Strike 2 for Ken. (Recipe: Easy Summer Shrimp Boil)

So, Ken is the personal trainer. Strike 1 was him telling me I looked like hell during our 5th training session (I didn’t count when he couldn’t remember my name during the 4th training session as a strike.)

Today was Strike 2. Last night I had a great girls’ night with one of my coworkers. We did dinner at Blackfinn Ameripub and walked around the Park West shopping complex. It was a gorgeous evening for walking around outside. Lots of good food, girl talk, and laughs.

After I got home (around 9:30pm), I messaged Ken and asked if we were still on for this morning at 6:30am. His typical response is, “Okay cool.” (That means “yes”.) I woke up early to get some light cardio in before the strength training session–wake up the body. 6:30am arrives. Anthony arrives and comes over to the elliptical to say hi. At 6:35am there is still no sign of Ken. And if you know me, I am a stickler for time. I hate being late for things. And I really don’t like when other people are late for things. My running buddy is exactly the same way which is one of the reasons we get along so well. We are actually a lot a lot alike. But anyway back to the story.

I got off the elliptical and walked around the weightlifting area to make sure I hasn’t missed him, but there wasn’t a personal trainer to be found. At 6:40am (10 minutes into what was supposed to be my training session) I texted him, “Aren’t we on for this morning?”

His response: “No sorry have a meeting with my boss.”

WTF? Meeting with your boss at 6:30am? That you are texting me from? And didn’t we just confirm my session a mere 9 hours before? He totally slept in this morning. What also made me mad was the fact that he didn’t text me to cancel. If I hadn’t texted him to ask where he was, I am 99.9% certain I would not have heard from him at all this morning. And I am paying him.

Ugh. I was really looking forward to personal training, so this has been a huge disappointment. The workouts have been good (although we have only started on time once), but I think it is very disrespectful to be a no show. Hence, Strike 2.

We are supposed to meet tomorrow morning at 6:30am. I guess we will see what happens.

So, I have a few more SF pictures for you. The infamous San Francisco cable car! We went to the museum and rode one! When we went to the museum,the Hyde Street car was out of order, so we got to see the cable being repaired! It was really cool! I really love SF!

DSC_0295 IMG_3156                             IMG_3158 DSC_0192DSC_0197 DSC_0202

1 year ago: Last Saturday’s Long Run #NYCMarathon #12weekstogo (Recipe: Pasta with Basil, Tomatoes, and Avocado Sauce)

Quote of the Day:

“Remember this: your body is your slave; it works for you.” -Jack LaLanne

On Tuesday I made this Easy Summer Shrimp Boil. I am always told that I never put enough salt in my cooking; however, A informed that this meal was too salty. It was easy and tasty, though! I recommend it! And we made it without the 4 tablespoons of melted butter (at the end of the recipe) to make it a bit healthier!

Easy Summer Shrimp Boil

Easy Summer Shrimp Boil

Ingredients

  • about 4 quarts water
  • 2 lemons cut into large wedges (1 for boiling, 1 for serving)
  • 1 head of garlic, skin left on, head sliced off to reveal garlic cloves
  • 1/2 bag (about 1/2 cup) shrimp, crawfish and crab boil wrapped in cheesecloth and tied
  • 1 large red onion, peeled and quartered
  • 3 sprigs fresh thyme
  • sea salt
  • 1 lb baby red potatoes
  • 4 ears corn, husked and broken in half
  • 1.25 lbs raw shrimp, unpeeled with legs but no heads
  • 4 tablespoons salted butter, melted

Directions

  1. In a large stock pot, combine water, 1 lemon in wedges squeezed into the water, head of garlic, shrimp boil seasoning, onion, thyme, and sea salt (I added about 2 tablespoons to the boil water). Taste the boil liquid as it warms to see that it’s salty enough.
  2. Once boiling, add the potatoes. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer until potatoes are cooked through, about 15 to 20 minutes.
  3. Add the corn pieces and simmer for 5 minutes more.
  4. Add the unpeeled shrimp and cook until pink throughout and curled, about 3 minutes. Remove pot from heat and allow to rest for 5 minutes.
  5. Ladle the garlic, potatoes, corn, and shrimp onto a large rimmed platter. Drizzle with about 1 cup of the boiling liquid and the melted butter. Sprinkle with parsley, paprika, sea salt and black pepper. Serve with lemon wedges. Enjoy warm or at room temperature.

Courtesy of Joy the Baker

This entry was posted in Recipes, Stretch & Strengthen. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

