THE MOVE. (Recipe: Can’t Leave Alone Bars)

Oh my word.  So, it has pretty much been forever since I have posted.  At least I feel like a MILLION things have happened since I last posted about my surprise parties.  BTW, I forgot some pics!  My delicious Rocky Road Cookie Cake.  One of the cutest BCs ever (Diddles!)!  And my surprise sign!

IMG_4673 IMG_4677 IMG_4699

And while I am posting pictures from past posts, here are some more from Dirty Girl!  Yes, there was a giant slide.  And, yes, that is what Cheryl and I looked like after the final obstacle.

DGVV14NU00546 DGVV14NU00547 DGVV14NU00548 DGVV14VL00605                                   DGVV14JO00524_11051 DGVV14JO00531_11051

And here are some more of the girls from my apartment in Madison:

DSC_4740 DSC_4754 EndMarch_9mon March-9 month IMG_4439 IMG_4533                             IMG_4543 IMG_4547

What has happened since all these, you ask?  Well, I drove across the country.  I drove 16 hours 40 minutes in one day.  Wisconsin to Virginia.  It was insane.  A new PR for my longest solo driving distance.  And the girls came with me.  They are pretty much studs.  And when I saw the mountains, they took my breath away.  BTW, Callie sleeps in the strangest of positions while in the car.

IMG_4708 IMG_4710                                               IMG_4712 IMG_4714                                               IMG_4715 IMG_4719                                                                     IMG_4725

But we made it to Patty’s!

IMG_4726 IMG_4733

And I FINALLY get to go pick up my girls tomorrow!  I am soooo excited!  I can’t even tell you!  They have had an absolute blast, but I’m ready to have them home!  I’ll post pictures later to prove it!

So, I spent the night in VA and then drove the next morning directly to the RDU airport to pick up my other stud:

IMG_4753

He was going to help me move in, but my house wasn’t ready.

IMG_4747 IMG_4745

So, instead we got to take walks around the lake and hang out with these two fun pups (and their owners!) until we headed down to Atlanta.

IMG_4741 IMG_4743 IMG_4750 IMG_4794 IMG_4791

And, yes, after driving a total of 20 hours 40 minutes in two days across the country, A and I got in the car and A drove to Atlanta on Friday for Miss Tyler’s wedding!  We stopped at Chic-Fil-A (A’s first Chic-Fil-A experience!) and Cook Out to help pass the time.  Banana Pudding milkshakes are the only way to go.

IMG_4706 IMG_4754

Atlanta was a blast!  My sister lives there and my parents drove in so we toured the World of Coke and had dinner on Friday night and brunch on Saturday.

IMG_4453 IMG_4456 IMG_4457 IMG_4459 IMG_4766 IMG_4773 IMG_4775 IMG_4776

Then we had a great time at Tyler’s wedding, and it was so incredibly fun catching up with my sorority sisters!  And dancing!  There was a lot of dancing!

IMG_4487 IMG_4495                             IMG_4499 IMG_4781IMG_4460 IMG_4461                             IMG_4463 IMG_4477     IMG_4488 IMG_4505                            IMG_4491 IMG_4502                                                                          IMG_4503

Then Sunday morning after this delicious brunch, we drove back to Raleigh.  Some of the best french toast I’ve ever had?  I think so.

IMG_4783

And then A was back off to Madison super early Monday morning, and I was off to my first day on the new job.  The job is great!  Just over the last few days, I’ve started getting into the projects I’ll be working on.  I really like the topics–food reformulation costs that accompany the new nutrition labels and a project on food labeling costs and one on foodborne illness.  And then I will be working on proposals for several others!

And, finally, on May 7th I got to move in to my new house!!  Woohoo!  It is great!  I am almost finished unpacking.  Now, I just need more furniture.  And then on that Thursday I got these gorgeous flowers delivered to my front doorstep as a surprise from A:

IMG_4804 IMG_4805

He is the absolute best and most thoughtful guy ever!

So, life has been incredibly busy!

And that brings you all up to May 8th in my life.  This post is super long now, so I think I’ll stop here other than to say that I have been running.  My schedule has been a little off but I have been getting most of my miles in for San Diego!  And outside at that!

Quote of the Day:

“Your dog will be your greatest teacher if you allow him to be.” -Susan Garrett

And now that I am finally moved in and have most of my kitchen stuff put away, are you wondering what the first thing I made was??  Well, for Kyle’s birthday I made him these Can’t Leave Alone Bars.  They were a Blacksburg favorite when I was in grad school, and I never got around to making them in Madison.  But here they are!  Super easy and super delicious.

Can't Leave Alone Bars

Can’t Leave Alone Bars

Ingredients

– 1 white cake mix

– 1/3 cup vegetable oil

– 2 eggs

– 1/4 cup butter

– 1 can sweetened condensed milk

– 1 cup chocolate chips

Directions

– With a fork, combine together the cake mix, oil and eggs (the mixture will form a ball-like pizza dough). Pat half of the mixture into an ungreased 9×13 inch baking pan.
– Melt the butter, sweetened condensed milk and chocolate chips together. Pour over the cake mixture.
– Pat the rest of the dough flat and lay over the chocolate filling in pieces. Swirl together.
– Bake at 350* for 20 minutes.

This entry was posted in Callie!, Envy, Food Picture (No Recipe), Races, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to THE MOVE. (Recipe: Can’t Leave Alone Bars)

  1. Pingback: Too Much Running Won’t Kill You (Recipe: Fluffy Peanut Butter Chocolate Pie) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

