Pre-Race and Post-Race Shenanigans (Recipe: White Chocolate Brownies)

So, I told you all about Meb.  But what I don’t think I mentioned was that I got to see Meb TWICE on Saturday!  But let me back up.

After the run in the morning, Anthony and I hung around Balboa Park until Lisa picked us up.  (Lisa has one of Envy’s brothers–Java.)

IMG_5087 IMG_4840

She then took us to the farmer’s market in Little Italy which was so much fun.  And the citrus is absolutely amazing.  Everything is so fresh!   And I just love farmer’s markets in general!  I did get a little sunburned.  Oops!

IMG_5088 IMG_5092

We had lunch at a delicious Italian place, and Anthony was very good about reminding me to be careful about what I ate so I wouldn’t have stomach issues during the marathon.  What a good boyfriend I have. 🙂

Then Anthony and I went to the Expo.  It was HUGE.  And it was probably the least amount of time I have ever spent at an Expo and one of the only times I didn’t buy something there!  Crazy, I know!  I made it out with my bib, gear check bag and a Mrs. Field’s cookie (so I did purchase something haha).

But we did take pictures:

IMG_4563 IMG_5103 IMG_4566 IMG_4567

One bib for my grandmother.  One bib for Ava.

Then we had to get cleaned up (we still hadn’t showered since we ran with Meb and Anthony had done his pre-shake-out run to make it to the shake-out run) and head to the Inspiration dinner.

IMG_5112

Because I trained with TNT, they have a big pre-race dinner on Saturday (pasta, of course) for all of us and they had speakers and announced top fundraisers.  Our Flex team consisting of 28 individuals raised over $112,000!  Isn’t that something??

One of the best speakers was a Runner’s World columnist who was absolutely hilarious.  And he was followed by the one and only MEB!  I’m serious!  TNT got Meb to speak at our dinner!

IMG_4568

He was fantastic.  Ridiculously inspirational.  I cried.  Yeah, I know.  I was a bit emotional at several points during the weekend.

Then the race happened.

And after I woke up from my nap on Sunday we decided it was our mission to find me food.  Anthony had eaten the rest of his pizza from the Italian place on Saturday but I had eaten nearly nothing after running 26.2 miles.  Other than some pistachios and pretzels I managed to keep down before falling asleep.

So, we found this bar and grill down the street and I ate this:

IMG_5139 IMG_5140

I had promised Ellie I would eat french fries after the race just like in Boston.  So there you have it!  French fries galore!  And BBQ Chicken pizza with Caesar salad.  Yum.

Then we decided to take the ferry over to Coronado which was actually really fun!  (Because my legs were sore, we took the really cool elevator that Anthony had been wanting to take all day Saturday in order to get to the ferry.)  And it was an absolutely gorgeous evening to be outside.

DSC_4862

IMG_5147 IMG_5149 IMG_5150 IMG_5141 IMG_5159

We walked around Coronado until Anthony realized I was getting significantly slower and we decided to stop for dessert:  Chocolate Covered Cheesecake on a Stick.  Need I say more?

IMG_5152 IMG_5154 IMG_5155

After taking the ferry back across, I was still hungry.  (Cut me some slack, I ran a whole bunch on Sunday.)  So we meandered through the Gas Lamp district to find the Ghirardelli shop and got a huge sundae to split.  DELISH.

IMG_5166DSC_4878

And the night was STILL not over after that.  We went to the hot tub at the hotel which was obviously filled with other marathon and half-marathon runners.  I think there were 9 of us in there all talking about our races.  One of the guys was a TNT coach and he said he put 31 miles on his GPS watch running his section of the course that day!  Holy crap!

And then Anthony bought me that drink he had promised me before the marathon.  We went up to the 40th floor of the hotel which was the hotel lounge so we could overlook San Diego while having our cocktails before passing out from exhaustion.

And those were our Saturday and Sunday pre- and post-race shenanigans.  Busy, eh?  I put over 60,000 steps on my Fitbit that day.  I’d say it was a busy one!

Quote of the Day:

1410683_262091313944999_2138700741_o

Totally me after the marathon.

So, I made these White Chocolate Brownies a couple of weeks ago (it was while I was in Raleigh!), and they were a hit!  It was the second time I made the recipe so into THE Cookbook they go!  They are pretty stellar.  You should probably give them a try.

White Chocolate Brownie

White Chocolate Brownies

Ingredients

– 1 1/2 cups white chocolate chips, divided

– 5 tbsp butter

– 2 eggs

– 1 cup granulated sugar

– 2 teaspoons vanilla

– 1 cup AP flour

– 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

– 1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350°
2. Spray a 9×9 pan with baking spray
3. In a medium saucepan combine butter and 3/4 cup white chocolate chips. Melt then together over low heat, stirring frequently to prevent from burning. When white chocolate is just melted, remove from heat and stir together with a fork or whisk, getting them incorporated as much as possible. The butter will separate from the white chocolate, so just do your best.
4. In a mixing bowl combine sugar, eggs and vanilla, beating until smooth. Pour in the white chocolate mixture and continue beating until smooth and combined.
5. Add the flour, baking powder and salt and stir until just incorporated.
6. Finally add in the remaining 3/4 cup white chocolate chips.
7. Spread in prepared pan and bake for 20-25 minutes until set.
8. Remove and allow to cool completely before cutting into squares.

This entry was posted in Food Picture (No Recipe), Races, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pre-Race and Post-Race Shenanigans (Recipe: White Chocolate Brownies)

  1. Pingback: Our Last Day in Sunny CA! (Recipe: Cinnamon Cupcakes) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

  2. Pingback: Bolder Boulder 10K (Recipe: Caramel Cake) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

