New Weightlifting Gloves (Recipe: Chicken Florentine Artichoke Bake)

I needed new weightlifting gloves.

IMG_9089 IMG_9090 IMG_9091

Ya think?  These were as old as the hills.  Literally, I think I got them freshman year of college.  So, it was high time for some new ones.  And here they are!

IMG_9088

Nike Lockdown Training Gloves.  They are fantastic.  I am a big fan.

I have a fairly small hand and the men’s small fits very well.  I recommend them if you are looking for a pair!

This past weekend when A was in town, we went with some friends to see the movie Into the Woods.  I thought it was a good movie–a tad long.  They could have shortened it by just a bit, but I enjoyed the songs, and now I’d like to see the musical if it’s still out there.

I also went out for New Year’s for the first time in ages.  I mean ages.  I am usually a stay at home with the pups and friends kind of girl, but I had a lot of fun this year going to the NC Museum of Natural Sciences.  Lots of good food and beverages and music and friends!  It was a great way to ring in 2015!

IMG_9071 IMG_9072  IMG_9085 IMG_9087

IMG_9077

And tonight I was trying to leave my sports massage appointment, and my car wouldn’t shift out of park.  Awesomeness.  Gotta love older cars.  Thank goodness for good friends and a close Firestone!  Hopefully, it is a quick and inexpensive fix!  I’ll find out first thing in the morning!

Food for Thought:  Gingerbread Cookie.  The first bite you take out of a gingerbread cookie says a lot about your personality, according to Dr. Alan Hirsch.  If you start with the head, you’re a natural born leader; if you prefer the legs, you’re sensitive.  Bite the left arm first and you’re likely creative; bite the right arm and you tend to be pessimistic.

Quote of the Day:

“The world is full of magical things, patiently waiting for our senses to grow sharper.” -W. B. Yeats

We had a little potluck a few weekends ago, and A and I contributed this Chicken Florentine Artichoke Bake.  It was a hit!  And I think it is a keeper of a recipe!  It takes some prep, but I think it was worth it.

Chicken Florentine Artichoke Bake Chicken Florentine Artichoke Bake2

Chicken Florentine Artichoke Bake

Ingredients

– 8 ounces dried bow tie pasta

– 1 small onion, chopped

– 2 eggs, lightly beaten

– 1 1/4 cups milk

– 1 teaspoon dried Italian seasoning

– 1/2 teaspoon salt

– 1/4 teaspoon pepper

– 2 cups chopped cooked chicken

– 1 14-ounce can artichoke hearts, drained and quartered

– 1 10-ounce package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained well

– 2 cups shredded Monterrey jack cheese

– 1/2 cup oil-packed dried tomato, drained and chopped

– 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

– 1/2 cup soft bread crumbs

Directions

– Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cook pasta according to directions; drain well. In medium skillet cook onion over medium heat until tender then set aside.

– In large bowl, combine eggs, milk, Italian seasoning, salt, pepper. Stir in chicken, artichokes, and spinach. Stir in cooked pasta, onion, Monterey Jack cheese, dried tomatoes, and 2 tablespoons of Parmesan cheese. Transfer mixture to 3-quart baking dish.

– Bake covered for 20 minutes.

– For topping, in small bowl combine bread crumbs, remaining 2 tablespoons Parmesan cheese, 1 tablespoon melted butter, and Italian seasoning. Sprinkle over chicken mixture. Bake uncovered for 10 minutes or until golden.

This entry was posted in Overall Health and News, Recipes, Running Gear. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

