Living Up To Its Name–Frosty 5K! (Recipe: Slow Cooker Balsamic Honey Pulled Pork)

Saturday morning a pretty sizable group turned out for the Frosty 5K which was part of the Madison Winter Festival!  It was quite cold outside–a balmy 11* if I remember correctly.  That is why our group was all bundled up!  I had 4 layers on top!  Which of course meant I overheated during the race, but I was absolutely freezing before and after.

IMG_3998

I tried out some new Saucony running tights that Ellie gave me for Christmas that were awesome!!  I love the pink stripe!  And I tried out my new Sugoi running jacket which was great, too!  The course was rather slushy and slippery in spots so we tried to be aware of our footing and tread cautiously.  But we all finished!

IMG_4002 IMG_4003

My GPS said we ran 3.18 miles at 8:05 minute pace.  But it doesn’t look like official times have been posted yet.  Isn’t the capitol gorgeous in the background with the snow?

IMG_4005 IMG_4007

Then we all made our way to Graze for a post-race brunch that was delicious!  I tasted my first Blood Mary–not a fan–and devoured my entire breakfast sandwich!

IMG_4008 IMG_4009

It was my third breakfast in a row because for dinner the night before we made our own breakfast:

Valentines Dinner1 Valentines Dinner2

And then after breakfast for dinner on Friday we headed to the UW Women’s Hockey game!  My 5th UW sporting event of the year!  It was a really close game the entire time against Minnesota, but we lost in the end.

IMG_3984 IMG_3982 IMG_3986 IMG_3987

Fun Fact: Women now make up almost half of the U.S. labor force, and 37% of married mothers have higher incomes than their husbands.  In fact, total income is higher in families where the woman is the primary breadwinner.

Quote of the Day:

“Pick the day.  Enjoy it–to the hilt.  The day as it comes.  People as they come… The past, I think, has helped me appreciate the present and I don’t want to spoil any of it by fretting about the future.” -Audrey Hepburn

I have been into slow cooker recipes lately.  I tried a new pulled pork recipe that got some rave reviews on a couple of the blogs I read.  But I just don’t know.  It wasn’t bad by any means.  But I’m not sure that I would make it again.  Let’s just say that it didn’t make the cut to the second round of gaining entry into “THE Cookbook”.

Slow Cooker Balsamic Honey Pulled Pork DSC_pork

Slow Cooker Balsamic Honey Pulled Pork

Ingredients

1 (2 1/2- to 3-pound) boneless pork shoulder
1/2 cup honey
1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
1/4 cup blackberry jam
1/4 cup hoisin sauce
1/2 cup chicken broth
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 cup diced onion
1 Tablespoon cornstarch
12 slider-sized buns or rolls

Directions

– Trim any excess fat from the pork shoulder and place it in the slow cooker.

– In a medium bowl, whisk together the honey, balsamic vinegar, jam, hoisin, chicken broth, garlic and onion, and then pour the sauce over the pork shoulder. Cover the slow cooker and cook the pork shoulder on LOW for 8 to 9 hours until it is no longer pink and is cooked throughout.

– Using tongs, remove the pork shoulder from the slow cooker (reserving the liquids) and place it on a cutting board. Using two forks, shred the pork shoulder into smaller pieces. Place the pulled pork in a large bowl.

– In a small bowl, whisk together the cornstarch with 3 tablespoons of cold water to make a slurry.

– Transfer the liquids from the slow cooker into a medium saucepan set over medium-high heat and whisk in the slurry. Bring the sauce to a boil and cook it until it reduces and has thickened slightly, about 3 minutes. Pour the sauce over the pulled pork, tossing to combine.

Halve the buns. Divide the pulled pork between the buns, topping the pork with a portion of slaw if you so desire, and serve immediately.

Courtesy of Just a Taste

This entry was posted in Food Picture (No Recipe), Nutrition, Races. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Living Up To Its Name–Frosty 5K! (Recipe: Slow Cooker Balsamic Honey Pulled Pork)

  1. Pingback: Plantar Fasciitis (Recipe: Cook’s Illustrated Blondies) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

  2. Pingback: The Progression Run (Recipe: Zucchini, Sausage and Feta Casserole) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

  3. Pingback: Mix Up That Workout (Recipe: Dark Chocolate Frosting) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

