On the Move and Other Weekend Shenanigans (Recipe: Blueberry Oatmeal Bars)

I’m on the move.  Quite literally.  For those of you who don’t know, I accepted a job in Research Triangle Park, North Carolina a couple weeks ago!!  I start May 5th so everything has been quite the whirlwind!  I leave as soon as I return from the Dirty Girl Mud Run.  Craziness.

But I’ve also been on the move here in Madison trying to see everyone and spend as much time with A as possible before I leave.  I know I talked about everything I did Saturday and Sunday, but A and I took vacation days (well, I really used comp time) on Friday to have a long weekend.

We finally went to the Koffee Kup in Stoughton which is a hole-in-the-wall diner (I love those!) that I’ve been wanting to try for like a year.  I thought it was pretty delish.  The warm homemade cinnamon roll was definitely the best part, but our breakfasts were good, too.  (You know me and breakfast foods.)  And the homemade chocolate chip cookies we got for later in the day were tasty!

IMG_4443 IMG_4444 IMG_4445 IMG_4446

Then we drove out to Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin to the Jelly Belly warehouse.  We were thinking it was going to be a factory where we could actually see the Jelly Belly’s being made, but, alas, it was not.  However, we took a little train ride around the warehouse and then spent most of our time in the Jelly Belly store where you can buy your favorite flavors in bulk and taste test.  I wasn’t super adventurous in taste testing, but A was–he tried Draft Beer, Black Pepper, Tabasco Sauce and Chocolate Covered Tabasco Sauce.

IMG_4447 IMG_4448 IMG_4453 IMG_4454 IMG_4459 IMG_4461

Then somehow we drove out of the state of Wisconsin…yeah…I wasn’t the greatest co-pilot on Friday…I promised I would be better next time.

IMG_4466

On our way home we stopped at the world’s LARGEST Culver’s for custard and fried cheese curds, of course.  So, basically we had Jelly Belly’s, chocolate chip cookies, custard, and cheese curds for lunch.  So healthy and nutritious. 🙂

IMG_4471 IMG_4474

But then after the girls’ second game of Chuck It for the day, we met Kim and Z for dinner at Cooper’s where I had a tasty salad, so that made up for it, right?  Double dates are fun.  Especially when I spill wine all over me and the table.  (And, yes, it was my first glass.)  The waiter was nice and brought me out another glass without charging me.

We also watched Dallas Buyers Club.  The movie had been on my short list of ones I wanted to watch, so I was glad that I finally got to see it!  Very good!  I highly recommend it!

AND I have been on the move in terms of running.  Last week I logged 37.65 miles!  That has been my highest mileage week yet!  Just a little over 6 weeks until marathon time!  I just wish I didn’t feel so darn slow and out of shape.  I think part of it is my nutrition.  I have not been eating nearly as well as I should be.  This morning I did 8 x 800m Yasso’s at 7:08 pace on the treadmill, so I know that my legs can move, but they just don’t want to.  :::sigh:::

Running Tip:  Research shows that performance improves when carbs are added during training sessions longer than 90 minutes.

Quote of the Day:

“Some relationships will be blessings, others will serve as lessons. – Either way, never regret knowing someone. Everyone you encounter teaches you something important. Some people will test you, some will use you, and some will teach you; but most importantly some will bring out the best in you.” ~Marc and Angel

I made these Blueberry Oatmeal Bars several weeks ago because I was craving spring, and blueberries remind me of spring.  It was tasty, but the top was just a tad too crumbly for my liking.  However, others gave them high marks!

Blueberry Oatmeal Bars - MBA

Blueberry Oatmeal Bars

Ingredients

Crust/Topping:
– 2 cups old fashioned rolled oats
– 2 cups all purpose flour
– 1 ½ teaspoons cinnamon
– ¾ cup unsalted butter, room temperature
– ½ teaspoon salt
– 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
– 2/3 cup granulated sugar

Filling:
– 4 cups of blueberries
– 2/3 cup of granulated sugar
– Juice from 1/2 lemon
– 1/3 cup corn starch

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 325*. Grease a 9×13 baking pan and set aside.

2. In a large bowl, stir together blueberries and 2/3 cup of granulated sugar and let sit for 10 minutes. After 10 minutes, add lemon juice and cornstarch and stir to combine.

3. In the bowl of a stand mixer, mix oats, flours, cinnamon, butter, salt, vanilla and 2/3 cup of granulated sugar on low speed until combined. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and mix on high speed for an additional 2 minutes.

4. Press 2/3 of the crust mixture into the bottom of the prepared baking dish. Spread the blueberry filling evenly over the top of the crust. Sprinkle the remaining crust mixture over the top of the blueberry filling, creating a crumb-like topping.

5. Bake bars for 35-40 minutes or until golden brown. Allow to cool completely before cutting.

Adapted from My Baking Addiction

This entry was posted in Recipes, Weekly Workouts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On the Move and Other Weekend Shenanigans (Recipe: Blueberry Oatmeal Bars)

  1. Pingback: County Health Rankings (Recipe: Bulgur, Wild Rice and Mushroom Pilaf) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

