Another Year on the Garmin: Take 2 (Recipe: Deep Dish Cookie Cake)

Last year around this time I told you (in a post titled the same) about how I keep track of the number of outdoor miles I log on my GPS watch.  The miles re-start every year on my birthday (yesterday).

This year was pretty dismal.  First, I was injured right before my birthday last year (which was also right before Boston).  Second, I pretty much trained for an entire marathon on a treadmill because of the Polar Vortex that swept through the nation making it the coldest winter we have had in 35 years.

I logged 444.9 miles outside this year (my best year was 2011-2012 at 691.1 miles; my worst 2010-2011 at 411.6 miles).  I spent 65 hours 20 seconds running outside and averaged a pace of 8:46 min/miles.

I have a feeling this coming year will be better.

But my birthday, on the other hand, was wonderful!  I was pretty much spoiled rotten.  Thank you to everyone who wished me well on my 28th year!  I’m excited to see where it takes me!

After I got back from the gym, A stopped by my apartment on his way to work to make me breakfast:

IMG_4286[1]

Yum.  Then one of my coworkers brought me in this delicious mini-pear pie.  I think I may have mentioned trying this pie on Pi(e) Day.

IMG_4288[1]

Yum.  Then A cooked me dinner–Chicken Chesapeake with Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli.  (Recipes to follow at some point).  These were DELISH.

Chicken Chesapeake Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Then A made a Deep Dish Cookie Cake from scratch.  I have had cookie cake for my birthday every year since like the 6th grade.  It’s kind of tradition.  This one is to die for.  Absolutely delicious!

DSC_4699

And time spent with my girls:

DSC_4711 DSC_4714 DSC_4717

And of course there were presents, cards, phone calls, texts, emails, FB messages–you name it!  Thank you for sending all the love!  It means so much to me!!

And just so that there is something about running in this blog post, here are some random running tips I’ve been meaning to share!

Random Running Tips:

1. The most effective home exercise equipment: a dog.  You can’t renege on a workout.  And the gratitude you’ll receive is a double bonus.

2. Both high heels and flip-flops aggravate Achilles tendinitis.

3. Orthotics are not a cure for flat feet (nothing is).  Worse, they can cause arch muscles to weaken.

4. Lace your shoes high and snug.  You’ll experience less pronation and stress on the foot.

Quote of the Day:

“Be passionate.  Be courageous.  Be your best.” -Gabby Giffords

This is the recipe for the Deep Dish Cookie Cake that A made me.  OMG.  I’m kind of obsessed and am very hesitant about sharing (A wanted to take some to his roomies and coworkers…it was hard to part with!).  He definitely out-did himself!  This is a MUST try!!

Deep Dish Cookie Cake1 Deep Dish Cookie Cake2

Deep Dish Cookie Cake

Ingredients

– 2¼ cups all-purpose flour
– ¾ teaspoon baking powder
– ½ teaspoon baking soda
– ½ teaspoon salt
– 12 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled to room temperature
– 1 cup light brown sugar
– ½ cup granulated sugar
– 1 egg + 1 egg yolk
– 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
– 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 325*. Grease a 9-inch round cake pan, then line the bottom with a round of parchment paper; set aside.

2. Whisk the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together in a medium bowl; set aside.

3. Using an electric mixer on medium speed, beat the butter and sugars together until thoroughly blended. Beat in the egg, yolk, and vanilla until combined. Add the dry ingredients and beat at low speed just until combined. Using a rubber spatula, stir in the chocolate chips.

4. Turn the dough out into the prepared cake pan and use your fingers to press into an even layer. Bake until the cookie cake is light golden brown and the outer edges have started to harden, 20 to 25 minutes. Remove from the oven and plan the pan on a wire rack to cool completely. Use a metal spatula to loosen the sides of the cake from pan, then turn it out and place on a serving plate or platter. Serve or decorate as desired. Leftovers should be wrapped in plastic wrap and kept at room temperature for up to 5 days.

Courtesy of Brown-Eyed Baker

This entry was posted in Callie!, Envy, Food Picture (No Recipe), Individual Workouts, Recipes, Running Gear. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Year on the Garmin: Take 2 (Recipe: Deep Dish Cookie Cake)

  1. Pingback: And Callie Peed! (Recipe: Chicken Chesapeake) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

  2. Pingback: A Record Year on the Garmin! I Love Me Some PRs! (Recipe: Great American Cookie Factory’s Cookie Cake) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

