Add One Dynamic Stretch and Girls’ Night (Recipe: Banana Pudding Layer Cake)

Why?  For range of motion.

You will gain flexibility from adding dynamic stretches to your routine.  Muscles are more powerful when they can move through a full range of motion.  Dynamic stretches, not static stretches, have been found in studies to be most effective in maintaining or increasing the range of motion of joints.

Okay.  So.  This morning I ran 4 miles.  This afternoon I did INSANITY with K&T.  And then after INSANITY I mowed the  yard.  Front and back.  I’m exhausted.  And sweaty.  Well, I did shower after the run because I had to go to work, so I’m only sweaty from INSANITY and mowing the lawn.  I just wanted to clarify.

It’s not like my first semester of grad school where I went straight from the gym to classes and studying all day without not showering until 9pm when I got home.  Every day.  Yeah…I totally did that.  Once, when I actually showered before class, one of the girls in my cohort commented on how she never realized my hair was so long and pretty.  Yep.  I was that girl.

Pup pictures!  Just because. 🙂

IMG_6010 IMG_6011 IMG_6012 Envy2_May2014

Do you see Envy’s little head in the window??

Anyway, last week we had girls’ night.  I love girls’ night–it’s such a fun time!  We went to V’s house and brought over snacks and had wine and beer.  I brought dessert.  Because I’m going to Italy next week (EEK!  YES! NEXT WEEK!), I am missing T’s birthday.  So, I brought her cake to girls’ night.  One of T’s favorite desserts is banana pudding, so….of course I had to make Banana Pudding Layer Cake.  I’m not going to lie, it was pretty delish.  If you like banana pudding at all,  you’ve got to give this recipe a try.

IMG_5979

IMG_5981 IMG_5983

Quote of the Day:

“Slow down. The sidewalk’s for walking, not fancy walking.” -Jasper from The Simpsons

And here is the recipe!  Okay, okay.  I cheated a little bit and used a box cake mix.  Next time I won’t, though!

Banana Pudding Cake1 DSC_5985 Banana Pudding Cake2 Banana Pudding Cake3

Banana Pudding Layer Cake

Ingredients

Banana Pudding:

– 8 oz ( 1/2 of a 16 oz can) sweetened condensed milk

– 3/4 cups ice cold water

– HALF of a small box (3.4 oz) instant banana cream pudding mix

– 1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream

– Box Nilla Wafers

Cake:

– Box yellow cake mix, plus eggs, oil and water to prepare

Whipped cream:

– 2 1/2 cups heavy cream

– 1/2 cup powdered sugar

Directions

  1. Prepare pudding: In the bowl of a mixer, beat sweetened condensed milk and water for about a minute. Add the pudding mix and beat for about two more minutes. Transfer to a smaller bowl, cover, and refrigerate for at least 4 hours or overnight.
  2. In a large bowl on medium speed, whip the heavy cream until stiff peaks form (I put my metal mixing bowl and whisk mixer attachment in the freezer for five minutes prior…the cream always whips up very quickly this way). Using a rubber spatula, gently fold in the pudding mixture until fully combined and no streaks of pudding are visible.
  3. In a 8×8 pan, layer wafers and pudding. Cover tightly with plastic wrap and refrigerate for about 8 hours before filling cake.
  4. Prepare cake mix according to box directions. Pour evenly into 3 (8 inch) round cake pans and bake until cakes spring back when lightly touched in the center. Cool cakes in pans for 5 minutes, turn onto wire racks and finish cooling completely.
  5. Using a serrated knife, trim the cakes so they are level. Place one cake, top down, on a platter. Top with half the pudding mixture. Place another cake on top, top side down, and top with remaining pudding mixture. Top with last cake.
  6. Prepare whipped topping: Place metal mixing bowl, plus the mixer’s whisk attachment in the freezer for 10 minutes. Place cold, heavy cream and powdered sugar in mixing bowl, and beat on medium speed until it starts to thicken. Increase speed to high and beat until stiff peaks form. Frost cake, then top with additional cookies, if desired.

Courtesy of Confessions of a Cookbook Queen

This entry was posted in Callie!, Envy, Food Picture (No Recipe), Individual Workouts, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Add One Dynamic Stretch and Girls’ Night (Recipe: Banana Pudding Layer Cake)

  1. Pingback: My Last Long Run of Pocatello Training! (Recipe: Chocolate Chip Sweetened Condensed Milk Cookies) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

