126 Hours with No Sweets (Recipe: Pistachio Crusted Asparagus)

I made it 126 hours with no sweets!

From 3:30pm on August 3rd until 9:30pm on August 8th.  I can’t remember the last time I went that long without sweets.  Some days were harder than others!  And I broke the sweet fast with M&Ms.  Yep.  I craved some chocolate like whoa.  And I got my fair share of sweets on Saturday when I went to the Wisconsin State Fair.

I am going to try to consume sweets less often, though.  I wasn’t bad on Sunday–one half of a chocolate covered graham cracker.  Today wasn’t so good.  I’ll try to be better tomorrow.

We have our last INSANITY Fit Test tomorrow!  And we take all of our measurements again.  According to my scale at home I have lost over 1% body fat since the San Diego Marathon.  Progress!  But there is still plenty of work to be done!  Anyhow, here are my Fit Test results from last week since I forgot to post them:

IMG_5704

And another week of training is done.  Last week I ran 35.16 miles (remember–it is high because I did my previous long run on Sunday instead of Saturday), rode 8.07 miles and swam 1300 meters.  That is the farthest swim I have ever done!  That is the equivalent of 0.807 miles! I know that doesn’t sound far, but for people who aren’t really swimmers it is!

Today I did Boot Camp.  It was an okay class.  It was no INSANITY, that’s for sure.

Food for Thought:  Choose strawberries instead of watermelon.  Strawberries have nearly three times the fiber and they have less sugar than watermelon.  Plus, they’re loaded with vitamin C and folate.  In general, berries are the most nutritious fruit.  I bought strawberries at the store today for my snack for the next few days!

Quote of the Day:

“Be patient and persistent.  Life is not so much what you accomplish as what you overcome.” -Robin Roberts

So, this was delicious.  I’m a huge fan.  How can you go wrong with pistachios, asparagus and feta?  You really can’t.  I definitely recommend that you try this as a side dish!

Pistachio-Crusted Asparagus

Pistachio Crusted Asparagus

Ingredients

For the Asparagus:

– 2 pounds large asparagus

– 1/4 cup olive oil

– 1 cup shelled roasted and unsalted pistachios

– 1 scant teaspoon sea salt

– 1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese

For the Vinaigrette:

– 1/4 cup olive oil

– 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

– 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar

– 1 tablespoon honey

– pinch of sea salt

– several grinds of black pepper

Directions

– Place a rack in the upper third of the oven and preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

– Rinse the asparagus and cut about an inch off of the stem ends.  Pat the asparagus dry.

– Place the asparagus on a baking sheet in a single layer.  Bake for about 5 minutes to dry the asparagus completely.  Remove from the oven and drizzle with olive oil.  Toss to coat.

– Crush the pistachios in a food processor fitted with a blade attachment.  If you don’t have a food processor, you can crush the pistachios in a sealed plastic bag using a hammer or kitchen mallet.  Grind until fine.  Transfer nuts to a small bowl and stir in salt.  If your nuts are salted, use half the amount of salt.

– Arrange the asparagus in a single layer.  Generously spoon the pistachio mixture over the asparagus.  Flip the asparagus and cover the other side in remaining pistachio.

– Place in the oven and bake for 10 to 15 minutes, until tender through.  Remove from the oven and allow to cool slightly.

– To make the vinaigrette, in a small jar or bowl, whisk together all of the ingredients.  Drizzle over the roasted asparagus just before serving.  Top with feta and serve slightly warm or at room temperature.

Courtesy of Joy the Baker

This entry was posted in Individual Workouts, Nutrition, Recipes, Swimming, Weekly Workouts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 126 Hours with No Sweets (Recipe: Pistachio Crusted Asparagus)

  1. Pingback: Quick Book Review: House Rules by Jodi Picoult (Recipe: Peach Cheesecake) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

