Speed Workouts for a Faster 5K (Recipe: Roasted Cauliflower Fettuccine)

Workouts should be more general early in your training cycle for any race (months before your goal 5K race or half marathon or marathon). As you increase your fitness level, your workouts should gradually become more challenging and specific.

You want to start with easy runs that incorporate some short speed work like strides. Strides are short accelerations done after your run where you build to about 95% of your maximum speed, hold this pace for a few seconds, and then coast to a stop. Strides are fast, but they’re also very short.

Some examples of workouts you should do early in training include:

  • 15 minute tempo run
  • 5 x two minutes at your 10K race pace (jog for two minutes to recover between intervals)
  • 8 x 30 seconds at 20 seconds per mile faster than your goal 5K pace

As you get closer to race day, some workouts should include:

  • 5 x two minutes at goal 5K pace (jog for 90 seconds to recover between intervals)
  • 6 x 800 meters on the track at goal 5K pace (jog 400 meters for recovery)
  • 3 x 1-mile run on the track at goal 5K pace (jog one minute to recover between sets)

I did 6 x 800m Yassos with 400 meters for recovery this week in my training schedule.  Those things will about kill you!  They certainly make me more confident in my ability to pick up speed, though!  I hit 7:08 minute pace for all six of them.  Granted, I did the workout on a treadmill (1% incline–you should ALWAYS put some incline on the treadmill), so once I put in the speed for the interval, I either complete it on pace or fall off the back of the machine since you all know my policy about adjusting my speed on interval treadmill workouts.

So, I thought this picture was entertaining:

eatwithoutgettingfat

Swim lesson #4 was last night.  I think I have mentioned this before, but swimming is relaxing.  It doesn’t clear my mind or allow my thoughts to wander like running does because I have to concentrate so much, but something about the water is relaxing.  And I NEVER thought I’d say that.  I am not a water person.  But last night we used hand paddles (or swim gloves) for the first time.  They were actually really cool.  I have seen people at the gym use them quite a bit.  I may have to invest in a pair if I keep this swimming thing up.  We have two more lessons on the docket, then Kim and I have to decide if we want to sign up for 6 more!  But I think progress is being made!

Time to head out for my long run of the week!  Thursday is supposed to be prettier than Friday so I am taking advantage!  Also, pub runs are on Thursday, so that means I just have to do 7 miles on my own, and then I can meet up with the Fleet Feet group and get in my last 5 miles with company!  I’ll take it!

Food for Thought:  Stronger bones from cinnamon.  Cinnamon can help regulate blood sugar, but it also provides manganese, a mineral that helps maintain bone density; 1 tablespoon provides nearly a day’s worth.

Quote of the Day:

“Anyone can be successful when life is easy.  I want to succeed when things suck.”                -Meredith Dolhare

You all know my obsession with Einstein Bros. Bagels.  Well, the other day I tried their Asiago Garlic Bagel Cluster. YUM.  It was fantastic.  Just heat it up a little bit and you are golden.  They actually put dye in their plain bagels to make them green for St. Patrick’s Day.  Festive but not quite as appetizing.  Anyway.  I made this Roasted Cauliflower Fettuccine (well, technically I used spaghetti noodles and not fettuccine noodles) for the second time a couple weeks ago, and it is absolutely delicious!  I just loved roasted cauliflower.  Who am I kidding? I love nearly all veggies that are roasted.  But you should totally give this recipe a try!

DSC_4620 Roasted Cauliflower Fettuccini

Roasted Cauliflower Fettuccini

Ingredients

– 1 head cauliflower, cut into florets

– 3 tbsp water

– 1/4 teaspoon salt

– 1/4 teaspoon black pepper

– 4 1/2 teaspoons olive oil, divided

– 8 ounces uncooked fettuccine

– 1 1/2 ounces pancetta or cured bacon, finely chopped

– 1 tablespoon lemon juice

– 2 teaspoons fresh chopped thyme

– 1 1/2 teaspoons minced fresh garlic

– 1/2 cup shaved parmigiano-reggiano cheese

Directions

– Preheat oven to 400*.
– Combine first 4 ingredients; drizzle with 2 tsp EVOO. Toss. Arrange mixture on a baking sheet; bake at 400 degrees for 40 minutes or until cauliflower is tender and golden, stirring twice.
– Cook pasta according to package directions, omitting salt and fat. Drain in a colander over a bowl, reserving ½ cup cooking liquid.
– Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Add bacon to pan and cook until crisp, stirring frequently. Remove bacon and set aside. Add remaining 2 ½ tsp oil to drippings in pan. Add ½ cup reserved cooking liquid to droppings in pan; bring to a boil over high heat. Boil 30 seconds or until emulsified, stirring constantly with a whisk. Add lemon juice, thyme and garlic to pan. Add pasta; toss.
– Remove from heat. Add cauliflower and bacon; toss. Top with cheese and serve immediately.

This entry was posted in Individual Workouts, Nutrition, Races, Recipes, Swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Speed Workouts for a Faster 5K (Recipe: Roasted Cauliflower Fettuccine)

  1. Pingback: Quick Book Review: Lads Before the Wind by Karen Pryor (Recipe: Stuffin’ Muffins) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

