Early Morning Runs #NYCMarathon #11weekstogo (Recipe: Breakfast Blueberry Oatmeal Cakes)

And this is one of the reasons I wake up early to run:

IMG_6009[1]

Because even when it is hot and humid, you still have the chance to see a beautiful sunrise and the feeling of a new day.  No matter what happened the day before, you have yet another opportunity to start fresh.

And by 7:30am you can have your workout over for the day and 24,000 steps on your Fitbit.  Haha.

On Thursday, I ran 14 miles.  It’s been nice getting my long runs over with during the week so I don’t have to stress about them on the weekend.  I ran the first 8 miles myself and then met up with Shawn at Shelley Lake to run the last 6.  I love being able to run with someone else.  It makes the miles go by soooo much faster.  And just like with my 12 mile long run from last week, the last 6 miles were negative splits.  Shawn pushes me (in a good way) when I probably wouldn’t push myself.

It was more hot and more humid for the 14-miler than the 12-miler, so my overall pace was a bit slower, but still fast enough that I was pleased with it.

And I totally splurged and had this for breakfast:

IMG_5996

It has been the first time since May that I’ve had Chic-Fil-A, and I live 3 miles away from one!  I pass it on my way to work and on my way home every day!  But the last time I had Chic-Fil-A was when A visited for the Atlanta wedding the day I arrived in Raleigh!  Crazy, right??

And I got my Ava t-shirt in the mail!  Remember how I ran the Disney half-marathon carrying the signs for her?  Well, they had t-shirts made to help support her fight against leukemia, so of course I bought one!

IMG_5945

And did I ever show you what I did to my phone?  Yeah…it was about time for a new one anyway…

July_phone

Food for Thought:  Many people hugely underestimate the amount of sugar in fruit juice, some by as much as 550%, according to The Lancet Diabetes & Endocrinology.  Apple juice, for example, contains about the same amount of sugar per cup (roughly 6 teaspoons) as a soft drink.

Quote of the Day:

“A man on foot will see more, feel more, enjoy more in one mile than the motorized tourists can in a hundred miles.” -Edward Abbey

So, I made these Breakfast Blueberry Oatmeal Cakes as a healthy morning snack for when I’m at the office during the week.  I also brought some of the extras into the office for my coworkers.  My one coworker described them perfectly:  “They are a fabulous Thursday morning snack.  Now, if it was Saturday morning, give me the blueberry muffin with the crumble topping and the stick of butter in it.”  I couldn’t have said it better myself!

Blueberry Oatmeal Cakes

Breakfast Blueberry Oatmeal Cakes

Ingredients

– 2 ½ cups old fashioned rolled oats

– 1 ½ cups low-fat milk (or non dairy substitute)

– 1 large egg, lightly beaten

– 1/3 cup pure maple syrup

– 2 tbsp canola oil

– 1 tsp vanilla extract

– 1 heaping tsp ground cinnamon

– 1 tsp baking powder

– ¼ tsp salt

– ¾ cup fresh or frozen blueberries

Directions

1. Combine oats and milk in a large bowl. Cover and let soak in the refrigerator until much of the liquid is absorbed at least 8 hours and up to 12 hours.
2. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Coat a 12-cup nonstick muffin tin with cooking spray.
3. Stir egg, maple syrup, oil, vanilla, cinnamon, baking powder, and salt into the soaked oats until well combined. Divide the mixture among the muffin cups (about ¼ cup each). Top each with 1 tbsp of blueberries.
4. Bake the oatmeal cakes until the spring back when touched, 25 to 30 minutes. Let cool in the pan for 10 minutes. Loosen and remove with a paring knife. Serve warm.

Courtesy of Patty Warren

This entry was posted in Individual Workouts, Nutrition, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

