Four Miler on the Fourth (Recipe: Raspberry Swirl Cheesecake)

So, I’m a little behind, but on the 4th of July, A and I drove to Carrboro so I could run a 4 mile race.

I had never run a 4-miler, so that automatically made it a PR. Woohoo! I love me some PRs!

My official time was 31:55 which is a 7:53 pace. Not too shabby because it was 70* and 96% humidity when I started.

The course is pretty much a square with a few hills, and we finished on the middle school track. I thought I might die. When I hit the 5K mark, I was really wishing that the race was a 5K. But I finished! And I was very pleased with my time! AND we got ice-pops at the finish!

image1 IMG_2180 image2 image3

In other news, I got my Fitbit Africa Badge! That means I have walked/run 5,000 lifetime miles which is the entire length of Africa! That’s a lot of miles!

Want to see some cute pups? Of course you do!

IMG_2128 IMG_0560                             IMG_1188 IMG_1348

2 years ago: PR Your Half-Marathon (Recipe: Walnut Streusel Bread)

Quote of the Day:

“No. I don’t think it’s strange that I pay money to run a race in a place I could run for free every other day of the year.”

For the 4th of July, I made this Raspberry Swirl Cheesecake. It was DELICIOUS if I do say so myself. I just loved it. It was a great texture and had a fantastic taste. I will definitely be making this again.

Raspberry Swirl Cheesecake

Raspberry Swirl Cheesecake

Ingredients

Crust
2 cups finely ground graham cracker crumbs
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
3 tablespoons granulated sugar
1/8 teaspoon table salt

Raspberry Swirl
6 ounces fresh or frozen raspberries (which have been thawed or they will not puree easily)
2 tablespoons  granulated sugar

Cheesecake
32 ounces cream cheese, very soft at room temperature
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
Pinch of salt
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
4 large eggs, room temperature

Directions

Heat oven to 350°F (180°C). Wrap exterior of a 9-inch springform pan (including base) tightly in a triple layer of foil; set aside.

Make crust: Stir together cracker crumbs, melted butter, and sugar in a medium bowl. Press crumb mixture firmly into bottom of pan and up the sides to about 1-inch from the top of the pan. I like to use the bottom and outside of a 1-cup measure to help press them in firmly. Bake until set, about 10 minutes. Let cool in pan on a wire rack. Reduce oven temperature to 325 degrees.

Make raspberry sauce for swirl: Process raspberries with sugar in a food processor until smooth, about 30 seconds. Pass puree through a fine sieve into a small bowl; discard solids. Set aside.

Make cheesecake: Put cream cheese in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment; mix on medium speed until fluffy, about 3 minutes. With mixer on low speed, add remaining 1 1/2 cups sugar in a slow, steady stream; scrape down bowl. Add salt and vanilla; mix until well combined. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing each until just combined and scraping down the bowl. Pour cream cheese filling over crust.

Using a squeeze bottle, piping bag or a zip-lock bag with a tiny corner snipped off, place tiny droplets of raspberry sauce all over top of cake. Use a toothpick or skewer to swirl the sauce and filling together decoratively. I had extra sauce; it makes a delicious dessert sauce to serve with the cake.

Bake cake: Set cake pan inside a large, shallow roasting pan — I set mine inside a 12-inch round saucepan. Transfer to oven. Carefully pour or ladle boiling water into roasting pan until it reaches halfway up the sides of the cake pan. Bake until cake is set but still slightly wobbly in center, 60 to 65 minutes.

Transfer cake pan to rack; let cake cool to room temperature then refrigerate, uncovered, at least 6 hours or overnight. Before unmolding, run a knife around edge of cake.

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

This entry was posted in Races, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

