Holy Wind! And a Crazy Busy Weekend! (Recipe: Sweet Onion and Parmesan Dip)

O.M.G.  I really do think that Sunday’s 9-miler (which was supposed to be a 10-miler, but I just couldn’t stand to run anymore after 9.15 miles) was THE. WORST. RUN. I have had in Madison since I’ve moved here.  Let me preface this by saying that I have run in some darn cold weather.  I have run in snow.  I screwed up my IT Band during last year’s Shamrock Shuffle.  I have had horribly long treadmill runs.  I have had my hands pretty much freeze off during a run.  But the wind on Sunday’s run was probably close to the absolute worst.

Wind is just evil.

And no matter which direction I turned (and I tried many a direction!), I turned head on into the wind.  I’m not kidding.

I think part of the reason Sunday’s run was so bad was that I had high expectations for it.  I was actually excited to get outside and do this run!  I had gotten a good night’s sleep.  The high of the day was 40*.  It was supposed to be around 25* when I started my run.  The sun was shining.  Ice was melting.  My legs felt good from the slow 5-miler I had done on Saturday.  I was pumped!

I wasn’t expecting the wind.  Not at all.  And within the first mile I had to stop three times to walk across icy patches on the sidewalk.  That is just an indication of how the run started.  I was hot with my running jacket on, but my arms turned to ice when I took it off because of running straight into the wind.  It was absolutely miserable.

I made it 9.15 miles.  I originally planned to do a loop around my neighborhood to finish off the last 0.85 miles, but I just couldn’t take it anymore and went in early.  And then I was in a sour mood.  I mean a really sour mood. I felt horrible for Kim because I was immediately meeting up with her after the run for our swim lesson (I made us late, of course.).  And then I felt horrible for A because he had to deal with my mood (which he did swimmingly well!).  And then we missed Bucky Badger at the Arboretum Volunteer party which I was really looking forward to.  And then I had Flyball practice when all I wanted to do was shower (because, yes, I had not showered after running 9 miles and swimming) and sleep.

And that was my Sunday.

I will admit that my swim lesson (lesson #3!) was actually really relaxing once I settled down after being a little frantic because I had made us late.  (I HATE being late for things.)  And I really think I am making progress!  I plan on getting back in the pool tomorrow to practice.  And the Arb Party actually had really tasty chocolate cake (and don’t worry, I had a HUGE slice because I ran 9 miles in a frickin’ arctic blast).

Anyway, my total mileage for the week was 27.47 miles (19.48 of which were outside!), and I spent a total of 4 hours 4 minutes running.

This weekend I also had my second TNT group run which was a blast!  Several of the alumni came back to run with us which I hope they will do again!  And I got my purple TNT shirt!  I plan on wearing it to the Shamrock Shuffle!

And in addition to all of this a lot of eating went on this weekend.  Friday night was our flyball team’s annual party where there was a lot of food.  Thankfully, because I’m a picky eater, I did not like most of the desserts!  So I got to fill up on my dip and pizza instead!

IMG_4144

I also went to C’s Bakery for brunch on Saturday and had DELICIOUS cinnamon swirl pancakes.  Think cinnamon rolls pancake style.  And then we had a double date to Pizza Brutta on Saturday night which was super tasty!  I wish the crust had not been quite so dark but the topping combinations we tried were yummy!

And that was pretty much my weekend other than some jolly ball with the pups and getting things done around the house.  Weekends go way too fast.

Fun Fact:  A 2012 McKinsey study of more than 4,000 employees of Fortune 500 companies found that 36% of men wanted to become CEOs, compared to only 18% of women.

Quote of the Day:

“I feel sorry for people who don’t drink. When they wake up in the morning, that’s as good as they’re going to feel all day.” -Frank Sinatra

So, I made this dip for the flyball party, and I think it was a success!  (Mostly Harmless, you can correct me if I’m wrong!)  It is super duper easy to throw together as long as you have about an hour to bake it in the oven!  I was so mad that the grocery store I go to didn’t have Stacy’s Pita Chips because they are my fav!  And I even asked two people who worked there if I was looking in the wrong place.  They said I wasn’t.  But the ones I got worked, they just weren’t Stacy’s.  I will definitely be trying this dip again (unless MH tells me otherwise!)!  And for once I am posting a recipe in a timely fashion (in terms of when I made it compared to when I actually post it!)!!

Sweet Onion and Parmesan Dip

 Sweet Onion and Parmesan Dip

Ingredients

– 8 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature

– 1 cup mayonnaise

– 1 cup small diced sweet onion

– 1 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese

– 1 tablespoon freshly ground black pepper

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
2. In a medium bowl, stir together the cream cheese, mayonnaise, onion, Parmesan cheese and black pepper until completely combined.
3. Transfer to a small baking dish and bake until the top is deep golden brown, 45 to 55 minutes. Serve hot with baguette slices, crackers, pretzels or tortilla chips.

Courtesy of Brown-Eyed Baker

This entry was posted in Individual Workouts, Recipes, Swimming, Team In Training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Holy Wind! And a Crazy Busy Weekend! (Recipe: Sweet Onion and Parmesan Dip)

  1. Pingback: Don’t Resist Resistance Training and the LRD Runs! (Recipe: Sugar Cookie Bars) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

