Bella Rose 5K Sans GPS Watch (Recipe: Oreo Pudding Cookies)

Yesterday, I ran a 5K. (It’s on the training plan–I didn’t really choose to do this one voluntarily.)

The 5K was being put on at Wake Med Soccer Park which houses one of the high school cross country courses. The organization was for a good cause–Sudden Infant Death Syndrome.

I woke up early, got dressed, ate a banana, did my mental checklist, and headed out the door. I had about a 25 minute drive to get to the race, and when I was about 2/3 of the way there I realized I had forgotten my GPS watch. (Obviously the mental checklist didn’t go so well.) Luckily, I remembered my music.

I vented to A via text (since he was still asleep) and picked up my bib. I used to run all the time without my watch, so it shouldn’t be a big deal, but I really like knowing my pace. And the one other time I ran this course I went out waaaaay too fast.

Well, I went out waaaay too fast again. And while the temperature was cool (high 60s), the humidity was still high (95%). That meant my breathing got labored real quick. Not to mention this cross country course is rather hilly.

There was one woman who kept trying to pass me, and I was determined to beat her across the finish line. (I did.) My time was about 25:30. I tried to catch a glimpse as I crossed. I haven’t been able to find any official times posted online yet. I think I was in the top 5-7 females to finish the race. But I also felt like my lungs were going to explode. This was definitely not close to my PR at all, but that’s okay. I just need to be better about pacing.

After the race, I stopped by the gym to finish my workout and then met up with A and some friends at Sola’s for breakfast and to support Shawn’s Pop-Up Market. It was a nice reward. (They have a toast bar that is delicious!)

I don’t have any pictures from the race (there was a race photographer, so I may have some later if they get posted). However, I do have more pictures from SF! How about some pictures from Alcatraz? We got to go on a Garden Tour which is a tour that is given fairly infrequently around the gardens on the island. And we got to go to parts of the island where other tourists aren’t allowed to go. It was one of the only things we did in SF that A had never done before. (He is such a good guy for doing all the touristy things with me.)

But here are some pictures! Alcatraz was awesome! I highly recommend doing the audio tour of the cell block. They did a great job with it!

DSC_0104 DSC_0107 DSC_0031 DSC_0042                                    DSC_0085 DSC_0094IMG_2430 DSC_0090DSC_0067 DSC_0058 DSC_0070 DSC_0045 DSC_0110

Quote of the Day:

“People sometimes sneer at those who run every day, claiming they’ll go to any length to live longer. But don’t think that’s the reason most people run. Most runners run not because they want to live longer, but because they want to live life to the fullest.” -Haruki Murakami

OMG. These cookies are AMAZING. I am not joking. They have been a hit with everyone who has tried them. I made this recipe (which makes a ton of cookie dough) and baked half for a movie on the lawn event (The Theory of Everything) and froze the other half of the dough. We went to SF, and then came back and baked the other half of the dough for the movie on the lawn that we went to this past Friday (Big Hero 6). If you have the chance, you should totally make these cookies.

Oreo Pudding Cookies

Oreo Pudding Cookies

Ingredients

4 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups butter, room temperature
1 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 5.1-ounce box Oreo pudding mix, instant
4 large eggs
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
10 Oreos, chopped

Directions

– Preheat oven to 350°F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

– In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

– In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, or in a large bowl with an electric mixer, cream butter and sugars on medium speed for 3 minutes. Add in dry pudding mix, eggs and vanilla and mix until incorporated.

– Gradually add dry ingredients to the butter mixture and mix until just combined. Stir in chocolate chips and chopped Oreos.

– Using a medium cookie scoop (about 1.5 tablespoons), scoop cookie dough balls onto prepared baking sheets at least 2 inches apart.

– Bake in preheated oven for 12 minutes.

– Allow cookies to cool on pan for about 3 minutes before carefully removing them to a wire rack to cool completely.

Courtesy of My Baking Addiction

This entry was posted in Races, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

