Everything Hurts. (Recipe: Cinnamon Roll Quick Bread)

So, I am skipping from pre-race day to post-race day.  I like taking a couple of days to reflect on a big race before I write about it.

I had trouble walking after the race.  I shuddered at the thought of having to go down stairs to get on the subway, and I even know the trick of going down them backwards makes it easier–I still shuddered (more on that when I write about the race).  Sitting on the toilet was difficult.  I had to use the handicap restroom and brace myself on the bars.  TMI?  Try running a marathon.

It was rough.

But the morning after?  It was worse.

Everything hurt.

My feet had crazy blisters (blood blisters and regular blisters).  My shins were bruised (I still have no idea why).  My quads KILLED.  Literally, daggers going into them every time I took a step.  My lower back ached (likely from poor running form near the end of the race).  My ribs hurt when I took deep breaths.  My shoulders and neck were crazy tight (likely from being tense the entire time due to the wind and bracing myself against it).

Again, everything hurt.

Doesn’t this make you want to run a marathon??  Haha.  I promise that it isn’t always like this.  I was only minimally sore after my marathons in Georgia and California.  And I was sore after Texas but not this sore.  Boston, on the other hand, was the worst.  But NYC takes a VERY close second place.  Very close.

It was a combination of the hills and the wind.  And I think that my quads still had not completely recovered from running my 20-miler two days after running the Hokie Half-Marathon.

Thank goodness for Bob and All Sport Muscle Therapy.  I had an hour sports massage on Monday morning and felt loads better.  Don’t get me wrong–I still hobbled around the rest of the day.  But on Tuesday, only stairs were difficult.  And by today I did the elliptical and am walking pretty normally again.

Plus, I’ve been eating pretty much everything in sight.  I had lost 5 pounds (exactly 5) in the month of October prior to race day (and I still ate plenty, don’t worry).  I have not attempted to step on the scale since my return.  It may take me a few more days.  Especially since I’m going out for ice-cream with friends tonight.

Quote of the Day:

“What you get by reaching your destination is not nearly as important as what you will become by reaching your destination.” -Zig Ziglar

I tried making this quick bread twice.  The first time I LOVED the taste, but the bread was too dense.  The second time I tried adding another egg, but then the cinnamon swirl part did not stay layered between the bread.  The taste was still good, though!

Cinnamon Roll Quick Bread

Cinnamon Roll Quick Bread

Ingredients

Bread:

– 1 3/4 cups AP flour

– 1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder

– 1/2 teaspoon salt

– 1 stick butter, softened

– 3/4 cup sugar

– 2 eggs

– 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

– 3/4 cup milk

Cinnamon Swirl:

– 1/2 cup light brown sugar

– 1/2 cup chopped pecans

– 1/2 stick butter, softened

– 1 tablespoon AP flour

– 1 tablespoon cinnamon

– pinch of salt

Directions

– Whisk 1 3/4 cups flour, 1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon salt.

– Beat 1 stick softened butter and 3/4 cup sugar with a mixer until fluffy; beat in 2 eggs and vanilla, then add milk.

– Beat in dry ingredients.

Make Cinnamon Swirl: Mix light brown sugar, chopped pecans, 1/2 stick softened butter, flour, cinnamon and a pinch of salt.

– Pour half of the batter into the pan, top with the cinnamon swirl mixture, then top with the remaining batter.

– Bake at 350* for 55-65 minutes.

Courtesy of Food Network

This entry was posted in Recipes, Stretch & Strengthen. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

