The Opposite of Cologne Man (Recipe: Brownie Pudding)

Remember Cologne Man?  How could you forget, right?

Well, Wednesday evening Shawn and I met at the gym to run on the treadmill because it was spitting gross stuff from the sky and felt colder than it actually was.  We were going to run 5 miles.  No biggie.

After two miles, Shawn needed a pee break, so she ran downstairs.  A minute or so after she left, a man got on the treadmill next to hers. [Picture it:  5 treadmills in a row.  The first one has an out-of-order sign on it.  The second one a man is now walking on.  The third one is Shawn’s.  The fourth one is mine.  The fifth one is empty.]

As I’m walking on the treadmill waiting for Shawn to return, I smell him.  And the smell is strong and not in a good way.  It’s strong in a “how-can-you-not-smell-yourself” way.  I almost threw up in my mouth a little.  I looked around the gym to see if there were two other treadmills together but of course there weren’t.

Shawn returns, and as she gets on the treadmill she just looks at me wide-eyed.  We ran for about a 1/4 mile, and she had to switch to the treadmill on the other side of me.  Then the man started running!

Oh, the smell.  You may think I’m exaggerating, but I’m not.  It was just horrible.  We were discretely trying to breathe into our towels.  I actually thought to myself, “I’d rather smell cologne man for the entire length of my run than smell this!”

As he slowed to walk, I breathed a sigh of relief.  But then a few moments later he was running again.  Intervals.  Damn it, he was doing intervals.

Around mile 4 or 4.5 of our run he decided he was finished running.  Thank goodness.  It was then that Shawn told me that she passed him on the stairs on her way to the bathroom and had gagged.  Then when she had returned to find him on the treadmill next to hers, she couldn’t believe it.

Don’t get me wrong.  I sweat.  I smell.  But I wear deodorant and perfume, and I try to be very aware of my body odor.  If I’m going to the gym, I often put on an extra layer of deodorant.   No one else should have to smell me.  Well, Shawn is kind of stuck running with me, so if I start emitting an odor at mile 12 then she is just going to have to tell me to put on more deodorant next time.  Got that, Shawn? 🙂

In other non-running news, Furman (my undergraduate university) asked me to conduct some interviews of potential Furman students.  This year I have done three.  (Last year I only did one.)  Two were on the phone and one was in person.  I must admit that three was a little much, but it was actually really fun reminiscing about my undergraduate experience with these students.  And it was awesome to see/hear them get genuinely excited about college.  I love Furman.

Oh!  And I signed up for an Italian class!  I have been wanting to take Italian since high school.  I never had time in my busy Furman class schedule to take it.  Grad school?  Yeah right–like I had time to take fun classes in grad school.  So, you know what?  I signed up to take it at the local technical college here in Raleigh!  And I’m soooo excited!  Italy in 2016 anyone??

And one more thing, A got me this awesome present for our anniversary!  I’ve mentioned before how much I like puzzles, right?  I know I posted a picture of the Chihuly puzzle I finished back in 2013.  Well, look!

IMG_9277

Sooooo excited! I think I might just start it this weekend!

Food for Thought:  Canned vs. Frozen Veggies.  As far as good-for-you fiber is concerned, they come up about even. Some vitamins and minerals are lost in the canning process, but not a significant amount. And flash-frozen veggies can actually contain more nutrients than out-of-season fresh produce that has been transported a distance. Buy the version you find most convenient and affordable.

Quote of the Day:

“We meet everyone for a reason. Either they’re a lesson or a blessing. Sometimes it’s both.” -Anonymous

Remember way long ago (like the first week in December) when I visited A in Madison and we made the Easy Beer Mac and Cheese?  And in that post I told you that we made the most delicious dessert?  Well, I’m finally posting it.  Brownie Pudding.  You. Must. Make. This. Right. Now.  I’m not kidding. And definitely have some vanilla ice-cream to go with it.

Brownie Pudding IMG_8614

Brownie Pudding

Ingredients

– ¾ cup unsweetened cocoa powder

– ½ cup all-purpose flour

– 2 cups granulated sugar

– 4 eggs, at room temperature

– 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

– 1 cup unsalted butter, melted and cooled to room temperature

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Butter a 2-quart baking dish; set aside. Sift together the cocoa powder and flour into a medium bowl; set aside.

2. Using an electric mixer, beat the sugar and eggs on medium-high speed until very pale and light yellow, 5 to 10 minutes. Reduce the mixer speed to low and add the vanilla bean seeds and the cocoa mixture, mixing only until combined. Still on low speed, slowly pour in the melted butter and mix again until just combined.

3. Scrape the brownie mixture into the prepared baking dish, and place into a larger baking pan. Add enough hot tap water to come halfway up the sides of the baking dish. Bake for 1 hour, at which point a tester inserted 2 inches from the side of the pan will come out with some moist crumbs still attached and the center will appear under-baked. Remove the baking dish from the larger pan and place on a wire rack to cool completely. Serve at room temperature. Leftovers should be stored, covered, in the refrigerator for up to 3 days.

Courtesy of Brown-Eyed Baker

This entry was posted in Individual Workouts, Nutrition, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

