Running in the Airport – Take 2 (Recipe: S’mores Mini Cheesecakes)

Quite a bit of running happened this weekend.

Remember that time I ran through the Johannesburg airport like a crazy woman?  Well, this last time wasn’t quite that eventful, but I did have the opportunity to run through the airport again on Friday.

This weekend I flew up to Milwaukee to support A during his first ever marathon.  I got to the airport with plenty of time.  No flight delays!  Hooray!  And then about 1.5 hours into our flight the pilot tells us we are being rerouted due to the Chicago air traffic control tower being down which would add 30-40 minutes to our flight time.

Seeing as I had a really tight connection as it was (I was originally supposed to land at 4:35pm and board my next flight at 4:45pm), this was not looking good.  The flight attendant was a doll and used her wifi to find out which gate my next flight was out of since it hadn’t been posted before I left.  We were flying into A and my next flight was out of D.  She told me to take the moving walkways and run but that she wasn’t confident I’d make it–there were two later flights out that evening.

Airports and airplanes must hate me.  Of course I had checked my bag at the gate to be picked up between flights since it’s very difficult for me to lift things with my shoulder.  So not only did we arrive at 4:55pm (we arrived a little earlier than anticipated), but then I had to wait for my bag.

Then I started running.  Imagine me in dress pants and shirt and nice black flats running through the airport with a rolling suitcase and a large purse in my right hand (the purse flopping against the suitcase the entire time) and my folder of work in my left hand and running as best as I could with my bum shoulder.  Yeah…I’m pretty sure I was a sight.

BUT…I MADE IT.  They were already on the last zone of boarding when I got there, but who cares.  She checked my bag and I got on the plane winded, a bit sweaty and ready for my Delta biscoff cookies.  Then I promptly fell asleep.

And that’s how our weekend of running began.  More tales of the weekend to come.

I will say that I earned my Cloud Badge on Fitbit after this weekend–I have climbed 8,000 floors since I started wearing my Fitbit December 28, 2013 (and, no, I didn’t just remember that…I keep a very detailed calendar that allows me to keep track of my insane schedule, and I just so happened to get my Fitbit the same weekend as the NRR flyball tournament last year).

Now, on to more important things like Italy pictures!

Rome's version of "Rocky".

Rome’s version of “Rocky”.

The Colosseum.  Enough said.

The Colosseum. Enough said.

Looking at the rest of Ancient Rome.

Looking at the rest of Ancient Rome.

Standing with the symbol of Rome.

Standing with the symbol of Rome.

IMG_6233 DSC_6409

I'm overwhelmed!

I’m overwhelmed!

Absolutely beautiful!

Then we went on a winery tour in the Tuscan countryside.

Definitely one of my favorite afternoons!

Definitely one of my favorite afternoons!

Look at all this wine that 5 of us drank + more!

Look at all this wine that 5 of us drank + more!

The appetizers the wine was paired with.

The appetizers the wine was paired with.

Ummm...yes, please!

Ummm…yes, please!

Fact of the day:  You lift approximately 65% of your body weight when you do a modified push-up.  Interesting, right?

Quote of the Day:

“A strong butt is the key to a happy life.” -Jordan Metzl

My dear friends K&T had a big wedding anniversary last week–#10!  They weren’t really going to do anything to celebrate, so I decided to make them these S’mores Mini Cheesecakes.  I must say that my regular S’mores Cheesecake recipe turned out much better than the minis, but they were still tasty!  I will also say that I need to start baking some pumpkin desserts!  And apple!  Autumn is definitely my favorite season.

DSC_6739 DSC_6744

S’mores Mini Cheesecakes

Ingredients

Crust:
1 cup graham cracker crumbs
2 tbsp sugar
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
small pinch salt
2 1/2 tbsp butter, melted

Cheesecake:
8-oz cream cheese, softened
2 tbsp sour cream or plain greek-style yogurt
1/2 cup sugar
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 oz dark chocolate, chopped
1-oz milk chocolate, chopped
approx 2/3 cup mini marshmallows or 5 large marshmallows

Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 350F. Line 10 cups of a muffin pan with paper liners.
2.  In a medium bowl, make the graham cracker crust. Mix together graham cracker crumbs, sugar, cinnamon and salt and stir to combine. Pour over melted butter and stir with a fork to moisten the crumbs.
3.  Place about a tablespoon of crumb mixture in each of the prepared muffin cups and pack down into an even layer.
4.  In a large bowl, make the cheesecake. Cream together cream cheese, sour cream and sugar until smooth. Beat in the egg and vanilla extract.
5.  In a medium-sized, microwave-safe bowl, melt the dark and milk chocolate. Add in 1 cup of the cheesecake mixture and stir until all of the chocolate has been completely incorporated.
6.  Add scant 2 tablespoons of the chocolate batter and a scant 2 tablespoons of the plain batter to each prepared muffin cup (you can use four 1-tbsp dollops for smaller swirls).  Top with 3-4 mini marshmallows.
7.  Bake for 20-24 minutes, until cheesecakes are set.
8.  Allow to cool completely in the muffin pan, then carefully transfer cheesecakes to a platter – cheesecakes will still be quite tender – and refrigerate until well-chilled.

Courtesy of Baking Bites

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running in the Airport – Take 2 (Recipe: S’mores Mini Cheesecakes)

  1. Pingback: 41.10 Miles #NYCMarathon #4weekstogo (Recipe: Basil Marinated Chicken Breasts) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

  2. Pingback: Running Through the Airport. Again. | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

