15,000 Fitbit Steps by 9am (Recipe: Parmesan-Roasted Potatoes)

That’s what happens when you are training for a marathon.  I had a 9-miler today, and soon after I finished my run I hit 15,000 steps on the Fitbit.  Nothing like hitting your step goal so early in the morning!

The run was okay.  I was a little slower than last week’s long run, but the run was hillier, warmer, more humid and I was by myself.  So, I was expecting it to be.  I still averaged under 9 minute miles, so I was pleased.  I need to find more running routes around here, though.  I guess it is time to get a little more adventurous!

After the run, I was super productive today.  I realized yesterday that this is my last “free” weekend until mid-November (crazy, right??), so I tried to get things done:

– Swept, vacuumed and dusted the house

– 2 loads of laundry

– Changed the sheets on the bed

– Mowed the front and backyards

– Car wash

– Coldstone Creamery (I had a BOGO coupon that expires tomorrow)

– Took the pups on a walk

– Frisbee with Callie

– Hit Its with Envy

– Finished Season 10 of Grey’s Anatomy

– Swept the Front Porch

– Cleaned the Kitchen

– Organized my Desk

– Cooked Parmesan-Roasted Potatoes

– Baked Banana Crumb Cake

Productive, eh??  And tomorrow is a full day starting with flyball practice in the morning to get the girls ready for the tournament in Cary in three weeks.

Last night, a group of us went to watch Gravity at the NC Museum of Art Summer Movie Series where you get to watch a movie on the big screen under the stars!  It was like a drive-in movie but better because we got to picnic first (Amanda brought an awesome spread!), we bought bottles of wine and got to chat for an hour and a half before the movie started.  And it was packed!  I was surprised at the number of people that showed up, but we got there early so we had great seats!  And the movie was intense!  I really enjoyed it!

IMG_5681[1] IMG_5682[1] IMG_5683[1]IMG_5678[1]

Quote of the Day:

“Obstacles don’t have to stop you.  If you run into a wall, don’t turn around and give up.  Figure out how to climb it, go through it, or work around it.” -Michael Jordan

So, here is the recipe for the Parmesan-Roasted Potatoes I made this evening.  They were good, but I think I’d cut the potatoes smaller next time.

Parmesan Roasted Potatoes

Parmesan-Roasted Potatoes

Ingredients

  • 3 pounds baby Yukon Gold potatoes, halved
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • Kosher salt, freshly ground pepper
  • 4 ounces finely grated Parmesan
  • 3/4 cup chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 1 teaspoon finely grated lemon zest
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

Directions

– Place a rack in upper third of oven; preheat to 400°F.

– Toss potatoes and oil in a large bowl; season with salt and pepper. Place potatoes, cut side up, on a wire rack set inside a rimmed baking sheet; reserve bowl. Roast until golden brown and cooked through, 30–35 minutes.

– Transfer to bowl; toss with Parmesan. Return potatoes to rack and roast until Parmesan is brown and crisp, 10–12 minutes.

– Toss potatoes in same bowl with parsley and lemon juice. Top with lemon zest just before serving.

Courtesy of Bon Appetit

This entry was posted in Individual Workouts, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

