My First RPM Class Since May 2012 and a New Year’s Resolution Update (Recipe: Cinnamon Swirl Scones)

Last Saturday I did my 12 mile run and followed that with my first RPM class since May 2012 on Sunday.  RPM = Revolutions Per Minute.  It is a Les Mills indoor cycling workout (an INTENSE cycling workout) with a series of songs that lead you through intervals, rolling hills, steep hills, time trials, and flats.

I used to do RPM workouts 1-2 times a week while I was in Blacksburg. I loved it. It’s such a good workout. However, I moved to Madison and my gym did not have any Les Mills classes. I attended a few cycle classes and found them subpar. At my new gym, I noticed soon after signing up that they provided Les Mills classes to their members including two RPM classes a week! (It used to only be one RPM class a week–Sunday afternoons. But starting this month they added a Tuesday evening class as well!)

Because of either long runs or visits from A, I have not been able to attend any of the Sunday classes, and I just became aware of the Tuesday class last week. But, man, oh, man, is it a good workout! My legs were sore on Monday! I am going to have to start going more frequently!  Except not this Sunday because I have a 20-miler.

Anyway, if your gym offers RPM, you should totally give it a try.

Now, New Year’s Resolutions.  How many of you have kept your resolutions?  Some of mine I have dominated. Others I haven’t at all.  But I figured I can use this blog to hold me accountable.

Let’s start with my successes.

– Regularly get sports massages.  Of the 7 weeks since the New Year, I have gotten a sports massage 5 of those weeks!  And this week was beyond my control.  My massage happened to be scheduled for Monday night, and then we got crazy ice/sleet, so my appointment was canceled.

– Strength train 3-4 days a week.  I have been keeping track, and I did the math.  Since the start of 2015, I have averaged weightlifting 4.43 times per week, and I average 7.29 exercises each weightlifting session. Yay for getting stronger!

– Travel to one new place this year.  Okay.  So I haven’t actually traveled to my new place, but I have purchased tickets and have plans for several new places this year!  That definitely counts.  For instance, I am going to Wrightsville Beach in March for my marathon.  In April I fly to Phoenix for the annual birthday run with Dr. Green!  In May, A and I are traveling to Denver for a wedding. In July we travel to a wedding in Reno, and I also travel to San Francisco for a conference. That is FIVE new places (at least!) that I will travel to this year.

– Read a book a month. I have finished reading two books this year and have started my third which puts me right on track. I will be posting short book reviews for them soon!

– Allocate a portion of every paycheck to savings each month and fully fund my 2015 Roth IRA in the 2015 calendar year.  I am notorious for not putting money into my Roth until like the 2 months prior to filing my taxes.  Not good.  And with my move to NC, my savings has dwindled tremendously. But I’m on the right track because in both January and February I put money into savings AND I contributed to my Roth IRA AND I was eligible to start my work 401K in January which I did, so I have that savings going for me, too! Yay for being fiscally responsible!

– Finish my 2004-2008 (undergraduate) scrapbook.  Yes, I realize that I am very far behind in my scrapbook world.  I am currently scrapbooking Spring 2006. BUT in my defense, I had ZERO time to scrapbook while in graduate school (2008-2012). And then I just didn’t in Madison (no excuse).  But lately I have been scrapbooking about 4-5 pages a week, so I am slowly getting there!

– Add two states to my marathon and half-marathon challenge.  Well, I will be adding North Carolina to the marathon list in 4 weeks, so I will be halfway there with this resolution when I give you the next update!

– Start agility with the girls.  Well, I bought the 2×2 weave poles that I showed you the other day!  And Envy and I have  been taking a contacts and weaves class the last few weeks!  I just need to figure out a plan to move forward from here! Especially with Miss Callie!

So, now let’s discuss what I need to work on.

– Swim once a week.  Yeah about that.  I have not done laps at all since August.  Yep.  You heard me right.  I have not set foot in a pool since I fractured my shoulder. But my gym has a pool, so hopefully next month I will have better news to report on that front.

– Qualify for the Boston Marathon.  I’m working towards it! I can almost taste it! Almost!  We will find out next month!

– Lose 10 pounds by my birthday.  Not happening.  I made some progress in January, but February has been a disaster. HOWEVER, I have a plan.  I’ll tell you about it soon.

– Foam roll 3 days a week. This ain’t happening either.  I have become super slack with this since starting to go see Bob once a week.  I need to get back into the habit.

– Finish a sprint triathlon.  Well, if I’m not swimming I won’t be doing this!

So, there you have it!  I’m doing pretty well for almost 2 months into the resolutions! I hope I can keep it up! And I hope to have progress to report on the others next time!

1 year ago: Plantar Fasciitis (Recipe: Cook’s Illustrated Blondies)

Quote of the Day:

“I don’t run because I love the feeling of running. I run because it makes me love the feeling of living.” -Bonnie Pfiester

Cinnamon Swirl Scones. I’ve had the recipe saved since August which in my world is amazing that I’ve already tried the recipe. However, these were pretty much a failure.  I think my biggest failure was that I did not roll them tightly enough.  But in either case, I was sorely disappointed in them.  Sigh.

Cinnamon Swirl Scone

Cinnamon Swirl Scones

Ingredients

– 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour

– 1/3 cup granulated sugar

– 1 tbsp baking powder

– 1/4 tsp salt

– 1/2 cup butter, cold and cut into pieces

– 1 cup buttermilk

– 1 tsp vanilla extract

Filling:

– 1/2 cup granulated sugar

– 2 tsp ground cinnamon

– 2 tbsp butter, melted

Directions

– Preheat oven to 400F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

– In the bowl of a food processor, combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Pulse several times to combine.

– Add in cold butter, buttermilk and vanilla extract and pulse until dough comes together into a ball. If dough is too dry, add in an additional tablespoon of buttermilk. Take dough out of the food processor and transfer to a large bowl. Knead gently in the bowl to ensure that the dough is uniform and no dry spots remain. Chill dough for 15 minutes.

– In a small bowl, make the filling by whisking together sugar and cinnamon. On a lightly floured surface, roll dough out into a roughly 12×12-inch square. Brush top side with butter, then spread evenly with the cinnamon-sugar mixture. Roll dough up tightly into a log. Cut into 12 even pieces and transfer pieces to the prepared baking sheet, leaving about 3 inches between each to allow for spread.

– Bake for 16-19 minutes, until golden brown. Allow scones to cool on a wire rack for 3-4 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely before serving.

Courtesy of Baking Bites

This entry was posted in Individual Workouts, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My First RPM Class Since May 2012 and a New Year’s Resolution Update (Recipe: Cinnamon Swirl Scones)

  1. Pingback: 5 Weeks No Sweets Challenge (Recipe: Chocolate Chip Bread) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

  2. Pingback: I Donated Blood! (Recipe: Cookies and Cream Pound Cake) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

