Anthony Finished The Milwaukee Lakefront Marathon! (Recipe: Chocolate Chip Cookies with Hershey Kiss)

My amazing boyfriend finished his first ever marathon this weekend!  The Milwaukee Lakefront Marathon!  26.2 miles is a long way to run, and he did FANTASTIC!  I’m so extremely proud of him!

We woke up at 3am so he could eat his breakfast.  Then we went back to bed for an hour and a half.  I’m not sure how well A slept, but I did not sleep well at all! I was so nervous for him!  You see, A has been battling runner’s knee since this summer.  He saw a doctor and got some exercises to do to strengthen the muscles, but whenever he would do long runs, pain in his knee would start kicking in around mile 16 or 18.  So I was extremely nervous for him.  From my Boston experience, I know how horrible it is to run in pain.  It makes the whole marathon experience absolutely miserable.

But bright and early he was ready to go with his garbage bag to keep warm at the start line and his winter gear on.

IMG_6836 DSC_6776

Because the marathon was a point-t0-point, we dropped him off at the buses downtown that took him to the start line.

IMG_6859 IMG_6860

Then his parents and I headed home to eat our breakfast and get prepared to be the most awesome spectators ever!  I made my sign:

IMG_6864

We dressed in warm clothes because it was freaking cold:

IMG_6862

We gathered our tambourines and maracas and headed out!  His brother drove us around all morning!  And so we got to surprise A in so many spots!  We saw him at miles 5, 10, 14, 16.5, 18, 23.5, and 25!!

DSC_6794 DSC_6802

And we stopped at Dunkin Donuts to surprise him with donuts at the end of the race since it is kind of a tradition of ours.

IMG_6868

As he turned the corner of Mile 14, I could tell his gait was off, and I guessed that he was in pain.  He later told us that his knee started hurting at Mile 11!!  But he pushed through!

When he took longer to get to Mile 23.5 than we anticipated, I started getting really worried.  So I jogged along the course until I found him around Mile 23 and ran with him for two miles.  Now, I was not prepared to run.  You can see in the above picture that I was in jeans with my hair down and three layers on top.  But I needed to tell him how amazing he was doing and how he didn’t have much farther to go.  I know how horrible it is running alone when every step you take shoots pain through your body and every cell in you is telling you to just stop–it isn’t worth it.

So for two miles I was like a broken record telling him how awesome he was doing and how far he had gone and how few miles he had left.  Then I left him with exactly one mile to go to finish his race.  And he did it!  He hurt, but he didn’t quit!  And I’m so incredibly proud of him!

IMG_6872

And then we went home and he had his donut:

IMG_6873

Oh, and if you’re wondering about the girls, they had a BLAST staying with Alise.  They went on walks, had a cat to stalk, rolled in crap and got baths.  Yeah, they probably loved her house more than mine!

IMG_6810 IMG_6818 IMG_6831 IMG_6834

Quote of the Day:

“i’ve learned that having the tiniest impact on the world is about focusing less on one’s ego and more on one’s understanding of the challenges, solutions, and contributors to a problem.” -Jessica from todaywasmeaninful

As a surprise for A, I made one of my standby cookie recipes.  Chocolate Chip Cookies with a Hershey Kiss.  These cookies were pretty popular while in grad school and at tailgates, but I hadn’t made them in forever!  I’m totally a fan.

DSC_6749 Chocolate Chip Cookies with Hershey Kiss

Chocolate Chip Cookies with Hershey Kiss

Ingredients

– 1 cup butter, softened

– 1/3 cup granulated sugar

– 1/3 cup light brown sugar

– 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

– 2 cups AP flour

– 1 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips

– Herhsey’s kisses

Directions

– Heat oven to 375*.

– Mix together the butter, sugars and vanilla.

– Add flour. Mix until smooth.

– Stir in chocolate chips.

– Mold a scant tablespoon of dough around each chocolate piece.

– Bake 8-10 minutes on an ungreased cookie sheet.

– Can drizzle topping over each cookie (if preferred)

This entry was posted in Races, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anthony Finished The Milwaukee Lakefront Marathon! (Recipe: Chocolate Chip Cookies with Hershey Kiss)

  1. Pingback: New Running Shoes! (Recipe: Pumpkin Cake with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

