Happy Pi(e) Day! (Recipe: Chocolate Chip Pie)

The factors that contribute to efficient training are:

Fitness (are all the muscle groups being used up to their required strength?)

Nutrition (are your muscles getting all the fuel they need to operate?)

Technique (is wasted motion eliminated and are all muscle groups contributing?)

Hydration (are you getting enough fluid and electrolytes so that you don’t overheat and that your body keeps functioning properly?)

Pacing (are you training at an optimal pace?)

What is it that you need to work on?  Once you figure it out, set goals and get on it!

In other news, Happy Pi(e) Day!  It has always been one of my fav days because it’s kind of geeky and it’s a reason to eat sweets (Pi=3.14…and Pi(e) Day is March 14…yeah I know…)!  And only one person in my office brought in pie today to celebrate!  Well, my coworker brought in several mini pies so I made myself a sampler (duh!).  The pear pie was DELICIOUS.  By far my favorite.  One of my friends, Becca, who I mentioned seeing on my trip to Delaware sent me a recipe for a pear pie.  I will definitely be trying that sooner rather than later!

And just because I love my girlies:

IMG_4172 IMG_0964

Quote of the Day:

“Marriage isn’t the honeymoon in Thailand—it’s day four of vacation #56 that you take together. Marriage is not celebrating the closing of the deal on the first house—it’s having dinner in that house for the 4,386th time.” -Tim Urban

This Chocolate Chip Pie is easy peasy and delicious!  I think A would agree!  You MUST try it!  And now I am supposed to be headed out for my long run of the week.  A 12-miler.  I was super excited because it got up into the mid-40s today, but now that I am home the winds are averaging 24mph!!  What the heck!?  What is up with the wind on my long run days??  Grrr….Some of this pie would make it all better, except that I made it last weekend…

DSC_4656 Chocolate Chip Pie

Chocolate Chip Pie

Ingredients

– 2 large eggs

– 1/2 cup AP flour

– 1/2 cup granulated sugar

– 1/2 cup packed brown sugar

– 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) butter, softened

– 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

– 1 cup chopped walnuts

– 1 unbaked deep-dish 9-inch pie crust

Directions

– Preheat oven to 325*.
– Beat eggs in a large mixer bowl on high speed until foamy.
– Beat in flour and sugars; add butter.
– Stir in morsels and nuts.
– Spoon into pie shell.
– Bake for 55-60 minutes or until toothpick comes outs clean.
– Cool on wire rack. Serve warm.

This entry was posted in Callie!, Envy, Individual Workouts, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Pi(e) Day! (Recipe: Chocolate Chip Pie)

  1. Pingback: Another Year on the Garmin: Take 2 (Recipe: Deep Dish Cookie Cake) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

