A New PR and 3rd in My Age Group at the Triad 10-Miler! (Recipe: St. James Coffee Cake)

This weekend was wicked crazy.  Yes, I just used the word ‘wicked’ like I am from New Jersey or something.  Which I’m not.  But that’s exactly how the weekend should be described.

After work on Friday I raced home to feed the pups and then take Envy to the NC State Fairgrounds so she could do some SDR (Single Dog Racing).  DGF hosted their fall tournament this weekend in Raleigh.  She did great working in her own lane while Kohl (a very experienced BC) worked in the lane next to her.

While at SDR, I was convinced that I should probably be wearing a sling so as not to displace my non-displaced fracture.  With 5 minutes to spare I showed up at the pharmecy that had slings made specifically for shoulder stabilization.  It’s quite the contraption!  And the sweet girl who was the pharmacist on duty helped me get into it.  And she was actually quite hilarious.  She immediately apologized that the sling was not “boob savvy” as it cuts right across the chest.  I said something to the effect of “First world problems for well-endowed women”.  She laughed and said she completely understood (she was well-endowed as well).

By this point, Cheryl was already waiting at my house for me, so I dropped Envy off and we immediately went to dinner…as twins!  Completely unplanned.  I swear.

IMG_6732 IMG_6733

Then I headed to Shelly and Matt’s house for the night because I had the Triad 10-Miler the next morning.  I got to meet their handsome pup Smitten!  So many pups around here lately!  He is absolutely adorable!

In the morning, Shelly and Matt headed to Raleigh for flyball and I headed to the race. I had my new race outfit on that I was trying out for the NYC Marathon.  (And, no, I did not wear the sling to run the race.)

IMG_6735

Now, with a fractured shoulder I was hoping to run strong but not do anything stupid.  Holy hills!  This course was insanely hilly!  At mile 2 I found myself thinking, “Take advantage of this straightaway, it’s going to go uphill again soon.”  “Take advantage of this downhill to help propel you up the next hill.”  Yeah, that’s how many hills there were.

After the first mile only one person passed me until mile 8.  A girl about my age finished 6 seconds before me.  At the end of the race she thanked me for holding her pace and pushing her to run strong the entire time.  She said she wouldn’t have done it without me.  We ended up talking for about 15 minutes after the race and switched contact information so that we can meet up again at another local race.  She actually lives in Greensboro and said that the race organizers picked one of the hilliest courses in the area.  Awesome.  I kind of look awful but happy here!

Race Photo

Nevertheless, I PR’d!  My official gun time was 1:21:32.  They didn’t actually chip time which kind of annoys me, although my chip time is probably only 20-30 seconds faster than the gun time.  But I held 8:09 pace on hills for 10  miles with a fractured shoulder!  I’m definitely pleased with that time!  No bones about it!

IMG_6736IMG_6755[1]

And I obviously ran tangents because my watch was just a tad under 10 miles!  I love me some tangents.

Come to find out, Katie (my new friend) messaged me and said I had gotten third in my age group!  How about them apples!?  Totally happy.  I missed out on this sweet age group prize since I left early to get back to flyball:

IMG_6737

At flyball, I quickly learned after one race that my shoulder was not going to allow me to run Callie over the weekend, so Amy was completely awesome and ran her for me all weekend!  She was a little punk on Sunday–this LRD has some sass!

And Envy blew my mind!  She did FABULOUS in warm-ups all weekend!  She was extremely focused and had really pretty box turns!  She did so well that Amanda put her in for 2 heats of our last race of the day and my little girl became an official Flyball Dog!  She got her FD!  Again, I couldn’t have done it without Amy, but she made my entire weekend!  I am still so extremely thrilled with how well she did!

I’m not going to lie, I was sweating bullets.  Callie’s first attempt at a debut did not go so well.  It actually went so poorly that I sobbed and swore off flyball.  We all know that didn’t last.  (Callie was absolutely terrified of the racing ring and ran out of the building on my three attempts to do anything but run-backs with her.  I felt like a horrible mom.)  So, when Amy said she thought Envy was ready, I kind of freaked out.  Especially since Envy had not practiced in the left lane all day and that was the lane we were in for the last race.  I think the racing really helped her to figure out what was going on.  When the first dogs went, Envy looked at our start dog and then the start dog in the other lane.  Then she looked back at our second dog and looked over at the other team’s second dog racing our dog.  Then she looked at our third dog and the other team’s third dog.  And then she just went!  Not even looking at the other very distracting Border Collie in the other lane!  Again, can you tell that I’m thrilled??

IMG_6789[1] IMG_6787[1] IMG_6790[1]

 

This was an absolutely amazing weekend!  Other highlights:  Cheryl got a perfect start with Cody!

IMG_6760

Trish was there were her two boys that I LOVE–Boom just cracks me up!

IMG_6781

There was lots of puppy snuggling!

IMG_6782 IMG_6784

And there was a fun group dinner after racing was all done on Sunday!  And that puts an end to September!  Where have the months gone?? Exactly 5 months from tomorrow I drove from Madison to Raleigh.  That just seems ridiculous.

In terms of training, I ran 45.41 miles last week and cycled 21.56 miles.

And don’t worry, I have plenty more Italy pictures for you, but I thought this post had enough pictures already.

Quote of the Day:

“Be in the moment.” -Darren Treasure

So, I made this St. James Coffee Cake for flyball.  It was okay.  Kyle said he could smell it’s cinnamon and cloves and nutmeg from across the room while he was judging in the flyball lane and he approved.  I think I can do better.

St. James Coffee Cake IMG_6728

St. James Coffee Cake

Ingredients

– 3 cups flour

– 2 cups sugar

– 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

– 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves

– 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

– 3/4 cup butter

– 2 cups buttermilk

– 1 teaspoon baking soda

– 1 cup raisins

– 1 cup chopped walnuts

Directions

– Preheat the oven to 350*.  In a medium bowl, combine the flour, sugar and spices.  Cut or rub in the butter until the mixture resembles corn meal.  Reserve 1/2 cup of the mixture.

– In a second bowl, combine the buttermilk and baking soda.  Pour this into the remaining crumb mixture in halves, beating thoroughly after each addition.  Stir in the raisins and nuts.

– Spread the batter into a greased and floured 9 x 13 inch pan.  Sprinkle the reserved crumb mixture over the top.  Bake for 1 hour until brown and springy when touched or until a toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean.

Courtesy of Penzey’s Spices

This entry was posted in Callie!, Envy, Races, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A New PR and 3rd in My Age Group at the Triad 10-Miler! (Recipe: St. James Coffee Cake)

  1. Pingback: Racing During Marathon Training #NYCMarathon #5daystogo (Recipe: Garlicky Party Bread with Cheese) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

  2. Pingback: Give Your Brain a Workout (Recipe: Ina’s Blondies) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

