3-Miler on Furman’s Campus (Recipe: Blueberry Buckle, Butter-Based)

Two weekends ago I went back to Furman for the wedding of my little-est in my Chi Omega family.  (Jordan was a freshman when I was a senior.)  It was awesome.  And, boy, time has flown.

IMG_5248 IMG_5249 IMG_5250

Anthony flew into the GSP airport (which is undergoing some major renovations and is much larger than when I was in school) Friday night.

Saturday morning we woke up to absolutely gorgeous weather in Greenville.  After a light breakfast at the hotel, we meandered around the Greenville Farmer’s Market which I hadn’t been to in ages.  You know me and my farmer’s markets!!

IMG_5251 IMG_5256

Then we decided to go on a run through Furman’s campus so Anthony could see where I spent 4 of the most formative years of my life.  Of course we chose to do this around 11:30am when it was super warm outside, but that is neither here nor there.

Furman’s campus is very different from UW Madison (where A went to school).  First of all, it is a closed campus and is about a 15 minute drive from downtown.  But every time I am there, I am reminded of how absolutely beautiful campus is even in 90* temperatures.

We started at the PAC (Furman is famous for all of its acronyms) and made our way around the lake where Anthony made note of the disc golf course and asked absurd questions about jet skiing and canoeing on our lake. 🙂  (The lake is quite small for anyone who hasn’t been to Furman.)

IMG_5265IMG_5258

Then we stopped at the Bell Tower (Furman’s iconic landmark).  We climbed as far up as we could go (which wasn’t very far), and then proceeded to look for my brick on the pathway.  (If you donated your housing deposit to Furman upon graduation you received a brick and a promise that Furman wouldn’t contact you asking for money for 5 years.)  After awhile of searching, we found it!

IMG_5260

And of course I had to point out all the other names of people I knew.  Here are a few others I took pictures of:

IMG_5262 IMG_5263 IMG_5264

Then we made our way to the upperclassmen on-campus apartments (both B and G where I lived junior and senior years) and across the bridge to where my freshman dorm was.  We ran around the Lakeside Fountain and past the political science and business buildings (where I had most of my classes) and the library and dining facility.  Then we ran down the mall (my absolute favorite when all of the trees are in bloom) back to the PAC.

I had so much fun showing Anthony around even though (to the dismay of my mother) we didn’t make it to the bookstore.  I’ll buy him an FU hat or t-shirt next time I’m in town.

After our run we had lunch at one of my favorite sandwich shops and then it was time for Jordan’s wedding!  The wedding was gorgeous.  The bride and groom were gorgeous.  The reception venue was gorgeous.  The weather was gorgeous.  It was just a beautiful celebration.  I am so grateful that I got to be a part of it.  The reception was held at Wyche Pavilion along the river, and it was a beautiful evening for an outdoor reception.  The food was delicious and the wedding cakes were from my absolute favorite restaurant in Greenville–Brick Street Cafe–and, yes, there were multiple cakes–two types of chocolate, a vanilla and sweet potato (which is one of my favs!).  The band was phenomenal and we had so much fun dancing (A and I practiced the push-pull that we learned in our dance lessons!) until it was time to send this amazing couple off!

IMG_4584

IMG_4585 IMG_4583

Sunday was a lazy day.  We brunched at Tupelo Honey which came widely recommended to us.

IMG_5271 IMG_5272 IMG_5273

Then we walked around Reedy River Park and hung out on a swinging bench watching families celebrating Father’s Day.

IMG_4586 IMG_4588

And last but not least we went to my ALL TIME FAVORITE ice-cream shop:  Spill the Beans.

IMG_5274

And of course some snapshots of the girls while I was gone:

IMG_5266 IMG_5267 IMG_5276

It was such a wonderful and much needed weekend.  18 days from the Greenville trip until my trip to Milwaukee for the 4th of July (now it’s down to 10 days)…not that I’m counting or anything… 🙂

Food for Thought:  Green beans.  One cup of cooked green beans has nearly 1 mg iron–almost as much as a 3-ounce portion of steak.

Quote of the Day:

“If you can run a half [marathon], you can run a full.  The question is, Why would you want to?” -Greg Meyer, 1983 Boston Marathon winner

So, in my last post I mentioned going to the Coconut Classic flyball tournament last weekend.  I will get more into the weekend in another post, but I ended up making TWO different Blueberry Buckle recipes for the event in addition to the Flourless Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies.  Because how can you compare two different Blueberry Buckle recipes unless you try a piece from each at the same time?  Exactly.  This was the first one that I made.  I was a HUGE fan of the cake portion of this recipe.  All butter-based, of course.  I’m surprised it’s not a Paula Deen recipe!  However, I liked the topping on the other buckle better.  Next time I will try to combine the two…

Blueberry Buckle - BEB DSC_4182

Blueberry Buckle, Butter-Based

Ingredients

For the Topping:
½ cup all-purpose flour
½ cup light brown sugar
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon
Pinch of salt
¼ cup unsalted butter, softened, cut into 8 pieces

For the Cake:
1½ cups all-purpose flour
1½ teaspoons baking powder
10 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
⅔ cup granulated sugar
½ teaspoon salt
1½ teaspoons vanilla extract
2 eggs, at room temperature
4 cups (20 ounces) fresh blueberries

Directions

1. Make the Topping: With an electric mixer, combine the flour, sugars, cinnamon, and salt on low speed until well combined, about 45 seconds. Add the butter and continue to mix on low speed until the mixture resembles wet sand and no large butter pieces remain, about 2½ minutes. Transfer to a small bowl and set aside.

2. Make the Cake: Adjust oven rack to lower-middle position and preheat oven to 350*. Grease a round 9-inch cake pan, line the bottom of the pan with parchment, grease the parchment, then flour the inside of the pan.

3. In a small bowl, whisk together the flour and baking powder; set aside. Using an electric mixer, cream together the butter, sugar and salt at medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes, scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed. Add the vanilla and beat until combined, about 30 seconds. Reduce the mixer speed to medium, then add eggs one at a time; beat for 5 to 10 seconds, then scrape down bowl and continue to beat until fully incorporated (mixture will appear broken). Reduce the mixer speed to low, then gradually add the flour mixture and beat until the flour is almost fully incorporated, about 20 seconds. Use a rubber spatula to finish mixing until no flour pockets remain (the batter will be very heavy and thick). Using the rubber spatula, gently fold blueberries into the batter until evenly distributed.

4. Transfer batter to prepared pan; use an offset spatula to gently spread the batter evenly to the pan edges and smooth the surface. Squeeze a handful of the streusel in your hand to form a large cohesive clump; break up the clump with your fingers and sprinkle evenly over batter. Repeat with remaining streusel.

5. Bake until the top is deep golden brown and a thin knife inserted into center of the cake comes out clean, about 55 minutes. Place on a wire rack for 20 minutes (the cake will fall slightly as it cools).

6. Run a thin knife around the sides of cake. Invert the cake, then peel off the parchment from the bottom of the cake and discard. Turn the cake right-side-up onto a cooling rack or serving dish. Allow to cool for at least 1 hour. Serve warm or at room temperature. Leftovers can be stored at room temperature, in an airtight container or wrapped in plastic wrap, for up to 2 days.

Adapted from Brown-Eyed Baker

This entry was posted in Callie!, Envy, Food Picture (No Recipe), Individual Workouts, Nutrition, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 3-Miler on Furman’s Campus (Recipe: Blueberry Buckle, Butter-Based)

  1. Pingback: The Coconut Classic (Recipe: Blueberry Buckle, Shortening-Based) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

