That New Car Smell! (Recipe: Chicken Parmesan Sliders)

That’s right, folks! After 11 years with my red 2004 Ford Explorer, I bought a new car!

I had been putting this off as long as possible. My Explorer was the last free car I will ever own. My parents gave it to me as a high school graduation present in 2004. And it has been REALLY nice not having a car payment. I’m just sayin’.

But it was time. My transmission was going and my tires had less than 3,000 miles left on them. My ‘service engine soon’ light has pretty much been on since I drove to Madison in 2012. My airbag light has been constantly on since last summer. My car was a mess. And who wants to invest a ton of money in a car when you’re not sure how long it will last you? Not me!

So, on Saturday A and I went to the Subaru dealership in Cary and after 5 hours of looking, test driving, negotiating, and doing paperwork, I own a brand new 2015 Subaru Outback 2.5i Limited! Eek! Very exciting!

IMG_3325 IMG_3326

But I almost didn’t get it! After we agreed on a price, Godfrey went upstairs to do some paperwork. When he started entering the information in the computer, the car had a hold on it! He had to talk to his manager to override the hold! Too bad for those people! They should have put a down payment on it!

Then as I was signing papers, someone came in asking for the key to the car because another couple wanted to test drive it! No way! Godfrey then removed the car from the lot so no one else could attempt to buy it. Phew!

I drove it down to South Carolina on Sunday to see my parents and cousin who was visiting from NY (and who I had not seen since 2008). It drove so quietly and smoothly compared to my Explorer. And it has all the bells and whistles! I’m in love! 🙂 And the girls approve!

IMG_2940 IMG_2941

Quote of the Day:

“Curiosity is lying in wait for every secret.” -Ralph Waldo Emerson

A and I made these Chicken Parmesan Sliders for dinner last night. They were pretty darn tasty. And healthy, too!

Chicken Parmesan Sliders

Chicken Parmesan Sliders

Ingredients

  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons fresh oregano
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 pound ground chicken breast
  • 1 ounce Parmesan cheese, grated (about 1/4 cup)
  • 1 cup lower-sodium marinara sauce, divided
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • cooking spray
  • 8 water rolls or slider buns, halved and toasted
  • 3 ounces part-skim mozzarella cheese

Directions

  • Heat a medium skilled over medium heat. Add oil to pan; swirl to coat. Add onion, oregano, and garlic; saute 3 minutes or until softened. Place onion mixture in a large bowl; cool slightly.
  • Add chicken, Parmesan, 1/2 cup marinara, salt, and pepper to onion mixture. Mix well with hands. Shape into 8 patties. Refrigerate 10 minutes.
  • Preheat broiler to high.
  • Heat a grill pan over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add patties to pan; cook 10 minutes or until done, turning once.
  • Arrange bottom halves of rolls on a baking sheet. Place 1 patty on each roll. Top each with 1 tablespoon remaining marinara and 1 1/2 tablespoons cheese.
  • Broil 90 seconds or until cheese melts. Top with basil and top halves of buns.

Courtesy of Cooking Light

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

