April Fools’ Pranks for Endurance Athletes (Recipe: Cheddar Scone Biscuits)

So, I can’t remember the last time I played an April Fools’ joke on someone. I have never been a huge fan of doing them because I don’t like people doing them to me. But I was reading this blog on pranks you could pull on endurance athletes.  I would not find most of these funny UNLESS the person was standing right there to remedy the situation so I could still get my workout in.  But that’s just me.  So, here are some of the pranks:

Runners:

  • Soak their running socks in water. Keep one pair hidden so you can give it to them to actually use once they get really upset.
  • Hide only the left foot of all of their running shoes.
  • Replace their favorite Dri-FIT or moisture-wicking clothing items with cotton clothes.
  • Map out their daily run and find an ideal time to spray them with water.

Cyclists/Triathletes:

  • Put baseball cards in the spokes of their wheels.
  • Let the air out of their tires before their daily ride, but have the pump ready after you share a good laugh.
  • Swap their energy chews with Starburst.
  • Hide their training helmets and leave out only the aero one.
  • Fill their swim cap with baby powder, lotion or any other humorous substance you can think of.

Fitness Junkies:

  • Replace their protein powder with flour.
  • Override their workout playlist with only Michael Bolton tracks.
  • Put a fake spider in their pre-workout powder.
  • If you know their padlock code, move the gear from their locker at the gym into a different one while they’re working out.

Keep them in mind for next year!

In other news, I got my new passport in the mail the other day! Yay! I can’t believe how fast the last ten years have gone! It’s just insane!  My last passport brought me on AMAZING international adventures (some of which I have blogged about): Portugal, Vietnam, Botswana, Namibia, South Africa (twice!), Germany, Poland, Austria, Czech Republic, Greece, Turkey, Madagascar, India, and Italy! I can’t wait to see where I get to travel to on this passport!

IMG_0495

I also turned a year older last week! I had a fabulous birthday celebration!  My coworkers brought me in these treats:

IMG_0423

And then I flew up to Madison and Milwaukee to celebrate my birthday with A and his family.  On Friday, I got to go on a run in downtown Madison (my old stomping grounds!) and have lunch with a dear friend and meet her *new* (new to me!) kitten, Oliver! He is just precious!  (The lake is still pretty darn frozen, BTW!)

IMG_0506 IMG_0519 IMG_0508 IMG_0513

Then I got to celebrate with A and his family. His parents gave me the awesome gift of a donation to Girls on the Run in my name!  It is a fantastic gift! I really hope I get to coach again! A and I also ventured to Grant Park with his brother and cousin one afternoon, and went to the Milwaukee Art Museum’s Beauty in Bloom exhibit!  It was a really neat exhibit, and perfect for the rainy, cold day that it was! There was also a GORGEOUS Chihuly piece! And I think I have mentioned before how much I love Chihuly!

IMG_3567 IMG_4733grantpark5 grantpark2mam7 mam8mam4 mam3 mam9 mam14

It was an absolutely wonderful birthday! The only thing that could have made it better was if I could have seen my family. Maybe next year for my big one!  The big 3-0!

Food for Thought: Pistachios.  They spike metabolism and curb post-workout hunger without packing on the pounds.

1 year ago: Alternatives to Sports Massage (Recipe: Chocolate Chip Pudding Cookies)

2 years ago: Ice-Cream and Two-A-Days (Recipe: Chocolate Chip Cookies with Dark Brown Sugar)

Quote of the Day:

“I’m always nervous. If I wasn’t nervous, it would be weird. I get the same feeling at all the big races. It’s part of a routine, and I accept it. It means I’m there and I’m ready.” -Allyson Felix

So, I have never heard of a “scone biscuit” until I saw this recipe. But these were pretty darn good if I do say so myself!  They are definitely worth a second try! You really can’t go wrong with cheese!

Cheddar Scone Biscuits

Cheddar Scone Biscuits

Ingredients

– 2 cups cake flour

– 4 teaspoons baking powder

– 1 teaspoon salt

– 1/8-1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper or paprika

– 1 egg

– 1/2-3/4 cup milk, divided

– 5 tablespoons butter

– 1 cup grated cheddar cheese

Directions

– Preheat the oven to 475*.

– In a large bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, salt, and pepper/paprika.

– In a small bowl, beat the egg with 1/2 cup of the milk.

– Cut the butter into the dry ingredients and blend until the mixture is pea-sized crumbles. It is easiest to use your fingers. Add the cheese and almost all of the egg/milk mixture, reserving about 1 tablespoon of the egg/milk mix to brush on top of the biscuits.

– Mix gently together until just combined, but don’t over-mix or the scones will be tough. Add the remaining milk if the dough is too dry.

– Roll or pat the dough to about 1 inch thick. Cut into circles with a small biscuit cutter. Brush the scones with the reserved egg mix.

– Bake at 475* on an ungreased heavy (or parchment-lined) baking sheet for about 10 minutes or until puffed up and lightly browned. Watch carefully, as the size of the scones will determine how quickly they bake, and at that temperature the bottoms can burn pretty quickly!

Courtesy of Penzys

This entry was posted in Individual Workouts, Nutrition, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

