Quick Book Review: The Terrible and Wonderful Reasons I Run Long Distances (Recipe: Moroccan Chicken)

This book by Matthew Inman made me laugh out loud.  He is the author of The Oatmeal comic.

It is a quick 30-minute read but definitely worth it, in my opinion.  Even for people who don’t enjoy reading.  It is basically an extension of his comic.

Mark Remy, the Editor of Runner’s World, says, “All runners wonder, at some point or another, why we do what we do.  Mr. Inman’s explanation is the best I’ve ever seen.  And the funniest.  Because he is clinically insane.”

This is true.  If you know someone who has the book (I do! I do!), you should ask him/her if you can borrow it for a quick read.

Today was day 19 of no baking, folks!  And I was so craving cookie dough after my long run today.  14 miles in 22* weather.  It was cold.  Especially miles 7 to 9.  That part of the Greenway just made me shiver!

But instead of baking, my biggest supporter went to Panera while I showered and brought me home the salad I most often crave after long runs.  It’s delicious.

IMG_9286[1]

Quote of the Day:

“If you run, you are a runner. It doesn’t matter how fast or how far. It doesn’t matter if today is your first day or if you’ve been running for twenty years. There is no test to pass, license to earn, no membership card to get.  You just run.” -John Bingham

Last night, A and I cooked a delicious meal.  Part of it was this Moroccan Chicken.  I had made it several times before, but it had been awhile.  It was very tasty and filling.  We also watched The Emperor’s New Groove.  Yeah, I fell asleep.

Moroccan Chicken

Moroccan Chicken

Ingredients

– 1/4 cup evoo

– 1 teaspoon dried oregano

– 1/2 teaspoon ground all-spice

– 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

– 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves

– 3 garlic cloves, minced

– 4 chicken breasts

Directions

– Combine oil, oregano, all-spice, cumin, cloves and garlic.

– Add chicken and turn to coat.

– Saute or grill.

This entry was posted in Book Review, Food Picture (No Recipe), Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quick Book Review: The Terrible and Wonderful Reasons I Run Long Distances (Recipe: Moroccan Chicken)

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Funny Runner Terms (Recipe: Crispy Salt-and-Vinegar Potatoes) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

