It’s Official! I Have Signed Up for Team In Training with LLS!

images

It’s official!  I will be running the San Diego Marathon in June as a member of The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society’s (LLS) Team In Training.  You all will be following on my journey as I continue to blog about my running experiences.  Below is the letter I have posted to my fundraising page, and if you feel so inclined to donate to a great cause, I will be forever grateful.

525_2011_team_in_training_logo

As many of you know, I ran the Disney Half-Marathon honoring my grandmother’s and Ava’s fights against leukemia.

Because of that experience, I have decided to participate in the San Diego Marathon as a member of The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society’s (LLS) Team In Training on June 1, 2014. The mission of this group is to raise money and awareness to help find cures and more effective treatments for blood cancers.  I will be training and running for both my grandmother and Ava.  However, my great-grandfather also suffered from lymphoma and passed away when I was two-years-old, so I never got the chance to know the wonderful man that he was because of blood cancer.

My grandmother died from leukemia in January 2008 after battling the disease for 4 years. While she was a very strong woman, it was devastating to see and watch what the disease did to her.  It was heartbreaking.

She once made the comment, “This leukemia is an awful thing.  I don’t wish it on anybody, but most of all no child should ever have to go through this.”  And so when a friend told me that her 4-year-old niece had just been diagnosed in November, I offered all the prayers and support that I could including running the Disney Half-Marathon in January holding signs for sweet Ava and taking pictures with the characters to help raise her spirits and aid in her fight.

Below are two pictures of Ava–the first before she was diagnosed and the second wearing her superman cape to the hospital!

I have thought about doing Team In Training for my grandmother several times since 2008, but after running Disney and talking with a friend who participated in Team in Training for the Chicago Marathon, I knew that now was the time.  So, for the next 4 months I will be raising money for and training with this great organization.

The funds I raise will help fund research to find cures and better treatments for leukemia, lymphoma, Hodgkin’s disease and myeloma. I have kicked off my fundraising by donating $100 to my own campaign.  With your support, I can help improve the quality of life for patients and their families. I would appreciate any donations in support of my efforts with Team In Training that will help advance the research for cures.

Thank you,

Kristen

*****

The link to my page is:  http://pages.teamintraining.org/vtnt/rnr14/kcapogross

Or if you feel so inspired, there are many great events being held around the nation if you want to become involved as well!

Here is to running a race where my efforts will benefit those who have battled and continue to battle such an awful disease.

This entry was posted in Races, Team In Training. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Official! I Have Signed Up for Team In Training with LLS!

  1. Pingback: It’s the Adrenaline Challenge! (Recipe: S’mores Cake) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

  2. Pingback: The Fasted Long Run (Recipe: Allspice Crumb Muffins) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

