Sports Bras and Vet Wrap (Recipe: Wisconsin Blondies)

Last year when I went to the doctor, my doctor gave me a task.  It wasn’t to lose weight or lower my blood pressure or cholesterol.  It wasn’t to increase my iron or B12 levels.  My task was to find a new sports bra.

You see, I have this problem of chafing.  It’s really bad actually.  I am fine running shorter distances, but once I hit 3+ miles, it’s not good.  I have been known to bleed through my tank top.  Showers after runs burn and sting like crazy.  (Cheryl could hear my yelps in the shower after the Disney half as she waited on me to go to breakfast.)  It’s a problem I’ve been dealing with since I started running longer distances in the summer of 2009.  (Yes, you’d think I would have figured it out by 2014.  But I haven’t.)

My first remedy was to tuck a small wash cloth between the sports bra line and my skin.  It is definitely not convenient and moves around quite a bit.

Then I discovered Body Glide.  It was my saving grace for about 2 years when I was running half-marathons.  I still use it to this day.  However, once I started marathon training in the summer of 2011, I needed more than just Body Glide.

I must admit that I love my sports bras.  I have been wearing Natori since high school.  I can cross the straps in the back to get a racerback (I hate having bra straps show even in workout clothes), and it gives great support for anything high impact.  The problem? It’s made of cotton!  That’s definitely not the best fabric to have against your skin when running high mileage.

I just dealt with it for my first marathon training and marathon.  Then due to injury I didn’t do much running in the spring/summer of 2012.  Over the last year, however, I have attempted to find something that works better!  I have tried two Moving Comfort sports bras (same style, different sizes) to no avail.  I have tried a bra made by Shock Absorber–it wasn’t my fav.  I have another made by Moving Comfort (different style), but the straps aren’t made for racerback tanks (which nearly all of mine are) and the support is just so-s0.

My most recent try was the Lucy Girl’s Best Friend Bra.  It got rave reviews in a couple of running/health magazines, so I was very excited at the potential of wearing it for my marathon this weekend!  But it wasn’t meant to be, and it got shipped back today.

Don’t worry–I keep a list of the sports bras that are rated highly in running magazines, so I still have several left to try!

Until then I have been and will be using vet wrap to help with the chafing which was my friend Trish’s idea.  It works pretty well for shorter runs in the 5-10 mile range.  I bought a boat-load of it off of Amazon.  And it comes in really fun colors!  Not that anyone ever sees it except for me.

IMG_3048

Running Tip:  The ideal temperature for a marathon is 50*. Average times slow by 3% for every degree above it.

Right now, the high on Sunday in Sugar Land, TX is 68* with 0% chance of rain.  The low the night before is predicted at 42*.  The race starts at 6:30am, so hopefully the temperature will be good for most of it!

Did you wonder about my pups while I was in Orlando?  Because I’m not sure they wanted to come home from Allison and Michael’s:

IMG_3543 IMG_3601                             IMG_3545 IMG_3599 IMG_3600 IMG_3602

They get spoiled rotten over there, and they will be spoiled again this weekend. 🙂  I have the best friends ever!

Quote of the Day:

“Everyone has his day and some days last longer than others.” -Winston Churchill

Did you know that tomorrow (January 22) is National Blonde Brownie Day?  Yup!  They actually have a day devoted to that.  Anywho, awhile back I made this blondie recipe from the Wisconsin State Journal and fell in love!  You know I am on the hunt for my favorite blondie recipe, and this definitely ranks right up there!  I may have to have a taste-off at flyball or at work soon!  Maybe in celebration for completing my 3rd marathon??  I like the sound of that!

Wisconsin Blondies

Wisconsin Blondies

Ingredients

– 2 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature

– 1 cup light brown sugar, lightly packed

– 1/2 cup granulated sugar

– 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

– 2 extra-large eggs, at room temperature

– 2 cups AP flour

– 1 teaspoon baking soda

– 1 teaspoon salt

– 20 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chunks

Directions

– Heat oven to 350*.  Grease and flour an 8.5 x 12 x 2 inch baking pan.

– Cream butter, brown sugar, granulated sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment.  Mix on high speed for 3 minutes, until light and fluffy.

– With mixer on low, add vanilla.  Add eggs one at a time, and mix well, scraping down the bowl after each addition.

– In a small bowl, sift together flour, baking soda and salt.  With mixer still on slow, slowly add flour mixture to butter mixture.  Fold in chocolate chunks with a rubber spatula.

– Spread batter into the prepared pan and smooth the top.  Bake for 30 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean.  DO NOT OVER BAKE.

– Cool completely in the pan and cut into 12 large bars.

Courtesy of The Wisconsin State Journal

This entry was posted in Callie!, Envy, Recipes, Running Gear. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sports Bras and Vet Wrap (Recipe: Wisconsin Blondies)

  1. Pingback: Eat and Drink for Better Running (Recipe: No Knead Cinnamon Raisin Bread) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

  2. Pingback: Plantar Fasciitis (Recipe: Cook’s Illustrated Blondies) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

  3. Pingback: My Review of the Nike Pro Rival Bra (Recipe: Dirt Bomb Muffins) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

  4. Pingback: Top 10 Funny Runner Terms (Recipe: Crispy Salt-and-Vinegar Potatoes) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

