The Coconut Classic (Recipe: Blueberry Buckle, Shortening-Based)

So, a week ago today I was in York, PA for the 2014 Coconut Classic.

The Coconut Classic is a flyball tournament.  Probably the largest flyball tournament hosted by a single club.  It had 4 racing lanes.  It was crazy!

Last Friday, Ashley and I made the 7.5 hour drive up to York.  With 3 BCs.

IMG_5303

Callie got beautified for the event.

IMG_5296 IMG_5297                                                                                          IMG_5300

It took us 7.5 hours because we wanted to avoid DC and I-95, so we took the longer route in hopes of not sitting in traffic.  It worked!  We arrived just in time for Envy’s SDR (single dog racing) slot!  I ran this tournament with DGF (Dog Gone Fast)–a local flyball club in Raleigh.  And Geoff and Ashley were great with helping me out at SDR!

I was so proud of my merlie girlie!  She did fantastic with her runbacks over 7-inch jumps!  Especially once we figured out that a tug was easier for her to see than her frisbee!  And with tonnnnns of distractions!  I wish I could upload video so that you could see!

Then we set up our crating area (which is huge when you have 120+ teams!) and went to dinner with some of the team which was needed after such a long drive!

THEN I got to see Cheryl and Michaela!  Callie was soooooo excited to see them that she peed on Michaela’s bed (and a little bit on Michaela) and on Cheryl’s bed.  Yeah, she has excited pee.  She has always had it and she always will.  We usually know to control it by having her meet people outside or not being as exciting when people greet her, but we all kind of forgot about it.  However, Cheryl and Michaela were AWESOME sports about it.  (And, yes, we called room service to bring new bedding.)  Can you tell that Callie loves hotel rooms?

IMG_5327 IMG_5329

I hadn’t seen Trish since CanAm in October and because she had taken my cake carrier with her to bring the birthday cake I made her home, she returned it filled with DELICIOUS cupcakes!  I’m sure you can guess what the 3 of us splurged on Friday night.  And the pups wanted some, too!  Soooo yummy.

IMG_5317 IMG_5323                                  IMG_5318 IMG_5319

We definitely stayed up too late chatting, but I love hanging with these girls, so it was totally worth it!

Saturday and Sunday were both crazy days of racing flyball!

IMG_5345

DGF was running 5 of our own teams and helping out another team as well–so in effect, we were racing 6 teams which gets pretty crazy when there are 4 lanes.  You are almost always racing, on deck or in the hole.  I literally walked over a half-marathon in distance (according to the step counts on my Fitbit) each day.  I’m not kidding.  We were on our feet walking and running around that much!

When there are huge tournaments like this it is so much fun to see and catch up with people that you rarely get to see.  And since this was our first East Coast tournament since my move, it was perfect!

IMG_5336

Fur Fun does a great job on making the tournament one of camaraderie–there is a contest for best themed team and costumes.  They give out a good sportsmanship award.  They create the “Dream Team” of dogs at the end of the tournament.  It really is a fantastic event.

Although, I will say I got a little nervous when on Sunday morning they had to stop racing in one of the lanes because of a maintenance issue–if it hadn’t gotten fixed, we could have been there forever on Sunday!  And Ashley and I didn’t get back to my place until 10:30pm as it was!

But I had an absolute blast running with DGF over the weekend.  And can you tell that my girls had fun, too?  Exhausted!

IMG_5351

And this was Callie before her last race of the day.  Can you say happy??

IMG_5363

Thanks for a great event, Fur Fun!  And a big thanks to DGF for letting my LRD run with them!  We had a blast!

Quote of the Day:

“The best work never was and never will be done for money.” -John Ruskin

In terms of baked goods that I took to the event, I have already posted the Flourless Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe (those cookies went fast!) and the first Blueberry Buckle recipe.  This was the second Blueberry Buckle recipe that was shortening and milk-based rather than butter-based.  I loooved the topping of this buckle, but I think I would combine it with the cake of the first.  I had a couple other people agree with me!

Blueberry Buckle - MBA DSC_4197

Blueberry Buckle, Shortening-Based

Ingredients

For the Cake:

– 2 cups all-purpose flour

– 2 teaspoons baking powder

– 1/2 teaspoon salt

– 1 teaspoon cinnamon

– 3/4 cup sugar

– 1/4 cup shortening

– 1 large egg

– 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

– 1/2 cup whole milk

– 2 cups fresh blueberries

For the Streusel Topping:

– 1/3 cup all-purpose flour

– 1/3 cup packed light brown sugar

– 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

– 1/4 teaspoon salt

– 3 tablespoons cold unsalted butter, diced

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 375°F. Spray an 8×8 inch pan with non-stick cooking spray. I use coconut oil spray from Trader Joe’s. See note below regarding the Lodge cast iron pans seen in the images.

2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, and cake spice. Set aside.

3. In a large bowl with an electric mixer on medium speed, combine sugar and shortening and mix until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add egg and vanilla, mixing until thoroughly combined. Reduce mixer speed to low and slowly add dry ingredients alternating with the milk to the sugar mixture – mixing until just combined. Fold in blueberries. Spoon batter into prepared pan.

4. Make the Streusel Topping: In a medium bowl, combine flour, brown sugar, cake spice and salt. With your hands, work in butter pieces, until small clumps form. Spread topping evenly over batter.

5. Bake for 25-30 minutes.

Courtesy of My Baking Addiction

This entry was posted in Callie!, Envy, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

