And We Are Packed!! (Recipe: Shrimp Fried Rice)

This weekend has been nuts!  But we are finally packed!  With lots of help from A!

DSC_4787 DSC_4788

He was crucial in terms of acquiring moving boxes, playing Chuck-It with the girls so they would be tired and being able to efficiently fill boxes.  And so it is done!  The movers come bright and early tomorrow morning to load everything into two moving containers and start heading to NC!

While packing took up a good portion of the weekend, there was also time for other good stuff.  For instance, I got a myofascial release on Friday.  It was long overdue.  My shins and calves are in rough shape.  Joe said he was sad that I was leaving the state.

Then, Michael gave Allison and me a tour of Epic!  Holy smokes!  I don’t even know if there are words to describe that place other than:  Wow.  The decorating is insane, and the amount of money pumped into that campus is crazy.  Just crazy.  You should totally get a tour.  I mean, look at some of these pictures.

A giant banana made out of bottle caps.

IMG_4516[1] IMG_4517[1]

The Cat in the Hat.

IMG_4521

One of the underground tunnels–screenshots of the software.

IMG_4512

Spiderman and Darth Vader.

IMG_4514 IMG_4515

Part of the building called “Deep Space”.

IMG_4511

The Treehouse.

IMG_4524

The Crossroads of Heaven and Hell.  (Allison and I had to push every button on the “Elevator to Hell”.)

IMG_4520

A shot of “The Farm” from inside another portion of “The Farm”.

IMG_4523

Giant dragons hanging from the ceiling.

IMG_4518

Back in Africa.  Sam, this was for you!

IMG_4525

Going down the slide to get from the 2nd to 1st floor.

IMG_4519

And not to mention the delicious lunch in the cafeteria!  Cheese tortellini with asparagus and almonds. AND it was gelato day.  Really??  Gelato day??  Thank you for treating, Michael. 🙂

IMG_4522

This place was like a theme park!!  I’m soooo glad Michael took the time to give us a tour!!  It was awesome!!

Then I finally picked up artwork I got framed–one was the Chihuly puzzle I am obsessed with, and the other was a piece of artwork from India.  I know–I went to India a year ago, and I am just now getting around to framing the piece.  But it turned out gorgeous!!  I love both!!

IMG_4526[1] IMG_4527[1]

On Saturday, I had my 18 mile run.  I ran 9 miles into the wind, but luckily it was at my back on my way home.  Still, annoying.  I was slow.  Again.  Surprise, surprise.

But then A and I went to the Farmer’s Market.  It was the first outdoor market of the season!  There wasn’t much out yet in terms of produce, but the day was gorgeous so it was beautiful for walking around.

DSC_4770 DSC_4771                                          DSC_4768 DSC_4772

We met K and Z for brunch at Gotham Bagels downtown.  When we got there, there were literally 7 bagels left!  7!!  Needless to say, they closed early because they ran out.  But they were delish!!

Then it was back to packing after some Chuck It.  And I have been trying to use up the last of my food, so we made Shrimp Fried Rice.  Well, A did most of it.  It is a solid recipe.  Nothing too special about it.  But definitely solid if you like fried rice.  We also made the Dulce De Leche Brownies for Easter lunch since we were going down to Milwaukee.  Sooooo tasty.  I’m definitely a fan, and I think they definitely make it to “The Cookbook”.  And Becky and Carlo made a super yummy Easter lunch!  And the company was even better!

So, yeah.  The weekend has been crazy.  All good crazy, though. 🙂

Quote of the Day:

“We are all of us resigned to death; it’s life we aren’t resigned to.” -Graham Greene

Shrimp Fried Rice - PD

Shrimp Fried Rice

Ingredients

– 1 (16 ounce) package frozen medium shrimp, thawed and peeled

– 1/2 teaspoon salt

– 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

– 1 tablespoon vegetable oil

– 4 large eggs, beaten

– 4 cups leftover or cooked and cooled rice

– 1 cup frozen peas and carrots, thawed

– 1/4 cup soy sauce

– 1 teaspoon sesame oil

Directions

– In a medium bowl, combine shrimp, salt and pepper, tossing gently to coat.

– In a large skillet, heat oil over medium heat.  Add eggs, and cook, stirring frequently, for 3-5 minutes or until set.

– To skillet, add shrimp, rice and remaining 3 ingredients; cook, stirring frequently, for 5-7 minutes or until shrimp are pink and firm and rice grains are well separated.

Courtesy of Paula Deen

 

This entry was posted in Callie!, Envy, Food Picture (No Recipe), Individual Workouts, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And We Are Packed!! (Recipe: Shrimp Fried Rice)

  1. Pingback: The 1% Incline Rule and Pilot Mountain (Recipe: Cinnamon Chicken) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

