Swim Lesson #2 and Signed Up for the Shamrock Shuffle! (Recipe: Quick Baked Tri-Rub Chicken)

So, today I had my second swim lesson!  I am feeling more comfortable in the water already, although I am not “good” by any stretch of the imagination.  I am starting to figure out this whole breathing thing, though.  It’s just going to take a lot of practice.  Thank goodness for the pool at my gym and that I signed up for a series of 6 lessons with Kim!

Today we brought out the flippers for the first time!  Flippers make things so much easier!  And you feel like you are floating through the water!  We were basically using them so that we had one less thing to think about while doing our different drills.  Our coach wanted us to focus on breathing and getting our elbows up and our palms entering the water flat and our wrists straight and our head looking further down at the bottom of the pool and rolling to our side when it was time to breath.  That’s a whole lot to think about!  But we are getting there!  And I’m now more excited about getting in the water!  Progress, people, we’re making progress!

1467384_10152083837124036_1150901457_n

Getting away from swimming, I signed up for the Shamrock Shuffle 10K!  I ran this race last year–it’s the run where I hurt my IT Band right before Boston, so needless to say I was very hesitant about signing up.  But what the heck, right??  It should be fun!  And I’m sure I’ll have a training run of 6 miles to do that week, or I can include it as part of my long run.  I definitely won’t be going out for speed knowing that there is ice and snow to deal with!

Speaking of runs in Madison, I got an email from the Madison Mini-Marathon (the one I ran with my sister this year) a few days ago that was talking about the economic impact of that half-marathon on Madison.  Holy moly!  Kent State’s College of Business Administration conducted the study and found that the Madison Mini-Marathon created a total economic impact of approximately $5.4 million!

The boost in economic activity also generated the equivalent of 109.5 new full-time jobs. The study was conducted by collecting data through surveys distributed to participants and spectators after the event took place.  I remember taking the survey both years I have run this race, so I was excited to get the results!  Yay for running!

Tomorrow I am supposed to do  my long run, but it has snowed and snowed and snowed some more today.  Hmm….we will have to see how clear the sidewalks are.  My 10-miler may have to be done on the treadmill.  *sigh*

These aren’t pictures from today, but they are pictures taken within the last month from my office window…you get the idea…

IMG_3966 IMG_4025

Quote of the Day:

“Remember how far you’ve come, not just how far you have left to go.  You are not where you want to be, but neither are you where you used to be.” -Rick Warren

So, I told you that I would get you that chicken recipe that I made with those Roasted Pesto Potatoes.  This is the. easiest. recipe. ever.  I’m serious.  Just look at it.

Roasted Pesto Potatoes

Quick Baked Tri-Rub Chicken

Ingredients

– 2 skinless, boneless chicken breasts

– 1/4 teaspoon dried basil

– 1/4 teaspoon dried rosemary

– 1/4 teaspoon dried thyme

– salt and pepper to taste

Directions

– Bake uncovered for 20-25 minutes at 350* or until chicken is no longer pink.

This entry was posted in Races, Recipes, Swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

