Top Places to Visit in the World

So, you all know by now how much I love to travel. Therefore, it shouldn’t be a surprise to you that I am subscribed to the magazine Travel + Leisure. In one of their most recent issues, they ranked the top places to visit in the world and then by continent. I have actually been to quite a few of these places which was super exciting to see! And if I include where A has traveled, we have collectively traveled the globe! And now I have more places added to my bucket list of travels!

Inquiring minds want to know, right?

Top 10 Overall

  1. Kyoto, Japan
  2. Charleston, South Carolina – I’ve been here multiple times!
  3. Siem Reap, Cambodia – A has been here!
  4. Florence, Italy – I went here with Cheryl last summer!
  5. Rome, Italy – I also went here with Cheryl last summer! A has been here, too!
  6. Bangkok, Thailand – A has been here! He actually lived in Thailand!
  7. Krakow, Poland – January 2008 – To this day, this is one of my favorite cities!
  8. Barcelona, Spain – A has been here!
  9. Cape Town, South Africa – I’ve been here!
  10. Jerusalem, Israel

Heck yes! 5 out of 10 for me! 4 out of 10 for A!

United States and Canada

  1. Charleston, South Carolina – as mentioned above, I’ve been here multiple times.
  2. New Orleans, Louisiana
  3. Savannah, Georgia
  4. Santa Fe, New Mexico
  5. San Francisco, California – Just made it here last month!
  6. Quebec City, Quebec
  7. Chicago, Illinois – I have been here several times!
  8. New York City, New York – I have also been here several times including last year to run the NYC Marathon!
  9. Victoria, British Columbia
  10. Asheville, North Carolina – I have been here a couple of times including this year for a wedding!

That is 5 out of 10 for the U.S. and Canada!

Mexico and Central and South America

1. Cuzco, Peru
2. Mexico City, Mexico
3. Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
4. Buenos Aires, Argentina
5. Lima, Peru

I am 0 for 5 here.

Europe

  1. Florence, Italy – Yes!
  2. Rome, Italy – Yes!
  3. Krakow, Poland – Yes!
  4. Barcelona, Spain
  5. Istanbul, Turkey – Yes! Cheryl and I went here the year I graduated from VT!
  6. Budapest, Hungary
  7. Seville, Spain
  8. Edinburgh, Scotland
  9. Madrid, Spain
  10. Paris, France

While I have been to a lot of European cities, I have only made it to 4 on this list–I better get to work here!

Australia, New Zealand, and the South Pacific

  1. Sydney, Australia 
  2. Melbourne, Australia
  3. Aukland, New Zealand

Nada!

Africa and the Middle East

  1. Cape Town, South Africa – Yep!
  2. Jerusalem, Israel
  3. Tel Aviv, Israel

Asia

  1. Kyoto, Japan
  2. Siem Reap, Cambodia
  3. Bangkok, Thailand
  4. Tokyo, Japan
  5. Hong Kong
  6. Singapore
  7. Hanoi, Vietnam – I have been here!
  8. Shanghia, China
  9. Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
  10. New Delhi, India – I spent time here in 2013!

2 of 10 in Asia!

Not too bad, eh?

Speaking of travel…more Yosemite pictures!! We hiked to Vernal Falls when we got to Yosemite! Our first real hike of the trip. The falls were some of the best we have seen! They were absolutely gorgeous. And it is definitely a stair or hill workout if you need one! I definitely recommend this hike! We could have kept going to the Nevada Falls, but we ran out of time! It is on our list to hike the next trip we take to Yosemite! (And maybe even Half Dome–fingers crossed!)

DSC_0467 DSC_0468 DSC_0471 DSC_0473 DSC_0480 DSC_0484 DSC_0486 DSC_0491

Don’t you want to hike here??

1 year ago: Food Safety Practices (Recipe: Oven-Roasted Spring Vegetables)

2 years ago: Fun Weekend in Madison! (Recipe: Brown Butter Peach Crumble Bars)

Quote of the Day:

“Strength does not come from physical capacity. It comes from an indomitable will.”                -Mahatma Gandhi

This entry was posted in Overall Health and News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

