2,000 Lifetime Miles and Cloud Fitbit Badges Post-Athens (Recipe: Chocolate Chip Cookie Brownie Bars)

In the last 4 days I have achieved two new Fitbit “badges”!  Basically, Fitbit keeps track of total steps, mileage, stairs, etc.

Well, according to Fitbit, I have taken 2,000 miles worth of steps since I got my Fitbit right before the new year!  That’s a lot of miles!  And I know for a fact that it is an underestimate.  Remember when I ran my marathon (which we all know is 26.2 miles), but Fitbit said I only ran approximately 20 or 21 miles?  Yeah…it is a little off.  Probably because I haven’t calibrated my stride length.  Not to mention that my walking stride length and my running stride length are probably different anyway.  In either case, I’ve walked over 2,000 miles!

And a couple of days ago I earned the “Cloud” badge.  The Cloud badge signifies that I’ve climbed 8,000 floors worth of stairs since I started with the Fitbit!  That’s a lot of stairs!  Or hills while running because sometimes Fitbit counts the hills I run as stairs which I am perfectly fine with.

Both of these badges came following a weekend where I spent a lot of time on my feet.  Last weekend I was in Athens, Georgia playing flyball with my girlies.  Well, Callie got to play flyball and Envy got to work on her retrieving skills in the hallway and get loved on by DGF members.  Cheryl and I ran on open teams with DGF and had a blast!

I rode down with Mandy and her pup Monty.  Thank goodness for driving company!  I’m not sure I would have made it otherwise!  And I definitely wouldn’t have made it back home!  Flyball weekends are exhausting!

IMG_5469

Cheryl and I roomed together and went for dinner at the Melting Point which had an awesome band.  I took video, but alas, I can post videos to my blog.  The food was delicious, though!  I ate every bite as we jammed out to “The Twist” and “My Girl”.

IMG_5471 IMG_5472 photo 1 photo 2

Bright and early before racing the next morning, I went for a short run around Athens.  I found a couple of dogs who wanted to join in on our flyball fun!

IMG_5502 IMG_5518 IMG_5485 IMG_5486

In addition to racing, the host team put on a scavenger hunt for all of us!  So, pretty much whenever we weren’t racing, we were hunting down our items!  Pictures in firetrucks and with live bull dogs and of double-barreled cannons were not beyond us!  And it paid off because DGF tied for 1st place!

IMG_5537  photo 5

IMG_5531 cheryl bulldog

We ate awesome food.

IMG_5543 IMG_5553

IMG_5540

I got to run two new dogs–Sienna and Fly.  Sweethearts!

sienna

We had tired pups.

IMG_5544 IMG_5545 IMG_5546 IMG_5547 IMG_5555

I got to play with puppies.

IMG_5535 trinity

I got to hang out with an amazing friend for the weekend.

IMG_5524 team dinner                                  IMG_5525 IMG_5539

And we had so much fun with DGF!  They are an awesome team!  (That is me box-loading.)

IMG_5549 DGF

Food for Thought:  Eggs.  Eggs contain all the essential amino acids, making them a complete protein.  They make a stick-to-you breakfast because the protein keeps your blood sugar from spiking and then crashing and causing hunger.  Studies show that eating eggs for breakfast can help you lose more weight than eating the same number of calories from carbs.

Quote of the Day:

“Lack of activity destroys the good condition of every human being, while movement and methodical physical exercise save it and preserve it.” -Plato

So, I made these Chocolate Chip Cookie Brownie Bars for the flyball tournament.  Delicious.  I have made them several times before, so I knew they would turn out well.  Although, it turns out that even though the tupperware container started out with a 9×13 pan of these bars in them, Amanda only got the very last one and her husband Geoff did not get any at all!!  I’m still amazed at how that is possible.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Brownie Bars

Chocolate Chip Cookie Brownie Bars

Ingredients

– 1 cup butter, softened

– 1 1/2 cups firmly packed brown sugar

– 4 large eggs, divided

– 2 cups AP flour

– 1 teaspoon baking soda

– 1/2 teaspoon salt

– 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

– 1 box brownie mix

– 1/3 cup vegetable oil

– 1/4 cup water

Directions

– Preheat oven to 350*. Line a 9×13 inch baking pan with foil and spray.
– In a large bowl, beat butter and brown sugar at medium-high speed until fluffy. Add 2 eggs.
– Gradually add dry ingredients until a soft dough forms. Stir in chocolate chips.
– In another bowl, combine brownie mix, oil, water and two eggs. Beat until blended. Add chocolate chips.
– Spread 1/2 to 3/4 of cookie dough into the prepared pan. Pour brownie mixture over the dough and top with the remaining cookie dough. Using a knife, swirl mixtures together.
– Bake for 40 minutes or until edges pull away from the sides of the pan.
– Let cool in the pan for 1 hour. Cut into bars.

This entry was posted in Food Picture (No Recipe), Nutrition, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2,000 Lifetime Miles and Cloud Fitbit Badges Post-Athens (Recipe: Chocolate Chip Cookie Brownie Bars)

  1. Pingback: Your Body Running an Ultra (Recipe: Mushroom, Onion and Mozzarella Frittata) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

  2. Pingback: Did You Know? (Recipe: Scrambled Egg Muffins) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

  3. Pingback: Running Through the Airport. Again. | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

