Quick Book Review: Lads Before the Wind by Karen Pryor (Recipe: Stuffin’ Muffins)

Lads Before the Wind by Karen Pryor

I was given this book as a gift for my birthday last year (yes, I realize it has been nearly a year!), but I just got around to reading it this month.  Life has been busy, folks!

This book is all about training and communicating with positive reinforcement.  It started the revolution of clicker training which I know most of us use for our dogs. However, this book is focused on Karen Pryor’s tenure as a dolphin trainer (she is a behavioral biologist).  It is not a training book as much as it is a memoir of training and other events. It is quite fascinating.  If you love animals and the theories behind training, you will thoroughly enjoy this book.  There are lots of anecdotes, and it is very readable. And if you have ever trained a pet, then you can relate to a lot of what the author says. I recommend it!

I feel like I haven’t had a moment of rest this week! Everything I have done has been fun (with the exception of errands such as driving out to Carrboro to get the girls’ food). Tuesday night I went to my first Canes hockey game!  It was so much fun! And the game was so close which made it even better!  They went into overtime! I’ll definitely have to go with A at some point.

20150317_204754 IMG_0394 IMG_0398 IMG_0400

Today I had my first chiropractic appointment.  All of the popping kind of freaks me out which is why I have always sort of avoided chiropractors.  PT? Fine. Sports massages? Awesome. Chiropractor? Well, let me tell you, that was amazing. I can’t believe how great I felt after being adjusted this morning!  I think I told you I had that rib out of place. Well, he fixed that in addition to releasing pressure in my neck and another area in my back. I felt so loose and relaxed after leaving!  He did tell me that my left psoas was weaker than my right one, but I sort of knew that already from PT.  I need to work on that. Anyway, I hope my visit today helps me with my run on Sunday!  Eek!  It’s really less than 48 hours away!

1 year ago: Speed Workouts for a Faster 5K (Recipe: Roasted Cauliflower Fettuccine)

2 years ago: Hobbling Like An Old Woman (Recipe: Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies – Take 1)

Want some cute pictures of the girls?

Callie:  Why are you sitting like that on the chair?

Callie: Why are you sitting like that on the chair?

Envy:  I dunno. Because that's the way I sit on pillows.

Envy: I dunno. Because that’s the way I sit on pillows.

Callie:  Move over.  This is how you sit on a pillow.

Callie: Move over. This is how you sit on a pillow.

Quote of the Day:

“When one door closes, another opens; but we often look so long and so regretfully upon the closed door that we do not see the one which has opened for us.” -Alexander Graham Bell

Stuffin’ Muffins. Awesome invention. It’s stuffing put into a muffin pan for individual servings. I followed the Rachel Ray recipe, but I’m sure it will work for your favorite stuffing recipe!

Stuffin' Muffins

Stuffin’ Muffins

Ingredients

– 1/2 stick butter

– 2 onions, chopped

– 3 ribs celery, thinly sliced

– 1/2 teaspoon onion powder

– 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

– 1/2 teaspoon dried basil

– 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano

– 8 ounces fresh mushrooms, chopped

– 1 cup chicken stock

– 1 package (12 oz) cubed seasoned bread stuffing

– 1 cup low-fat buttermilk

– 2 eggs, beaten

Directions

– Position the racks in the upper and lower thirds of the oven and preheat to 425*.

– Lightly grease two 12-cup muffin pans.

– In a large pot, melt the butter over medium. Add the onions, celery, onion and garlic powders, basil, oregano and 1/2 teaspoon pepper.  Cook, stirring occasionally, until vegetables soften, about 5 minutes.  Add the mushrooms and cook, stirring often, until mushrooms are tender and the liquid evaporates, about 7 minutes. Add the stock and bring to a boil.

– Remove from the heat and gently stir in the stuffing and buttermilk; season with salt and pepper. Using a fork, stir in the eggs. Cover and let stand 5 minutes. Divide the mixture among the muffin cups.

– Bake the muffins until golden, rotating the pans halfway through baking, about 25 minutes. Let cool on a wire rack 15 minutes. Run a thin knife around the edges of the muffins to release them from the pan.

Courtesy of Rachel Ray

This entry was posted in Book Review, Callie!, Envy, Recipes, Stretch & Strengthen. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

