PMS: Pre-Marathon Syndrome (Recipe: Cookie Dough Brownies)

It’s getting to be that time.  PMS, or Pre-Marathon Syndrome, is the two weeks of taper leading up to your marathon.  This is a period of decreased mileage that is also often accompanied by anxiety, panic and crankiness.  We all know and understand the value of the taper.  However, tapering can make you feel like an addict going through withdrawal.  It is true.  I kid you not.  I was probably a little crankier than normal at our flyball tournament this weekend.  Sorry, guys!

1395197_10152019121444036_1165147554_n

Cindra Kamphoff, Ph.D., has identified two distinct types of marathoners:  the “positive taperers” and the “negative taperers”.  The positive taperers felt energized, rejuvenated and confident.  They were able to interpret pre-race jitters as a sign that they were eager to race.  The negative taperers felt anxious and uncertain and began doubting the value of the taper.  Kamphoff says, “The most interesting finding was that a positive taper led to a positive race experience, and those who had a negative taper often had a negative experience.  How you feel during your taper matters on race day.”  I certainly do not doubt the value of the taper, but that doesn’t mean it is fun!

The trick is to re-frame how you approach and work through your taper.  For instance, warn your family and friends that you might be a little on edge leading up to the race.  This will likely make those around you be more sympathetic if they understand how important the race is to you.  Another tip is to set multiple goals including one that has nothing to do with your race time.

Also, do not eat, sleep and breath running.  Nonstop agonizing over your race can intensify anxiety.  Recognize the difference between being prepared and being obsessed.

This Friday I leave for Texas for my marathon!  It will be my first marathon since Boston, and the first long race that I have a goal time for.  But winter has been tough on my long runs so we will see how it goes!

My December mileage was my peak month at a total of 174.04 miles.  This week I only put in 19.72 miles–definitely a taper is going on here.

Oh!  I forgot to mention that I am coaching GOTR again next season!  I am stoked!  I think 3 of our 4 coaches are returning!  And I think Julia would be coming back except that she is studying abroad this semester!

In non-running news, I saw the movie Lone Survivor last night!  I am about 3/4 of the way through the book, but I just didn’t have time to finish before I saw the movie.  I thought that the movie was very, very well done!  It followed the book pretty closely, although I am enjoying the book more.  But that’s how it always goes, right??  Hopefully, I will soon be showered and curled up in bed finishing it!  The pups are exhausted from our flyball weekend which I will tell you all about in another post.

Quote of the Day:

“I’d rather run a gutsy race, pushing all the way and lose than a conservative race for a win.” -Alberto Salazar

Now on to food!  Last week one of my coworkers had a birthday!  Because it was freezing cold, I wanted to make something that I had all the ingredients to already!  Cookie Dough Brownies it was!  Except after I had mixed all the wet ingredients together, I realized I had no cocoa!  What!?  How is that even possible in my household??  I think I used the last of it up at the Williams-Osting’s while I was house sitting and never bought new.  Thank goodness for wonderful neighbors who have me over for dinner (DELICIOUS chicken fajitas last Tuesday!) and for supplying me with ingredients when I fall short!!  These Cookie Dough Brownies were an absolute hit!  I will most definitely be making them again!

DSC_4557 Cookie Dough Brownies

Cookie Dough Brownies

Ingredients

– 4 eggs

– 1 cup canola oil

– 2 cups sugar

– 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

– 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

– 1/2 cup baking cocoa

– 1/2 teaspoon salt

– 6 ounces chocolate chips

FILLING:

– 1/2 cup butter, softened

– 1/2 cup packed brown sugar

– 1/4 cup sugar

– 2 tablespoons 2% milk

– 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

– 1 cup all-purpose flour

– 6 ounces of chocolate chips (I probably would use mini chips next time, but I didn’t have those on hand either!)

GLAZE:

– 1 cup (6 ounces) semisweet chocolate chips

– 1 tablespoon shortening

Directions

1. In a large bowl, beat the eggs, oil, sugar and vanilla until well blended. Combine the flour, cocoa and salt; gradually beat into egg mixture.
2. Pour into a greased 13-in. x 9-in. baking pan. Bake at 350° for 30 minutes or until brownies test done. Cool completely.
3. For filling, in a large bowl, cream butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Beat in milk and vanilla. Gradually beat in flour. Spread over the brownies; chill until firm.
4. For glaze, in a microwave, melt chocolate chips and shortening; stir until smooth. Spread over filling. Let stand until set.

Courtesy of Taste of Home

This entry was posted in GOTR, Races, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to PMS: Pre-Marathon Syndrome (Recipe: Cookie Dough Brownies)

  1. Pingback: 14 New Superfoods of 2014 (Recipe: Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Brownies #2) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

  2. Pingback: Use Your Core! (Recipe: Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Brownies #3) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

