Yet Another Race: Chocolate 5K #NYCMarathon #13daystogo (Recipe: Butter Cookies)

I ran yet another race this past weekend!  This time it was a short one to get some speed work in before the big day!

A was in town so he was going to push me to run harder even if I didn’t PR (which I didn’t).  We got to the WakeMed Soccer Complex bright and early Saturday morning along with about 200 other runners for the Chocolate 5K.  It was a race to benefit the Kiwanis International Foundation, specifically the Unicef “Eliminate Project” for a local Key Club.

The course was actually one of the high school cross country courses–mental picture:  big grassy open field that leads to a dirt path.  Did you ever run cross country in high school?  I did my senior year.  I was terrible.  But this is exactly what our home cross country course was like.

Well, we started out WAY too fast.  As in sub-7-minute mile for the first 0.5 to 0.75 miles.  I know it’s not that far, but once you throw in a couple hills…man…I was sucking wind.  My first mile was around a 7:25 followed by two 8:03s and some change for the last tenth of a mile (yay consistency at the end!).  My official time was 23:53 (average of 7:41 minute miles).  My 5K PR is a 23:24, so I wasn’t too far off.  However, I was literally dying at the end.

BUT…it was worth it because I was the first female finisher!  Thank you, A, for pushing me even when I wanted to slow down!  The field of runners wasn’t that fast, but I’m still going to claim that title!

IMG_7114 IMG_7116

And more Italy!!

Duomo in Florence

Duomo in Florence

The Arno at night!

The Arno at night!

The Bell Tower!

The Bell Tower!

One of my favorite pieces in the Academia!

One of my favorite pieces in the Academia!

And of course we saw David!

And of course we saw David!

Climbing the Duomo!

Climbing the Duomo!

The ceiling of the Duomo.

The ceiling of the Duomo.

Look how high up we are!  The people below are just ants!  And we climbed even higher than this!

Look how high up we are! The people below are just ants! And we climbed even higher than this!

Quote of the Day:

“Just when you think you can’t run another step…You remember you are still 4 miles from home.  So you suck it up, because that’s where the food is.” -Anonymous

Are you a fan of Butter Cookies?  I found out this weekend that A is not (thank goodness I had also made him oatmeal raisin cookies!).  But this recipe was pretty darn good if you are a fan.  I’d make them again.

Butter Cookies

Butter Cookies

Ingredients

– 1 1/2 cups (3 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature

– 2/3 cup powdered sugar

– 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

– 2 tablespoons whole milk

– 2 teaspoons kosher salt

– 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

– 1 large egg

Directions

– Using an electric mixer on high speed, beat butter, powdered sugar, and vanilla in a medium bowl until light and fluffy, about 4 minutes.  Reduce speed to low; add milk, salt, and 2 1/2 cups flour and mix just to combine.

– Form dough into a 1/2-inch thick disk and wrap in plastic.  Chill until firm (at least 1 hour).

– Let dough sit at room temperature to soften slightly, about 5 minutes.  Roll dough out between 2 sheets of parchment paper until about 1/8-inch thick.  Cut out rounds with a floured 2 1/2-inch cookie cutter.

– Space out on a parchment-lined baking sheet and back 12-15 minutes at 350*.

Adapted from Bon Appetit

This entry was posted in Races, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yet Another Race: Chocolate 5K #NYCMarathon #13daystogo (Recipe: Butter Cookies)

  1. Pingback: Racing During Marathon Training #NYCMarathon #5daystogo (Recipe: Garlicky Party Bread with Cheese) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

  2. Pingback: Shawn is My Pace Machine #NYCMarathon #4daystogo (Recipe: Pumpkin Streusel Muffins) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

