Post-LR Cravings Are Back! (Recipe: Spinach and Mushroom Quiche)

I made it!  I ran 12.01 miles on Friday with winds averaging 24mph with 38mph gusts!  Boy am I glad that is over!

I wasn’t really sure where I was going, but I ended up being able to make a big loop of 12 miles around Middleton.  Gotta love the GPS watch.  I swear, I don’t know what I would do without it.  One of the best birthday presents ever.

Because we have had a couple of “warm” days, the snow has started to melt.  Don’t get me wrong, I am ECSTATIC about this.  However, it also means that water is sitting on the sidewalk that is 1-3 inches deep.  My shoes and socks were soaked within the first mile.  And don’t get too excited because the ice on the lakes is still around 30 inches thick.  So, it’s still winter here in Mad-Town, and I’m still allowed to complain about it.

Lake Monona

Frozen Lake Monona

But as the title of this post indicates, my post-long run cravings are back!  I think I have mentioned this in a previous post when I was training for Boston or for Texas.

Panera Greek Salad with Chicken, baby.  I am not really sure why I crave this, but I guess it’s better than craving pizza or French fries.  Although, when I passed by a Pizza Hut, Papa John’s, The Roman Candle and Papa Murphy’s on the run, pizza sure did smell darn good.

And guess who is the sweetest person EVER??  A brought over my salad after my run so that I didn’t have to go back out to get it.  AND one of the first things he asked as soon as he got in the door was whether the girls had been outside since I got home, and when I said ‘no’, he immediately leashed them up and took them out.  AND he watched a Romcom with me.  Yeah, I’m braggin’ on him a little bit.  He’s the best. 🙂

Oh! And I forgot to mention that we went to The Business Forum’s ATHENA Award dinner Tuesday night (I was nominated last year, but this year I am on the committee, so I got to help organize it!).  While we didn’t win any raffle items, A did have the fork under his chair which meant he won the table’s flower arrangement which really means that I won the table’s flower arrangement. 🙂

IMG_4163 IMG_4164IMG_4167

So, I did my 12-miler Friday evening, and then I did a 4-miler at 6am this morning.  Back-to-back runs on tired legs.  It’s good for endurance every once in awhile.  You should give it a try.  And tomorrow is the Shamrock Shuffle!  It’s time to wear some green!

Food for Thought:  Calm your belly with cloves.  A compound in ground cloves, eugenol, may soothe your stomach.  Try a pinch in applesauce or tea.

Quote of the Day:

“Running made me free.  It rid me of concern for the opinion of others.  Dispensed me from rules and regulations imposed from outside.  Running let me start from scratch.  It stripped off those layers of programmed activity and thinking.  Developed new priorities about eating and sleeping and what to do with leisure time.  Running changed my attitude about work and play.  About whom I really liked and who really liked me.  Running let me see my twenty-four hour day in a new light and my lifestyle from a different point of view, from the inside instead of out.” -George Sheehan, a former editor and columnist at RW

So, A and I made this Spinach and Mushroom Quiche last week.  It is a favorite recipe of mine from Mrs. Sharnoff.  It is actually a recipe I cooked while in college, and as any of my friends in college will tell you, I did NOT cook during undergrad.  A thinks that the graham cracker pie crust is too sweet for such a savory pie and would opt for a regular pie crust next time.  You all know me–I prefer the graham cracker.  Either way, you can’t go wrong.

DSC_4654 Spinach and Mushroom Quiche

Spinach and Mushroom Quiche

Ingredients

– 1 nine-inch unbaked pie shell (i usually use graham cracker)

– 2 to 4 slices Swiss cheese

– 1/2 cup chopped spinach

– 1/2 cup sliced mushrooms

– 3 eggs, beaten

– 3/4 cup milk

– 2 tablespoons flour

– 1/2 teaspoon salt and pepper

– shredded cheddar

Directions

– Put swiss cheese on bottom of pie shell. Top with spinach and mushrooms.
– Mix eggs, milk, flour, salt and pepper together. Pour into pie shell.
– Sprinkle cheddar on top.
– Bake at 350* for 40-45 minutes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

