MyRun for Myron 5K (Recipe: Cook’s Illustrated Classic Brownies)

Two weekends ago A and I ran a 5K in Raleigh: the MyRun for Myron 5K. It was the first run put on by this organization on the Dorthea Dix campus. [Dorthea Dix campus = lots of hills. We knew this from the Stubborn Warrior 5K.]

I like supporting local events, and this one was fairly well-organized for being their first annual run. However, their course volunteers (the people who stand on the course to give you directions) could have cared less about the race. They were playing on their phones and hardly paying attention to what was going on. One girl even sent me the wrong direction for a little bit!

The course consisted of several loops, so when I hit the one mile mark, I was passing people at the 1/2 mile mark (going the opposite direction). One lady yelled, “You go girl! You’re the first woman! Run! Run! Run!”

And so I kept running as hard as I could even though the second to last hill about killed me. I wasn’t fast enough to run a PR, but I was the first female finisher! And A was the first male to finish in his age group!

They announced my award first, and when they called Anthony’s name, the awards presenter said, “Well, heck! You two must train together!” [She had seen us hanging out together after the race and during the awards.]

IMG_2226 IMG_2231

So, it was a successful race! The next one on the docket is the 6th annual birthday run which is happening this weekend in Arizona!  Woot! Woot! I can’t wait!

1 year ago: It’s Time To Be Dirty Girls! (Recipe: Giant M&M Cookies)

Quote of the Day:

 “I want to be so distracted loving life, that I never realize I’m getting older.” -Angel Laney Sutton

So, I think I finally found my brownie recipe. I have had this recipe for awhile (as in maybe two years…don’t judge), but the brownies turned out perfectly! Just perfect! You MUST try them if you’re looking for a good brownie recipe! A even commented that he thought these were the best brownies I had ever made for him!

Classic Brownies

Cook’s Illustrated Classic Brownies

Ingredients

– 1 1/4 cups cake flour

– 1/2 teaspoon salt

– 3/4 teaspoon baking powder

– 6 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped fine

– 12 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into six 1-inch pieces

– 2 1/4 cups sugar

– 4 large eggs

– 1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Directions

– Adjust oven rack to the middle position; heat oven to 325*. Fit foil into a 9×13-inch pan allowing the excess to overhang the pan edges. Spray the foil-lined pan with nonstick cooking spray.

– Whisk to combine flour, salt, and baking powder in medium bowl; set aside.

– Melt chocolate and butter in large heatproof bowl in the microwave for 45 seconds, then stir and heat for 30 more seconds. Stir again, and if necessary, repeat in 15-second increments. DO NOT LET THE CHOCOLATE BURN.

– When the chocolate mixture is completely smooth, gradually whisk in sugar. Add eggs one at a time, whisking after each addition until thoroughly combined. Whisk in vanilla. Add flour mixture in three additions, folding with rubber spatula until batter is completely smooth.

– Transfer the batter to the prepared pan spreading the batter into the corners of the pan and smoothing the surface. Bake for 30 to 35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out with few moist crumbs attached.

– Cool on wire rack to room temperature.

Courtesy of Cook’s Illustrated

This entry was posted in Races, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

