5 Weeks No Sweets Challenge (Recipe: Chocolate Chip Bread)

5 weeks. 32 days.

Are you thinking:  Kristen?? Really?? How do you think you can pull that off?

Well, sometimes I think the same thing.  However, I don’t do well restricting myself.  So, as I told you in my New Year’s resolution update, I am not even close to losing the 10 pounds that I wanted to lose. My idea is this: make it a challenge because I do love a little competition.

Now, I’m not doing “no sugar”. I have good friends who are doing that and it is working really well for them! However, my goal is to consume/crave less desserts and sweets.  As of now, I seem to crave them all the time. And I know that’s not healthy. In the future, I would like to be able to go two to three days in a row without having dessert and have it be pretty easy.

So, why 5 weeks? Well, I need to have the challenge period be long enough to help me form a new habit, and I want to have cake on my birthday, and my birthday is 5 weeks away.  Also, 5 weeks seemed more manageable than 2 or 3 months or something.

The only caveat is if I qualify for Boston at my marathon on March 22. If I do that then I am allowing myself a dessert of some sort as a celebration because I have worked soo hard to get there.

Well, day 1 has been easy because I got some sort of food poisoning yesterday which means I haven’t been craving anything.  I barely want to eat applesauce and saltines.  Yeah, it has sucked.  But A was absolutely amazing with everything.  I don’t know what I would have done without him here. He made an emergency grocery store run, took care of the girls, made a breakfast casserole for me once I gain my appetite back in the next couple of days, did laundry, did dishes, etc. I am so incredibly lucky to have such a wonderful man in my life. And doubly lucky that this visit happened to coincide with this food poisoning.  I am not good at being sick. Haha.

We did have some fun before I got ill. We went to the RV show at the fairgrounds on Saturday with K&T. So overwhelming but so cool! Maybe one day! I told A that an RV may be the only way he gets me to go camping on a regular basis–otherwise the trip has to be pretty awesome to convince me to go camping.

And then after my long run this weekend we went to see Interstellar. It was really good! It was long but it didn’t seem to be too slow. I recommend it if you haven’t seen it!

IMG_0038

I finally finished the puzzle that A got me as one of my anniversary gifts! I love it! Such a neat idea!

2 years ago: Callie Ran 3.45 Miles Today! (Recipe: BBQ Chicken Dip)

“Eventually you realize that the only competition is against the voice inside your head that wants you to quit.” -Anonymous

So, I know I’m doing this No Sweets Challenge; however, I have stocked up on several sweet recipes I have made prior to today, so you won’t be going 5 weeks without any sort of dessert recipe. 🙂 This Chocolate Chip Bread is a recipe that I have been making since grad school.  I made it several weeks ago, but it never fails to please!

Chocolate Chip Bread

Chocolate Chip Bread

Ingredients

– 1 1/4 cups AP flour

– 3/4 cup sugar

– 1 teaspoon salt

– 1 teaspoon baking powder

– 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

– 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

– 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

– 2 eggs

– 1/2 cup cooled, melted butter

– 1/2 cup sour cream

– 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

– 2 cups chocolate chips

Directions

– Preheat oven to 350*. Lightly butter one 9×5 inch loaf pan or three 6×3 mini loaf pans.

– Mix dry ingredients together (including chocolate chips).

– Whisk wet ingredients together.

– Stir wet mixture into dry mixture.

– Spread the batter into the pans and bake for about 55 minutes if using a standard loaf pan or 35-40 minutes for mini loaf pans.

This entry was posted in Nutrition, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 5 Weeks No Sweets Challenge (Recipe: Chocolate Chip Bread)

  1. Deb Norman says:

    That sounds delicious! Good luck with the “less desserts” challenge. I have a similar goal. I want sweets about every time I pass a package of cookies.

  2. Pingback: Butter, Beef, and Bacon. (Recipe: Gooey Brown Butter Blondies with Pecans) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

