Running of the Bulls 8K (Recipe: Oatmeal Cream Pie Bars)

So, I know I am skipping ahead in races because I haven’t talked about running Bolder Boulder, yet…BUT yesterday I ran Durham’s Running of the Bulls 8K. (I think it was the 7th annual race!)

When my alarm went off early Saturday morning I rolled over regretting I had signed up for this race. What had I been thinking? I had run Bolder Boulder on Monday. I took Tuesday off to fly back to North Carolina and then I had run Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday (and Friday was a 7-miler!).

But I had paid my money so I decided I needed to run the race even if I ended up run-walking it.

Finding parking was simple. Picking up my race packet and t-shirt was a breeze.

IMG_1333 IMG_1332

And promptly at 7:15am, the gun went off! And we started up a small hill. What a way to start a race. Not to mention it was humid. But I powered through and before I knew it I was at the first water stop just after mile 2. Of course the water went down the wrong tube so I was hacking up a lung as I continued on and just dumped the rest of the water down my back.

I didn’t realize downtown Durham had as many rolling hills as it does. Only one seemed fairly steep, but the others had a nice cadence to them–run down, run up. Run up, run down. Much different than the ATT that goes through Durham which is flat.

And then I was nearing the finish! 4.97 miles done first thing Saturday morning!

And it was a PR at that (not that I have run many 8Ks in the past) with an official time of 40:35! I think my goal for my next 8K should be sub-40 minutes.

IMG_1334

And then what did I do? I got up this morning and ran 12 miles. Yeah, I was also regretting that decision. Last night I was up late because a group of us went to the opening movie of the summer movies on the lawn series that the NC Museum of Art puts on. (Star Trek: Into Darkness) The movie was much better than I anticipated, and I ended up staying for the whole thing (I had sworn I was going to leave early because of my run.) I love that the museum does this! They are so much fun!

I got through my 12 miler, though. It wasn’t nearly as humid but because I started later it was over 80* when I finished so I was sweating bullets. My body is still adjusting to the change in seasons.

Overall, it has been a very relaxing and productive weekend! I am gone the next 4 weekends, so I deserved a quiet weekend!

Another Colorado update: we hiked to the Calypso Cascades on Monday after running Bolder Boulder. It was a much easier hike than the one we did on Sunday. The cascades weren’t quite as big as we were hoping, but they were still pretty! And we got to hike through snow! (It was actually quite slippery!)

DSC_0420 IMG_1311 IMG_1309 DSC_0421

2 years ago: It’s Friday!

Quote of the Day:

“To give anything less than your best is to sacrifice the gift.” -Steve Prefontaine

So, I made these Oatmeal Cream Pie Bars a few weeks ago and my office went berserk for them! Literally, they were gone after about 15 minutes, and people were asking around about who made them. That was me. They were pretty darn good if I do say so myself. I totally recommend them. The picture doesn’t do them justice.

Oatmeal Cream Pie Bars

Oatmeal Cream Pie Bars

Ingredients

  • Bars:
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) salted butter, slightly softened
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 cup quick cooking oats
  • Frosting:
  • 1 stick salted butter, slightly softened
  • 1/4 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 7 oz jar marshmallow creme
  • 3 cups powdered sugar

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350. Line a 9×13 pan with foil. Spray with nonstick spray and set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl combine flour, baking soda, and cinnamon and set aside.
  3. In the bowl of your mixer, beat butter and both sugars on medium speed until smooth and fluffy, about 1 1/2 minutes. Add vanilla extract and eggs, beating until smooth and scraping the sides of the bowl as needed.
  4. Add flour mixture and beat until fully combined. Beat in oats until mixed. Press mixture evenly into prepared pan and bake for 15 – 20 minutes until edges are golden brown. Remove from oven and let bars cool completely.
  5. Prepare frosting:  In the bowl of your mixer, beat butter, vanilla and whipping cream on medium low speed. Add marshmallow cream and beat on medium until smooth. Slowly beat in powdered sugar until just barely mixed. Increase speed to high and beat for one minute, until fluffy. Frost cooled bars. Chill bars until firm, then remove from pan, peel off foil, and cut into bars.

Courtesy of Confessions of a Cookbook Queen

This entry was posted in Races, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

