$3,850. Nearly $1,000 Over My Goal. (Recipe: Cheesecake Swirl Brownies)

So, I got a $400 donation to my Team In Training event the other day.  It was completely unexpected and totally heartwarming.

That puts me at a total of $3,850 in fundraising.  My original goal was $2,900.  That is nearly $1,000 over my goal!

Someone suggested that I sign up for another TNT event and use the money to kick start my new fundraising campaign.  While I know I want to do another event, I’m not quite ready to fund-raise again.  Not yet.  Maybe I’ll choose a fall 2015 event or something.  Only time will tell.  I am so thankful for all of the support I have had over the last 6 months with regard to the San Diego event.  I know my grandmother is proud of me.

On a similar note, I tried to donate blood at work on Thursday.  Donating is important to me.  I worked out in the morning so that I would be ready.  I had Shawn’s exhibition Thursday night which would prevent me from working out in the evening.  But my iron was too low!  The first hemoglobin reading was 12.0 and my second was 11.7.  You need to have 12.5 to donate.  I have been anemic in the past which prevented me from donating for a couple of years, but this is the first time I’ve been turned away since then.  I guess it is back to iron supplements for me!

Oh!  And my BP was 90/70!  I am known to have low blood pressure, but I can’t remember the last time it was this low!  This crazy body of mine!

And Shawn’s exhibition was on Thursday!  It was a huge success!  She had an awesome turnout!  I am so excited for her!  Here are some pictures from the event and check out her work at Earth Muffin Studio!

IMG_5386 IMG_5388 IMG_5389 IMG_5391

Instead of a Quote of the Day, here is what someone deemed the “Seven Cardinal Rules of Life”:

1.  Make peace with your past so it won’t screw up the present.

2. What others think of you is none of your business.

3. Time heals almost everything, give it time.

4. Don’t compare your life to others and don’t judge them.  You have no idea what their journey is all about.

5. Stop thinking too much.  It’s alright not to know the answers.  They will come to you when you least expect it.

6. No one is in charge of your happiness, except you.

7. Smile.  you don’t own all the problems in the world.

So, I think I only have 3 recipes left to post that I made while I was in Madison!!  Almost there!  Tonight let’s go with Cheesecake Swirl Brownies.  I thought I had a favorite cream cheese brownie recipe, but I realized that they were more “cake-like” and I want a more fudgy cream cheese brownie recipe, too.  I am a fan of fudgy brownies.  Anyway, these were pretty awesome.  They deserve a second try for sure.  And they beat out these Marbled Cream Cheese Brownies that I posted before:

Cream Cheese Marbled Chocolate Brownies (already on blog)

The recipe below won the bake-off for this round:

Cheesecake Swirl Brownies

Cheesecake Swirl Brownies

Ingredients

  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 6 ounces bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup plus 4 tablespoons granulated sugar, divided
  • 3 large eggs, divided
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract, divided
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup cocoa
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 8 ounces cream cheese, softened

Directions

  1. Adjust oven rack to middle position and preheat oven to 350°F. Grease 9- by 9-inch baking pan.
  2. In large bowl set over pan of simmering water, melt butter with chocolate until smooth. Remove from heat and whisk in salt, 3/4 cup sugar, 2 eggs, 1 teaspoon vanilla, and sour cream. Add flour, cocoa, and baking powder to the bowl and whisk until smooth. Drop blobs of batter into the pan. Do not spread.
  3. In another large bowl, stir cream cheese with remaining 4 tablespoons sugar until smooth with no lumps. Whisk in remaining teaspoon vanilla and remaining egg. Drop blobs of cheesecake batter into pan in any of the empty spots or crevices.

  4.  Using a butter knife or offset spatula, swirl batters together. Bake until just set, 20 to 25 minutes. Let cool in pan an hour. Cut into bars and serve.

Courtesy of shophousecook.com

This entry was posted in Food Picture (No Recipe), Recipes, Team In Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

