Gotta Even Out the Legs #NYCMarathon #6weekstogo (Recipe: Strawberry Chicken Salad)

Remember how I got dry needling done to my right calf last week?  Well, today I went back to have my left calf done.  Ouch.  Not a fun process, but I’ve heard from multiple sources that it works wonders.  And I didn’t have any calf problems on Sunday when I ran 16 miles (although, I was wearing my compression socks which tends to help).

Today during my dry needling session, the physical therapist hit a spot that literally made my leg jump off the table.  Later he hit another spot that made me wince more than the others.  He said that the two areas were very close to one another.  He also said I may have a bruise from one of them.  Awesome.

Wednesday I go see Bob for a sports massage to see how much he thinks the dry needling has helped.  He is also going to work on my lower back because it started hurting late in my run on Sunday.  I mainly think that is because I haven’t done a lot of strength training lately.  Bad me.  It’s hard to convince myself to do it when I have the hurt shoulder so I can’t do any arm weights, but I know I need to.

I also got my MRI scheduled for Wednesday!  I’m supposed to show up at 8:30pm!  The MRI is at 9pm and it should be over by 9:30pm!  What the heck!?  Who has ever heard of an appointment that is that late??  The shoulder is gaining more movement, though.  And the pain meds that my doctor gave me seem to help.  I HATE being injured.  Ugh.

In other news, I got the most awesome pair of running shorts for the NYC Marathon!  I’m super stoked about them!  I ran 6 miles in them on Friday and they felt great.  I’m going to run 10 miles in them on Saturday and then do my next long run in them as well just to make sure, but I really like them!  They are made by Oiselle.  I’ve never bought anything from them before, but so far they are a winner in my book!

On to Italy pictures!

The Pantheon!

The Pantheon!

Loved this building!

Loved this building!

The dome of the Pantheon is incredible!

The dome of the Pantheon is incredible!

I love the lighting in this painting!

I love the lighting in this painting!

View from the Varican

View from the Vatican

Model of the Vatican that I thought was pretty cool.

Model of the Vatican that I thought was pretty cool.

The staircase in the Vatican--around and around you go!

The staircase in the Vatican–around and around you go!

The tub in the Vatican!

The tub in the Vatican!

One of the best modern sculptures in Rome!

One of the best modern sculptures in Rome!

These maps were unbelievable!

These maps were unbelievable!

Just look at the detail!

Just look at the detail!

The dome of St. Peter's Basilica!

The dome of St. Peter’s Basilica!

This was a mosaic in St. Peter's.

This was a mosaic in St. Peter’s.

We totally got our picture taken with the Swiss guards...

We totally got our picture taken with the Swiss guards…

Quote of the Day:

“I have cried once or twice when I crossed the finish line, out of a fullness of a feeling that can’t be expressed in words.” -Larry Smith

This has totally happened to me. #sportscry

I was craving salad last week after my pasta and gelato binge in Italy, so I made this Strawberry Chicken Salad.  The salad ingredients aren’t anything new, but the dressing was.  My verdict:  it was just okay.  Nothing to rave about.

Strawberry Chicken Salad

Strawberry Chicken Salad

Ingredients

Salad Dressing:

– 1/2 cup honey

– 1 1/2 cups red wine vinegar

– 4 teaspoons soy sauce

– 1 clove garlic, minced

– salt and pepper

Salad:

– 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts cut into strips (I used rotisserie chicken)

– 1 1/2 tablespoons butter (not needed if you use rotisserie chicken)

– 8 cups spinach

– 1 pint strawberries, sliced

– 1/2 cup mushrooms

– 1/2 cup candied slivered almonds

– 1/2 cup feta cheese, crumbled

Directions

Combine dressing ingredients in a small bowl. In a large skillet, cook and stir chicken in butter until no longer pink; drain. Add 1/2 cup salad dressing and cook 1 minute longer. Place salad greens in a serving bowl. Top with chicken, sliced strawberries, mushrooms, and candied nuts. Garnish with whole berries, if desired.

Adapted from Cook’n

This entry was posted in Recipes, Running Gear, Stretch & Strengthen. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gotta Even Out the Legs #NYCMarathon #6weekstogo (Recipe: Strawberry Chicken Salad)

  1. Pingback: Porta-Potties: Everything You’ve Ever Wanted to Know (Recipe: Parmesan Herb Baked Turbot) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

