back to Raleigh. We like to stay busy. 🙂

IMG_3032 IMG_3034                             IMG_3044 IMG_3045

It was a really nice weekend!

And I finally bought pictures from the Coconut Classic! Look at my girlies!

069-(ZF-4824-07942-2-004) 134-(ZF-4824-07942-2-005) 089-(ZF-4824-07942-2-002) SUN_0098-(ZF-4824-07942-2-003) 043-(ZF-4824-07942-2-001)

1 year ago: I was in Italy this time last year!

Quote of the Day:

“It’s never too late–never too late to start over, never too late to be happy.” -Jane Fonda

Last week I made this Mustard Vinaigrette to use in a pasta salad and it was delicious! I will definitely be making this again!

Mustard Vinaigrette

Mustard Vinaigrette

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup white wine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon dijon mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • black pepper
  • 2/3 cup olive oil

Directions

  • Whisk the white wine vinegar, dijon mustard, salt and pepper together in a bowl.
  • Slowly drizzle in the olive oil, whisking constantly until thick and smooth.
  • Add more pepper and salt to taste.

Courtesy of The Food Network

This entry was posted in Book Review, Callie!, Envy, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quick Book Review: The Digital Photography Book by Scott Kelby (Recipe: Mustard Vinaigrette)

  1. Pingback: The Fat Burning Zone & More Yosemite (Recipe: Corn and Tomato Pasta Salad) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

