16 Miles of Heat and Hell (Recipe: Chocolate Chip Graham Cracker Cookies)

So, I had what felt like the longest run ever last Saturday. Longest. Run. Ever. Not exaggerating.

I was in Hilton Head, and it was warm.

I had been up late the night before so I didn’t get started until 7am. I know. I know. That’s my fault. But it was already 79* when I started! And let’s not get started on humidity.

I had planned to run 16 miles, but after the first 6 miles I decided that 13 miles would be plenty.

By Mile 6 I had gone through 10 ounces of my 20 ounces of water. And by my turnaround point, I only had about 8 ounces of water left. Neither of the parks I had stopped at had working bubblers! What’s up with that!? It’s the middle of summer, people!

As I was texting A about how miserable I was, I saw an older gentleman walking toward me. I exaggerated my southern drawl a tad and asked him if he had any idea where a bubbler might be (although, I used the words “water fountain” because we are in the south after all). He told me that if I continued another mile in the direction I was going there would be a water fountain on the pier leading to the beach.  Score!

Except that would make my run 16 miles since it was the opposite direction from our condo–the actual amount I was supposed to run. :::sigh::: It was meant to be.

The next mile went very quickly knowing I had water waiting for me at the end. However, the run home was miserable. For the last 5 miles I had to stop every mile for water. I went through 40 ounces on that run and I still didn’t pee for hours afterward. That’s more than I usually drink during a marathon. Way more. That’s how dehydrated I was.

My clothes were sopping wet from sweat. It took me a good 45 minutes to cool down before I could shower. And I chafed in places on my shoulders and back that I had never chafed before simply because my sports bra was soaking wet and I was continuing to sweat. And it was rubbing.

Now, I love running. I really do. But that particular run was miserable. I am blogging about this because every runner or non-runner should know that it is okay to hate running sometimes. It is okay to feel miserable sometimes. You will always have better runs in your future. (Although, I must admit that the two outdoor runs I have done this week seem to have been equally as hot–just not as far. Am I right, Shawn?)

And I totally ate whatever I wanted when we went to the Skullcreek Boathouse for dinner later that evening. I did not feel guilty about it. I love seafood.

Here are a few pictures from my run during my water breaks:

IMG_2349 IMG_2339 IMG_2346

IMG_2344 IMG_2340

Here is a view from our dinner that night:

IMG_2359 IMG_2360

And the girls absolutely loved the ocean. They are totally beach BCs.

IMG_2320 IMG_2314IMG_2331 IMG_2315                                  IMG_2317 IMG_2312IMG_2307

1 year ago: Your Body Running an Ultra (Recipe: Mushroom, Onion, and Mozzarella Frittata)

2 years ago: Facts About Fluids (Recipe: Creamy Orzo with Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Mozzarella)

Quote of the Day:

“There is something magical about running; after a certain distance, it transcends the body. Then a bit further, it transcends the mind. A bit further yet, and what you have before you, laid bare, is the soul.” -Kristin Armstrong

I made these cookies for my mom’s birthday (the reason the family was at Hilton Head). They weren’t the best, but they had me intrigued so I wanted to give them a try!

Chocolate Chip Graham Cracker Cookies

Chocolate Chip Graham Cracker Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs
  • 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together the butter and sugar until creamy
  3. Beat in the vanilla and egg until well combined.
  4. In a medium bowl, combine the graham cracker crumbs, flour, baking soda, and salt. Gradually add to the butter mixture until just combined.
  5. Stir in the chocolate chips.
  6. Using a medium cookie scoop, drop balls of dough onto a parchment-lined baking sheet. Bake for 7 minutes. Cookies will look slightly underdone, but should set up nicely as they cool.

Courtesy of My Baking Addiction

This entry was posted in Callie!, Envy, Individual Workouts, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

