Quick Book Review: Gone Girl (Recipe: Two-Layered Apple Crisp)

So, I finished reading this book on my way up to Madison a couple weeks ago, but I saw the movie this weekend while A was in town.

In a word:  TWISTED.

I mean seriously twisted.

I am not sure what else to say about this book.  The plot definitely keeps you guessing–in a screw-with-your-head-this-is-very-messed-up sort of way.  I didn’t like either of the main characters.  However, I COULD NOT PUT THE BOOK DOWN.  It is very cleverly written.  I pretty much only read while I’m on the elliptical at the gym, and I would literally stay on the thing for 90 minutes just so that I could read more of the book.

I actually finished the book on my first flight into Detroit.  When the plane landed, the elderly woman sitting next to me asked, “So, what do you think of the book?”  I asked if she had read it, and she gave a small nod of her head.  I told her, “It was twisted.  Very twisted.”  And she responded, “I know!  Now you must see the movie!”

The movie followed the book fairly closely.  I thought they did a very good job with it, actually.  It was long, but I thought they captured all of the integral parts.

I definitely recommend reading the book.  It is a good read if you’re looking for a page-turner.

In other news, I tried the Panera Pumpkin Pie bagel the other day at work–bagels and donuts were brought in for our holiday celebration.  I am not really a fan of this pumpkin bagel, and I really like pumpkin baked goods.  I much prefer the Cinnamon Crunch or an Everything bagel from Panera.  Just sayin’.

Oh, and last weekend (well, the weekend of the 12th), I came home on Saturday night to a huge hole in the road in front of my house and a note on my door telling me to boil my water.  Whatttt?  Not exactly sure what all that was about, but Envy was particularly entranced with the work that was going on outside until about 11pm.  I asked her if she was supervising the men filling in the hole to make sure her ChuckIt ball wouldn’t disappear next time we went out to play.  I got some head turns from the girls at the word ‘ChuckIt’.

IMG_8722 IMG_8723 IMG_8726

And did I tell you that A sent me a beautiful poinsettia on December 1 to celebrate the Christmas season??  It is just beautiful!

IMG_8561

And the quote of the day is how I have felt the last week with all of the Christmas goodies around.

Quote of the Day:

“Strength and determination will lead to a better you.  Set goals for yourself, and always strive to be stronger, faster.  Stay focused and you will reach those goa-OOH CAKE!  Is it your birthday?! I didn’t know it was your birthday! I’d LOVE some cake!  Yes, the extra big piece.  Om nom nomnom nomnom…”

This weekend I made this Two-Layered Apple Crisp for a little dinner get-together we had while A was in town on Saturday.  It was AWESOME.  I definitely finished the rest of it off Sunday after my 12-miler with Shawn.  Sooooo good.  (The run and the crisp!)  You must try this one!  Although, Bob gave me a hard time because the crisp technically has 3 layers (oat mixture, apple filling, oat mixture), but whatever, man.  It’s good.  Oh, and A totally was impressed with my “apple peeler-corer-slicer” contraption that Ellie gave me for Christmas many moons ago!

Two-Layered Apple Crisp

Two-Layered Apple Crisp

Ingredients

Crisp:

– 3/4 cup butter, softened

– 1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar

– 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

– 1/2 teaspoon salt

– 2 cups AP flour

– 2 cups old-fashioned oats

Filling:

– 1 cup sugar

– 3/4 cup AP flour

– 1/4 cup packed brown sugar

– 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

– 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg

– 3 large Honeycrisp or Golden Delicious apples, peeled and sliced (about 6 cups)

– 3 teaspoons vanilla extract

– 1 tablespoon butter

Directions

– In a large bowl, beat the butter, brown sugar, cinnamon and salt until crumbly.  Add flour and oats; mix well.

– Press 3 cups oat mixture onto the bottom of a greased 13×9-inch baking dish.

– In another bowl, mix the first five filling ingredients.  Add apples and vanilla; toss to combine.  Spoon over oat layer.  Dot with butter; sprinkle with remaining oat mixture.

– Bake uncovered at 350* for 45-50 minutes or until golden brown and apples are tender.

Courtesy of Taste of Home

This entry was posted in Envy, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quick Book Review: Gone Girl (Recipe: Two-Layered Apple Crisp)

  1. Pingback: Rockin’ Body Pump and Our Visit to the Carolina Tiger Rescue (Recipe: Apple Crisp) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

