Last Saturday’s Long Run #NYCMarathon #12weekstogo (Recipe: Pasta with Basil, Tomatoes and Avocado Sauce)

Last Saturday A and I ran 11 miles.  Pretty much in the middle of the day.  We finished at noon which is not the prime time to be finishing a long run.  But let me back up a little.

I was supposed to get into Milwaukee at 5:30pm on Friday.  I left work early.  Got through security easy peasy.  Then wham.  A huge thunderstorm hit Atlanta (the city I was connecting through).  Atlanta called a ground stop.  My 2:45pm flight was delayed until 3pm.  Then 4pm.  Then 4:30pm.  Then 5pm.  We finally boarded and had wheels in the air at 6:21pm.  Fun stuff.  I stood in the gigantic rebooking line twice because I obviously missed my connection, but then because we were delayed so much I missed the connection I was rebooked on.  Or so I thought.

I arrived to complete mayhem in Atlanta.  The airport was worse than if you were traveling during the holidays.  Chaos everywhere.  When I landed A texted me that my original 4:55pm flight out of ATL to MKE had been delayed and hadn’t left yet!  However, I was technically no longer booked on that flight.  Of course, we arrived in Terminal B and the connecting flight was in Terminal T.  I ran.  Running in an airport is much more difficult when there are hoards of people just meandering about because their flights have been delayed 4 hours.  I got to the gate and they could put me on standby.  I was 3rd on the list.

This flight was delayed again.  This is when I broke my fast of sweets and bought M&Ms.  They ended up clearing about 20 people for standby because the flight was pretty much empty since everyone had rebooked to other flights not knowing it was going to be delayed.  I finally arrived in MKE at 10:30pm.  (Which is really 11:30pm Eastern time and which is past my bedtime.)

By the time we got home, I fell asleep exhausted and we didn’t wake up until nearly 9am!  Hence, the late start on the run the next morning.

But the run actually went pretty swimmingly for me!  A isn’t used to running in the morning without hydrating all day, so the run didn’t go so swell for him.  At one point I was ahead of him and a high schooler made fun of him for being behind me.  But when you are getting negative splits the last 4 miles of a LR, it’s hard for your running buddy to catch up!  We had averaged 8:42s for the first 7 miles and then my mile times for the last 4 miles were:

Mile 8 – 8:39

Mile 9 – 8:30

Mile 10 – 8:28

Mile 11 – 8:11

Heck yes!  Maybe the iron supplements are working!  I was super pleased with the run!

Then we met Kim and Z for brunch at Blue’s Egg.  Then I napped for over an hour.  I woke up completely dehydrated and was not in the mood for the State Fair, but I rallied!  And we met up with A’s brother and sister-in-law and one of her friends at the Wisconsin State Fair which we later found out had over 137,000 visitors that Saturday!  Holy mackerel!  After watching the dog agility demonstration, we headed for the main event:  Cream Puffs.  The Wisconsin State Fair is known for their cream puffs and they sold over 400,000 of them this year which is a record for them!  We contributed by buying 4!  DELICIOUS!  But to be honest, I only had half of one–I split with A’s sister-in-law.

IMG_5834 IMG_5835 IMG_5838 IMG_5842 IMG_5843 IMG_5848                                  IMG_5854 IMG_5856

We tried all the flavors of milk:  Root Beer, Birthday Cake, Chocolate, Strawberry, Fruit Hoops.  Chocolate was the only one I liked.

IMG_5858

We went down the giant slide which was awesome!  We had chocolate covered cookie dough and I had a brat for dinner (A had sliced lamb).

IMG_5860

And we finished the night with the Lady Antebellum concert!  They put on an amazing show!  We had a blast!

10538640_844740491404_8170848831713679421_n IMG_5832

Sunday consisted of breakfast at Bruegger’s Bagels, walking in Three Bridges Park, visiting Leo (A’s brother and sister-in-law’s adorable pup!) and walking along the lakefront before I had to head home.  The trip seemed ridiculously short.  19 days between this last visit and our next one.  (Not that I’m counting or anything.)

IMG_5881

It was a fabulous weekend filled with lots of amazing friends and fun memories!

Hopefully, my 12-miler tomorrow will go just as well as the 11 did on Saturday!  (We have flyball all weekend, so I have to squeeze my LR in during the week this week!)  Fingers crossed!

Quote of the Day:

“As a breed, runners are a pretty gutsy bunch.  We constantly push ourselves to discover limitations, then push past them.” -Bart Yasso

In terms of recipes, I wasn’t a fan.  I was trying to be healthy, and I had never tried a Runner’s World recipe before, but this pasta just didn’t do it for me.

Pasta with Basil, Tomatoes and Avocado Sauce

Pasta with Basil, Tomatoes and Avocado Sauce

Ingredients

– 12 ounces pasta

– 2 cups cherry tomatoes, halved

– 1/4 teaspoon salt

– 1 tablespoon EVOO

– 1/2 cup packed fresh basil leaves, chopped (from Shawn’s garden!!)

– 2 avocados, halved and pitted

– 3 large garlic cloves, chopped

– 1/4 cup lemon juice

– 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

– 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Directions

– Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil.  Add pasta and cook until just tender.  Remove from heat and reserve 1 cup cooking water.  Drain pasta, cover, and set aside.

– In a bowl, add tomatoes and sprinkle with 1/4 teaspoon salt.  Add oil and basil.  Toss to coat.  Set aside.

– Scoop avocado into empty pasta pot.  Mash with a potato masher.  Add garlic and lemon juice.  Stir to combine.  Whisk pasta water in, creating a light sauce.  Stir in pasta and tomato mixture to coat.

– Top with cheese and black pepper.

Courtesy of Runner’s World

This entry was posted in Food Picture (No Recipe), Individual Workouts, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Last Saturday’s Long Run #NYCMarathon #12weekstogo (Recipe: Pasta with Basil, Tomatoes and Avocado Sauce)

  1. Pingback: Strike 2 for Ken. (Recipe: Easy Summer Shrimp Boil) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

