A Brick Workout (Recipe: Raisin Cookies)

I did one of my first brick workouts yesterday!

What is a “brick workout” you ask?

Well, a brick workout refers to the stacking of two disciplines during the same workout, one after the other with minimal to no interruption in between.  (A ride followed by a run.  A swim followed by a ride.  You get the idea.)  As you switch modes of exercise, your body needs to effectively and efficiently prepare for the next demand while recovering from the previous exercise demand. Your heart rate increases significantly as your body tries to shift the blood flow from the muscles of the first exercise to the demands of the muscles of the next. Brick workouts help your body handle the aerobic, anaerobic, and muscular demands of a triathlon event.

No, I’m not training for a triathlon.  Maybe one day but not right now.

Yesterday after work I did a 5.5 mile run on Lake Shore path and through part of campus with a coworker.  (She kicked my butt!)  Then I immediately drove to my 6th swim lesson with Kim.  AND THEN we decided to do a 3 mile run by Lake Monona (looking for QR codes as part of the Monona 20K events–epic fail.  Although, I did have a dream that we found one!).  Run.  Swim.  Run.  I’d call that a brick workout.  My body was exhausted.  When we were done, all I wanted was a hot shower and dinner.  And to see my pups!

It is definitely challenging to your body to do a workout like that.  I plan to do more of them.  I just need to find a gym with a pool in Raleigh!  It will be one of several tasks on our “To Do” list on May 1st!

I know I have been complaining about being slow, but I just think I’m out of shape.  My plan is to focus on getting in better shape after the move.  I know I won’t be at my best for San Diego, but I plan to be closer.  And then post-San Diego I have about 6 weeks before training for the NYC Marathon begins!  I am really going to use that time to eat healthier, shed some extra pounds I’m carrying, diversify my workouts and just feel really good about going into training again!

But yesterday’s brick workout felt good.  You should try one, too!

Food for Thought:  H2O.  Research shows that we often mistake thirst for hunger, and drinking a glass of water before meals can help you eat less.  Guzzle it first thing in the morning to keep your metabolism higher.  We tend to wake up slightly dehydrated from not drinking anything overnight which can slow down our metabolism.  Water also helps to flush the toxins out of our system.

Quote of the Day:

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do.  So throw of the bowlines.  Sail away from the safe harbor.  Catch the trade winds in your sails.  Explore.  Dream.  Discover.” -Mark Twain

These cookies are one of my all-time favs.  I made them over Christmas this year with my Mom and they are always gone so fast!  (Yes, another recipe from pre-2014…I know…)  Like the Peanut Butter Blossoms and Chocolate No Bake Cookies, these are another Christmas cookie tradition in our household.  You can make them year round, but I always think of the holidays when I make them.

Raisin Cookies

Raisin Cookies

Ingredients

– 2 cups raisins

– 1 cup water

– 1 cup shortening

– 2 cups white sugar

– 3 eggs

– 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

– 4 cups flour, sifted

– 1 teaspoon baking soda

– 1 teaspoon baking powder

– 2 teaspoons salt

– 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

– 1/4 teaspoon allspice

– 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

Directions

– Boil 2 cups of raisins and 1 cup of water for 5 minutes and cool.  Add 1 teaspoon vanilla extract to cooled raisins.

–  Beat together:  1 cup shortening, 2 cups white sugar and 3 eggs.

– Combine shortening mixture, raisin mixture and the rest of the dry ingredients.

– Preheat oven to 365*.

– Sprinkle cookies with sugar and bake on an ungreased cookie sheet for 10 minutes (or less–I baked some for 8-9 minutes).

Courtesy of Great Aunt Gloria

This entry was posted in Individual Workouts, Nutrition, Recipes, Swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Brick Workout (Recipe: Raisin Cookies)

  1. Pingback: 2015 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee – Part 2 (Recipe: Buttermilk Oatmeal Bread) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

